We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ko Tao Resort
Nearby Hotels
$148
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$47
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$33
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$43
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
$186
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montalay Beach Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$33
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$23
$22
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aminjirah Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
89
136
109
70
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
136
109
70
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolstandard roomchalok baanbeach siderent a scootertaohillbaythailanddeluxemaepadi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 455 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at the Koh Tao Resort on Koh Tao island for 5 nights in August 2010 and we traveled as backpackers. We stayed at several hotels during our 3 weeks trip to Tailand and even on Ko Tao (where we stayed for 9 days) we have chanced hotels 3 times, so we were able to compare this hotel to other hotels. First we wanted to stay in the other hotel (sister hotel) at the top of the hill, the Ko Tao Imperial, but the hotel was ful.
In Koh Tao Resort we stayed in a standard room which is up on the hill. The room was very good, clean, with air-condition, the bathroom was very basic but it was clean and with hot water. There is no safe deposit box in the rooms - the only safe deposit box is at the reception, so I advise you to take your belongings there. We took only breakfast and the food was fantastic - the restaurant is on great location, you can sit outside by the sea. Especially the main pool (under the reception) was fabulous with the magnificent view. We really liked this hotel and it was our favorite place in our holiday. OK, it's not 5 star resort as they advertise, but it is very nice for a mid-range accommodation - I give to this hotel 4 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HelenaRupar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at the beach bungalows which were quit disappointing. They look big and spacious on their website, but when you get there they're small and you could smell the drain and molt. Too humid I guess. There were no room safes and one of my friends had her necklace stolen by the maids. There are no room safes, so they force you to get a safe at the lobby and every time you want to open the safe they charge you for that. What a service huh? Maybe they do it on purpose so they can steal more of your belongings. Luckily this happened the last day, so it didn't spoil our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I was at Koh Tao 3 years ago and really shocked by its development in the past 3 years. The island, especially Sairee Beach, is on its way to transform itself from a unique hidden gem to a teeny party island where new apartments are rising everywhere on Koh Tao resulting in very noisy surroundings. Since me and my girlfriend were looking for the idyllic beaches and easy going strand bars, we went to Freedom Beach but since our desired guesthouse was full we landed for 2 days in the Koh Tao Beach resort. There were probably very few customers since I was able to negotiate a price of 1400 Thai Baht instead of 2200. The room was very clean and basic, containing a bed, TV, fridge, AC and a small wardrobe. The bath room was clean as well and spacious. The overall impression of us was that the resort is worn with age paired with a poor ambiance and needs serious improvements to keep up with the new buildings on Koh Tao in the upcoming years. This is also the problem of the resort, for backpackers it might be OK but even the discounted prices will be too expensive for the larger part of them. For people used to go to resorts, the current standards are absolutely too low to have a relaxing time there. I felt really sorry for the people who booked there for 2 weeks or longer. Actually the only impressive facility in this resort is the very nice swimming pool of the Koh Tao Paradise Zone which belongs to the resort but is located on the other side of the street, a free taxi service brings you up the hill. The amazing swimming pool offers you an absolutely stunning and breathtaking view over the island. All in All, I would neither recommend it to backpackers since there are certainly better guesthouses offering a greater value for money nor to people who are used to resort standards.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonLeon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed at the Koh Tao Reort on Koh Tao for two nights in May 2011. We stayed at several hotels during our trip to Thailand's Islands so we were able to compare it to other options quite easily. I'll break up the review into several categories to make it easier for those reading.

Rooms
We stayed in a standard room which is up on the hill (not towards the beach). The room itself was excellent. It was spacious with lots of room to store luggage. The air conditioning was cold if you were inclined to use it (most people are). You can actually open up the windows and not worry about bugs because they are covered by screens. Television with lots of channels. Good water temperature and pressure. Wifi was very weak at our room but they don't advertise that it works. The room location, however, is horrible. You have to walk up a pretty steep incline to get to your hut and then up some pretty steep steps to your actual room. Splurg and get a room by the beach.

Food
Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner were all fantastic. There is lots on the menu so you will never go hungry. Reasonably priced as well but still cheaper in town (as is always the case).

Hotel Services
Free wifi in the lobby or cheap internet if you don't have your own smartphone or laptop. Also cheap laundry service. The lobby is big with plenty of places to sit and converse with other travellers. They have three pools. One by the beach (infinity) which can get quite busy. One by the restaurant which really is only a dipping pool. And one (infinity) at the very top of the hill at their sister resort. The view from here was amazing and it was quite peaceful. Just remember to ask for the free shuttle to take you up there.

Location
It's not directly in town which ould either be a good thing or bad thing depnding on what you like. We wanted a little peace and quiet so the location was perfect. You could get a cheap ride into town.

Conclusion
We really liked this hotel. The pools were varied with the view from the top pool worth the price of the stay just on its own. The food was great and the rooms were comfortable. Just consider staying at on of the rooms by the beach as the ones on the hill were hard to get to.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RichieRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. We stayed in a superior bungalow - the room was nice with a huge bed, air con and decent sized tv. The bathroom was very basic but clean and with hot water.

It is actually the rest of the resort that I was most impressed with. The pool was just amazing, an infinity pool looking out over the beach right in front of the hotel. The beach itself was lovely for walks, water was quite shallow but nice for a dip.

The restaurant again was in a great location with some lovely views. Very well presented in the evenings all lit up. The staff were so friendly and helpful too. I have to say, this was probably my favourite place out of our holiday. Its not 5 star so if that's what you're looking for, you'll be disappointed. But very nice for a mid-range accommodation.

I can also recommend the dive school linked with this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karina079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews