We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, try it out”
Review of Anankhira Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anankhira Villas
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2010

This is a great place to stay. It's very clean and the staff are very friendly. On the first night my friend and I decided not eat at the villa because we thought it would be expensive so we went to a place on the beach which was nice but not cheap! The second night we were so tired that we decided to order from the villa kitchen. The food was absolutely great and fresh and very good value for money. Basically they'll cook anything you want, even fresh fish if you let them know in the morning. The villa was spacious and well equipped.I would definitely go back here.

I had read some reviews on Trip Advisor before I booked and was a bit confused that some people seem to be renting a not very nice house!! I don't knoe if there are two Anankira's but my advice would be to make sure when you book that you are booking a villa near sairree beach in a small complex.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HarryMouton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2011

HI Harry,
Thanks very much for your lovely comments. Please come back again soon.
Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 219 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2009

It is my pleasure to say that the other reviews on tripadvisor are completely correct (well most). Anankhira is a truly special place - a mix of modern comforts and eco nature charm. My partner and I just loved being close to nature while enjoying the private pool and the other mod cons. The small restaurant was just what was needed so we didn't need to leave the villa much during our stay. Staff was invincible but things got done.

Truly a fantastic retreat!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanTheMan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Thanks for your review. We have lots of Honeymoon couples who stay with us and they all comment on what a special and romantic place it is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

We travel a lot and have been at Koh Tao Anankhira. We liked it a lot. We can only recommend this special place to other people. You have to stay there to sense it.
Marianne, Denmark

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mariDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Thanks for your review which was two years ago and Anankhira is now even better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

WOW! This place is amazing. Off the beaten path but within 10 min walking distance to Sairee Village, we found this place to be absolute heaven! Arik & LouLou, the people who run the place, are beyond lovely.

The rooms are breathtaking. Roomy, airy (open air living room and open bathroom- dont worry, its all quite private). AC in the bedroom at night. Extremely tastefully decorated. Pool was perfect. View was lovely. A complete gem. Had a nice little party there, no complaints from the staff.

So wonderful I could just scream.

Going back again in June with the boyfriend..... my new favorite place!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WBolesNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Thanks for such a fantastic review and it is great to see you again at our beautiful resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Loved the location and style of the place if you are lucky to be in Villa 1. I think if you are in the other 2 then your privacy is hampered as you can see into the other villa rooms as you go down the stairs.
Tip - bring a torch! coming home at night after a few drinks always made the climb interesting.
There are lots of critters and bugs about but that is Koa Tao and comes with having the villas in such a quiet and unique spot.
Personally I loved the plunge pool...one thing I would say is you are not really able to chill out in the living room due to the mozzies waiting in the rafters! But as I said, you should expect that, so apply the spray, eat lots of garlic, drink lots of tonic or stay in the plunge pool.
All in all, we really like the place. I have to say, the service was great up until we forgot to tip one of the ladies who serviced the rooms occasionally (ran out of money tipping everyone else!!) The temper tantrum we got was horrific and sadly typified what a walking wallet of Bahts some Thai people really regard us as.
We would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Newt999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

If you returned to Anankhira now - 2 years after your review - I think you would find some massive improvements.
We employ an eco pest company and there are a lot less insects etc and you would find it hard to spot a mosquito!
The staff would not expect a tip for cleaning your room and they certainly would not throw a tantrum if they didn't get one. The number of reviews where are staff are highly praised are testimony to this.
We now provide a torch in the room and even a mobile phone.
Do come back and see the improvements for yourself you'll now definitely think this is a top place without any reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We spent 8 nights on Koh Tao island and stayed in 4 different places. For the overall experience Anankhira was # 1.

A beautiful, peaceful property located within (longish) walking distance of Sairee beach and town. 3 villas, each with their own pool, means leaving the actual villa to go into town is a hard decision!

The villas are a perfect place to unwind and relax but are close enough to town to sample the many restaurants and nightlife if that is what you want. An outdoor living room with TV, DVD, hammock and couch (and view!) is perfect for a beach location and the air con bedroom provides the creature comforts too.

Eric & Loulou, the French couple who manage the property, cannot do enough to make your stay exactly what you want it to be. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kim_asker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

As a frequent traveler to Thai islands I applaud when I see something different than the typical run of the mill hotel. I was pleased experience a private experience at Anankira Villas.

I am not going to go into a long discussion on the facilities, but basically you get a romantic cottage/villa with a private plunge/dip pool, airy living room and a gorgeous and unique bedroom. You have all you really need within the dwelling and need nothing more. The only negative is that there is no restaurant and you need to walk the 300-400 meters to the beach or rent a motorbike if you prefer not too walk.

All in all it's a great place for grown ups that want a bit of privacy and don't want to see a lot of other tourists or snotty kids.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Eileein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. You will be pleased to know that since you visited us we now have a lovely seating area by Reception where breakfast and evening meals can be served. Of course you can still have meals in the comfort of your villa if you prefer. I hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,601 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,314 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anankhira Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anankhira Villas

Address: 15/104 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Anankhira Boutique Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $77 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in Balinese-inspired architecture, Anankhira Villa Resort is a short stroll from Sairee Beach. We are an intimate resort with four villas – one two bed and three one bed. Each villa has its own private plunge pool and a stunning sea view. All our bedrooms are ensuite and air-conditioned and also have a fan and a fridge. Every villa also has an outdoor sitting area with TV and lots of DVD’s. We have free Wi-FiThe resort is an 8-minute drive from Mae Haad Pier. We provide a free shuttle service to and from the pier. Free private parking is available on-site.We can provide Thai cuisine and Burmese specialties in your villa or in our bijou dining area. Our price includes all taxes and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anankhira Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Anankhira Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Anankhira Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing