We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning place with hitches.”
Review of Anankhira Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anankhira Villas
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2007

These villas are stunning without a doubt, but..... When we arrived we immediately jumped into our pool to realise that we had dirt all over us? It seemed it had something to do with the chemical reaction of the chlorine? The guy in charge took us to a beach whilst they cleaned it but we couldn't use the pool untill the following day. The pool was fine for a day or so, but we then realised that they hadn't put the filter back on, so we had the same problem all over again!! We have been to Thailand quite a few times and are quite used to the wild life, gheko's, the odd cockroach, but one night we were greeted by two fat rats in our bathroom, which we then realised that there were rat droppings all over our apartment. For the problems we encountered and the reactions of the staff this place is over priced. If they sort out their problems this place is a gem.

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank gillVerbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2010

Thanks for your review. Since you stayed we have improved our accommodation and our service. Hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 219 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2007

We just finished 3 days staying in Bungalow 1 at Seaview Anankhira. Overall the place is very beautiful but a few things made it a bit expensive for what was provided.
The set of the hut is absoloutely beautiful... open balanese style with 3 seperate areas. The living room was outside but covered and kept out the rain but let in the nice breeze. The TV/AV set up was amazing with huge TV, DVD and great surround sound. They also provided you with a folder of DVD's which we thought was a nice touch. The pool are was next to the living area and had a fantantic view of Sariee bay (the beach is about 500m away but nothing to rave about). The bed room is lovely and clean with soft lighting, air con and another TV/DVD. The bathroom was open air and provided great views although tended to be a little too open sometimes.
All this was fantastic but considering the price we paid ($4900BHT) there were a few problems.
First, there was no information in the room concerning checkout time, minibar pricelist or appliance operation. The minibar is priced by the affilated resturant (menu supplied). So we didn't realise that the water was not provided free of charge (which I think shoud have considering the room price), and where also unsure about the operation of water heater etc.
Second, the pool was not that clean over our stay. The first day was fine but then i think the filter broke because the second day you couldn't see the bottom. But once we told the manager he had it fixed but it took until the next day to be clean again. (Note: make sure the jets/fountain are left running - i think this cleans the water). This was dissapointing considering this is the reason to stay here.
Third, the air-con leaked the first night and the kettle was very tempermental - we couldn't use it for most of our stay.
These concerns are pretty minor but considering the price i think they are reasonable.
Overall, thought the place is very beautiful and if the little things were fixed then it would be a fantastic place to stay. I my opinion Koh Tao is overpriced for luxury accommodation - you might want to consider elsewhere.
Also, if you are looking for absolute privacy then bungalow 1 is not for you... maybe try one of the others... i think one of the other posts said no. 3 was more private.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Empora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Manager at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2010

Thanks for your review. Since you stayed in 2007 there have been many improvements in the accommodation and service. I hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

If you are seeking a truely sublime place to stay, then look no further. Built in a beautiful location with views over Sairee, and set just the right distance from the town allows you to unwind in peace. Far better then staying on the beach in what resembles a caravan park with too many bungalows packed in together. The small size of this complex (only 3 villas) ensures privacy. Having your own plunge pool - decadent, and not having to share it with a 100 other hotel guests is priceless. No screaming kids, only the sound of the tress swaying in the breeze and far off long tailed boats plying the bay.
The villas contain everything you need to have a decadent holiday : great tv and sound system (with a ton of movies provided), a/c in bedroom, comfy furniture and great bed. At night, the soft ligthing makes this place very romantic and idyllic.
The staff are fantastic, nothing is too difficult for them to manage for you, and I was surprised to find my villa beautifully cleaned daily after a hard day out at the beach.
This is a place for people who want a little luxury in their accommodation, yet want a place with more intimacy then a large resort. It is also a place for people that love tropical style architecture, attention to detail in design is very unique with natural rocks forming internal walls. Also highly recommended for lovers and honeymooners.
Would I go back. Yes and more than once. I've already booked for August for stay number 2. It will take something very special to make me want to stay elsewhere in Koh Tao.
And remember - every villa has it's own plunge pool.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank farmerjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us although you state some time ago we have still maintained a high level of service and uniqueness and we are very pleased and to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2007

Spent 3 nights in this heavenly place and couldn't recommend it highly enough. Lovely little room with ensuite shower room overlooking over our own little pool, overlooking the palm fringed hill, overlooking Sairee beach and the turquiose sea beyond...

Great open style living space with hammock, sofa, tea making facilities, fan, dvd with film collection and surround sound (my boyfriend was in seventh heaven) and a small collection of friendly creatures from a large gecko to a little frog, a lizard and friendly dog sheltering from the rain. All this just 5 mins walk from the beach and Koh Tao Cabanas.

We loved it and would go back tomorrow if we didn't have to work .

Enjoy........if you stay here you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LisaLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review with so glad you enjoyed yourself. You mentioned the dog and as you may be aware myself and the other owner of Anankhira and myself set up the animal clinic in 2002 and we continue to support it by donating a percentage our profits. It does some fantastic work so I hope you had a chance to go and take a look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2007

Khop Khun Khap

My partner and I stayed at this wonderful laid back property March 2007 and profoundly enjoyed the experience.

We had the smaller of this villas, I believe they refer to it as number three, and as soon as you enter the villa's living room you see how unique it is - completely in tune with the landscape as part of the wall is a large granite rock. From the living room you have a great sea view of Saree Beach and the villa's small pool.

The bedroom is extremely romantic with high ceiling, upward lighting and lovely furnishings.

The only downside to this villa is that from the pool there was no sea view as it was fenced in with large bamboo, but it felt like you were in your own little jungle complete with ferns and river stones. Also, the beach is about 300-400 mts away, but if you rent a moped, which most tourists to the island do, then that is no problem whatsoever. Besides, with your own pool - it just doesn't feel like you're missing out.

I would probably not recommend this place to elderly travelers or families with children as there are places where they could fall.

We simply cannot recommend this place enough and will surely return here again for our next vacation to Koh Tao (we're stationed in Bangkok).

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank YasminBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your review and the resort has moved on a bit since you visited in 2007. All the one bed villas are the same size and all have a private plunge pool and all have a seaview. The infrastructure has developed quite considerably and the island itself is now much more accessible as indeed is Anankhira as we have a concrete road which leads right up to reception. I hope you may come back and see all these lovely improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

We stayed in the Anankhiri Villas last week for three nights, we had the most amazing time ever...
Staff were so friendly the man that owns the villas was so helpful with everything...
The villa is brilliant its all open plan with flat screen tv dvd player and they supply a huge stack of dvds for you to watch if you just want to chill out theres also a beautiful outdoor jacuzzi pool..
Bedroom is magnificent there is closed doors for that so you don't really get your wildlife guests bar one or two baby lizards which are completely harmless...
Would defo recommend this to a couple looking for romantic break...

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Niamh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Since you stayed with us, a few years ago now, we have developed a honeymoon package which offers you even more luxury and a romantic sunset cruise. We found this to be very popular with our guests and so have extended it for any couples wishing to make their stay that extra bit special. I hope you come back and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

I travelled to Koh Tao in February 2006. Anankhira was by far the best and most unique hotel I have ever stayed at. I often stay at Ritz Carlton and other nice hotels, but still find Anankhira amazing. The hotel owner picked us up at the pier, and was willing to drive us around the island whenever we needed. You have a private pool which overlooks the ocean. The bedroom was completely enclosed and you could lock the door so that we felt safe and it was air conditioned. The living room and bathroom were open and overlooked the ocean. Even though it was an open layout, there was still a flat screen tv, mini bar etc.. Breakfast was provided and it is a short walk down the hill (the only negative about the hotel, steep walk up to it) to a beautiful beach. Sairee hut restaurant is great and a short walk, along with many other places. I had absolutelty no problems and the staff was very willing to help with anything i needed (exchanging money, suggestions, using internet). I stayed at koh tao resort and coral grand and found anankhira by far the best hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are so pleased that you found our resort so unique. From the very concept of the resort to the delivery of service we try to give the personal touch and it's rewarding to know that we are achieving this. I do hope you come back and see a seen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,601 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,314 reviews
2.8 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anankhira Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anankhira Villas

Address: 15/104 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Anankhira Boutique Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $77 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in Balinese-inspired architecture, Anankhira Villa Resort is a short stroll from Sairee Beach. We are an intimate resort with four villas – one two bed and three one bed. Each villa has its own private plunge pool and a stunning sea view. All our bedrooms are ensuite and air-conditioned and also have a fan and a fridge. Every villa also has an outdoor sitting area with TV and lots of DVD’s. We have free Wi-FiThe resort is an 8-minute drive from Mae Haad Pier. We provide a free shuttle service to and from the pier. Free private parking is available on-site.We can provide Thai cuisine and Burmese specialties in your villa or in our bijou dining area. Our price includes all taxes and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Anankhira Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Anankhira Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Anankhira Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing