We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villas with a homely touch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anankhira Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anankhira Villas
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful villas with a homely touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at Anankhira on the last 2 days of our Koh Tao trip and how I wished I stayed here for the whole stay in Koh Tao! The villas are small but it has everything you need including your own plunge pool attached to an outdoor lounge and TV area. Inside is a comfortable bed with a mosquito net and a generous size shower/ bathroom, all airconed inside so there's no need to worry about the heat. The mini bar in the lounge is reasonable too which is a bonus so if you ever run out of beer or water there's no need to walk to 7eleven for one!

Just a 5-10min walk into Sairee it's not too far away and believe me it's great to stay away from the main hub anyway because the villas are perched on a little hill where you get views across the island.

Thumbs up to Kit and her family for looking after us. It feels so homely seeing them everyday and with their dog Ting Tong and a friendly cat. Kit is ultra nice and helpful she even gave us a lift to a beach on the other side of the island!

Definately will be returning to Anankhira next time when we return to Koh Tao, it's just an absolute hidden gem :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbiguppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    48
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
21
132
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

I spend two months a year in Thailand and travel around a lot generally trying new places every time (see other reviews Im starting to build up a fair number of them) but its about time I revisited this beautiful little oasis on my favourite island in Thailand.

This is by far the most amazing place I have stayed on Koh Tao and Ive been there over a dozen times.

The villas are very private, rustic Balinese style yet luxurious at the same time everything was perfect from the plunge pool just steps from the bedroom door to the outside living room/area. The villas themselves are nestled in the jungle just up the mountain enough to give absolutely incredible views yet not horribly far from the main strip and Sairee beach. I loved curling up watching a movie in a living room with only one wall with torrential rain pouring down and arms length away whoever designed it planned it extremely well not a drop of water comes inside I was very impressed. Comfy beds, spotless clean, working aircon, big bathroom, in all honesty barely saw the staff except on check in but that was perfect too.

This is an amazingly private romantic getaway place I would highly recommend it to anyone.

A few things that did not bother us in the slightest but may be a concern for others at the time we went there was no food it sounds like from a couple recent reviews they have some offerings now. In addition there are no cooking facilities in the Villas which is something I usually associate with a Villa rental - the purpose of a Villa after all is a home away from home which generally lacks all the facilities of hotel but gives you all the facilities you need to take care of things yourself. This does seem to be the norm on Koh Tao I haven't actually found cooking facilities in any of the villa rentals offered unless you go private very expensive. The road was pretty rough getting in to the Villas but short. The resort is definitely not beach front its a good 20 minute walk to the beach but super quick on a rental scooter. Its also a good 10 minute walk to the main shopping/restaurant area of Sairee beach again didn't bother us in the slightest however it would have been really nice to have an amazing meal in our beautiful outdoor living area with the gorgeous views...

The price is also a little high for Koh Tao at $120 USD per night there are a lot of cheaper options however we loved it and would return again.

That last part may sound negative but we truly loved this place I just believe in giving folks full disclosure I find too many reviews are just either all love, love or all poo poo.

Room Tip: We loved the Cattelya Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NathanWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Anankhira is just amazing. I travelled with my boyfriend in April 2014, we had just spent 8 days on Koh Samui with a large group and popped over to Koh Tao for 4 days of romance and relaxation before heading home.

I had done a bit research before booking and thought I had the place pretty summed up but it was even better than I could imagine. Our villa was immaculately clean and well presented. The plunge pool, the view- just gorgeous!! So much space although the lounge area is outside (including the fridge and TV). Only the bedroom and bathroom are fully enclosed with aircon.

The resort manager, Kit - such a wonderful lady - is all over everything that you need. She gives you a mobile with her number in it so you can call from wherever you are if you need any assistance and a trusty flashlight as the roads are a little dark at night. All the staff are just beautiful people, very kind and helpful.

Breakfast was included and was very yummy. The resort is peaceful and surrounded by nature - even squirrels in the trees to watch jumping around. They are pet lovers (as so as am I),I was pleased to always get a happy friendly hello from the resident dog and the odd rubbed leg by the pussy cats. The place is small so few guests can stay which makes it very private and quiet.

Its a short walk down to the beach and if your heading to the main village all up about 10 mins from the resort. Yes its on a hill so the walk back up helps you keep fit. If your fit to start with then it wont bother you at all.

Highly recommend Anankhira, especially if your looking to really wind down and relax.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnW08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

After a week in Koh Samui (thinking our our holiday accommodation could never be bettered), the 3 of us (one couple, plus a friend) made our way to Anankhira. Met at the ferry by the fabulous Kit (fabulous lady and great driver) we were driven to the resort. Now, we had definitely done our groundwork. We spend time reading reviews on anywhere we stay in Koh Tao, and Anankhira proved to be better than what we expected.

We had the largest villa (two bedrooms) which overlooked a picturesque view of the sea. Yes, the beach is literally 10 minutes walk away. Of course we knew all about the steps up to the resort (a bit tiring in the humidity), and that breakfast would be served. We even knew all about the large ghekos, which, apparently, some people find disturbing. As for us - we couldnt wait to meet one. And we did (delightfully). The rooms were very clean - and were cleaned on a daily basis. The shower ran out of water a few times - but, hey - this is an island. A quick chat to Kit, and magically it came on again. And that's what this place is all about - communicating with staff as to your preferances. We would suggest to anyone that they eat in at some point in time. The two fresh fish we ordered (cooked in two different flavours by the delightful Kit) was the best meal we had in our whole Thailand holiday. Which is saying a lot, because we have travelled south-east Asia quite extensively. The flavours were excellent - and the fish was as fresh as if it had just been caught. Add to that meal, eating in your lounge room with that magical view at night.

After walking up the steps in the evening, it was jump straight into the pool (beautifully cleaned every day) and just looking out at the lights on the boats. Mosquitos? Well, we get mosquitos here in Melbourne. It is about being equipped to deal with them. Anankhirah supplies mozzie coils - which we suggest are lit in the evenings. As for us, we also brought our own mozzie lotion.

The service was excellent. Every morning we were met with a fantastic smile from either Kit, her mother, or others working at the resort. The biggest smile was from Ting-Tang....a dog with a huge personality! At the time we were there, a honeymoon couple had come to stay. We saw the staff take special flowers into the room - to make it special for them. It is the small things that make this resort special.

We booked a day on a boat through the reception (Kit's English - and sense of humour - is impeccable), and all went according to plan. Tap into the local knowledge - because they can guide you as a tourist.

Would we go back? You better believe it! Anankhira was all it was written up to be and better. To be honest, sometimes when I read reviews I wonder what people want. Koh Tao - Turtle Island - is a magical place. Anankhira is just as magical.

Room Tip: I would assume all rooms are fantastic and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bubstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights and I was blown away. Kit is perhaps the nicest person I've ever met, so really: hats off to her!

Picked up from pier on time, driven to the resort- own private pool, aircon rooms, breath-taking views, wonderful food: just everything you could hope for really!

Room Tip: We stayed in Mokara, which was brilliant- didn't see other villas though, so they might be good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed here with my wife earlier this month and we had the best time possible. We were met at the port by the wonderful Kit and driven up to the gorgeous resort, tucked away on a hillside overlooking Sairee Beach. The views are out of this world: the rooms are fantastic. The thing that this resort really gets just right is the balance between privacy and attentive service: we were entirely pampered but also left to our own devices. We chose to ate in every night seeing as the food was so good on the first night- I suppose the only problem was that we didn't really feel the need to leave the villa... So we didn't!

Oh- private pool....!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian3475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I was by myself at the Cattelya Villa from Jan 7th to Jan 17th. The place is everything you see online and more. Very nice and secluded. You're in a quiet place up the hill with a great view, but at the same time an easy short walk away from everything. It was perfect for the relaxing few days I wanted. Kit and her family are very welcoming, great hosts! Kit's mom is a great cook. Best Thai food I had in Thailand so far... Hope to be back soon!!!
M.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyGas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
2.5 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anankhira Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anankhira Villas

Property: Anankhira Villas
Address: 15/104 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Anankhira Boutique Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in Balinese-inspired architecture, Anankhira Villa Resort is a short stroll from Sairee Beach. We are an intimate resort with four villas – one two bed and three one bed. Each villa has its own private plunge pool and a stunning sea view. All our bedrooms are ensuite and air-conditioned and also have a fan and a fridge. Every villa also has an outdoor sitting area with TV and lots of DVD’s. We have free Wi-FiThe resort is an 8-minute drive from Mae Haad Pier. We provide a free shuttle service to and from the pier. Free private parking is available on-site.We can provide Thai cuisine and Burmese specialties in your villa or in our bijou dining area. Our price includes all taxes and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Anankhira Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Anankhira Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Anankhira Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing