We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Villa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anankhira Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anankhira Villas
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Villa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our most breathtaking resort we stayed at during out two week vacation to Thailand. We stayed for 4 nights and loved our spot. There are only 4 villas on the property so you feel you get very personalized service and you feel you are in your own vacation land. Your villa has a private pool, living area, bedroom and bathroom. Only the bedroom has four walls and a ceiling. Other rooms have partial walls/ceilings and are exposed to the outside. This is utterly amazing in Thailand as you really feel one with your private villa. We spent a full day lounging by the pool enjoying our spot and then walked down to Sairee Beach area other days for diving or to hang by the ocean.

The walk is very reasonable, but a little old after four nights as it is uphill on the way back. Be sure you are comfortable with nature as we did have some lizards around and lots of mosquitoes (slept under a much needed mosquito net). The bedroom with four walls allows for AC at night which was perfect.

Breakfast was included each day and delicious. Service by all staff was wonderful. Strongly recommend for a private, quiet getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation. The design of the resort is rather unique and was designed by one of the leading Thai architects. There is an inside/ outside feel and nature is very present. We built the resort around the rocks and trees rather than the other way round. But, if you have too much of the outside you can always retreat to the air-conditioned bedroom. So glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    49
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
22
134
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was fantastic. We loved the villas which were very clean, spacious and the addition of the private pool was, as you might imagine, very welcome! Staff were very sweet and did anything you want, organising meals and trips out etc- just ask at reception. Breakfast was delish- and a lot of it. Overall, Anankhira was the highlight of our trip and to anyone thinking of booking, I'd say go ahead!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnaud099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Next time why not treat yourself to our romantic break package which includes a romantic dinner for two, massage, pedicure and manicure and some lovely lotions and potions! We can also arrange a champagne sunset cruise. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Really impressed with this little place, I must say. Picked up from the pier by the lovely staff and from that point on everything was really magical. The private pools are such a bonus and definitely worth paying a bit extra for- you feel like you can get away from it all, but are never too far away from the beautiful Sairee beach. Would recommend to any friend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am very pleased that you had a magical experience at Anankhira. We are continually monitoring and responding to guests comments as to how we can improve our service so thank you also for kindly filling in our customer survey form. Please do come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in Cattleya for 3 days and it was awesome. Our one bedroom villa was on a hill, which was about 10-15 mins away from sairee beach, where all the restaurants and shops are located at. We were greeted by Tasha and Kit when we first arrived. Tasha showed us around the villa and allowed us to freshen up before officially checking in at lobby.(We walked all the way from Mae Haad pier to Anankhira because our ferry arrived early & we wanted to explore Koh Tao.We were exhausted!) It was nice of them to allow us to jump in the pool before checking in. Our pool was beautiful and it oversees the sea and beautiful sunset. The toilet was clean and our bed was lovely. They provide us with everything we need, insect repellent, dvds, etc. Tasha gave us 2 torches which is useful as the roads were really dark at night.
We ordered food from them during our stay because it was raining and we couldn't go out. Their food was amazing! They make the best green curry.
Every night, while watching the dvds that they provide, we were accompanied by a bat and a lizard. I freaked out a little at first but they are friendly creatures, no worries!
All in all, anankhira is the best and most luxury place we've stayed in Thailand and we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aeenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you liked the and unpaying guests they really are quite harmless! Do come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Level Contributor
395 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Anankhira was highly recommended to me by a work colleague and I am so happy that I took his advice and gave the place a shot. Kit met us at the ferry terminal on time. Immediately her beaming smile with a warm and sincere greeting made us feel good. The road to Anankhira is crazy steep as the villas are perched high against the hill and sit beautifully integrated into the landscape. Our villa consisted of 2 separate bedrooms with individual bathrooms, an outdoor living area and a generous sparkling clean private pool. The views from the villa are amazing and look towards the ocean. The sunset soon after our arrival was awesome. Our accommodation deal included breakfast. Breakfast was freshly cooked, in generous portions and delicious. We had 2 evening meals and a lunch at Anankhira, the food was divine and incredibly flavoursome. There was no need to dine elsewhere, Kit's mother Moi does a fantastic job with the meals. The resident dog, "Ding-Dong" is adorable and radiates the same calm and content personality of all the staff at Anankhira. We found Anankhira a fantastic place to stay, a short walk to the beach, although a steep climb back, it was clean, well presented, included little things like mosquito coils, mosquito repellent and complimentary DVDs. Our only regret was that we did not stay here more than the 2 nights. I will definitely be returning home to share and advertise this fabulous villa and I will definitely consider staying here again without any hesitation.

Room Tip: I cannot comment on all 4 villas but the one we were in was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nunngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review it's very important to us that guests share their experience with other travellers. You stayed in our two bed villa Mokara, which sleeps 4, we only have one of these on site as the other three Villas are only for two people. I can assure you that the other villas are of the same high standards you describe. I hope you come back to Koh tao soon and will again enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We with my husband stayed in Anankhira villa for a short time but it was real pleasure and nice experience. Our one bedroom villa was on the hill so we could see the sea and beautiful sunset. Villa is cozy and nicely furnished (bedroom with big win dons from which you can see the sea, spacious open air relaxing area) - perfectly suitable for the romantic getaway. We could enjoy the privacy as nobody disturbs you during your stay and their are no neighbors - which was absolutely awesome.
Staff of the resort was very nice by helping with the booking, cozy welcoming and all the attention during the stay.
I wish we could stay longer in this villa and for sure will recommend it to others.
Thank you for this nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raudonaguona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We do offer a special honeymoon package which includes a romantic dinner for two, massages and manicure and pedicure in your villa and some rather scrummy lotions and potions. This has proved so popular that we've now extended it to include romantic breaks as we found there were lots of couples who wanted a very special couple of days which is exactly what this package offers. Hope you come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

It was so nice to be picked up by Kit and welcomed by Natasha in this fantastic resort- the staff made it really special, it must be said.

We were so impressed by our villa- it was beautiful and had everything we needed in it: the mobile phone we were given was such a great idea, because it meant we could be left in peace when we wanted to.

All in all, the best and most luxury place we stay in Thailand and we will definitely go again!

Room Tip: We stay in Mokara, which we really liked
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you liked the touch of the mobile phone as we have found that giving one of these free to guests can be very helpful particularly if you need to call us to collect you from somewhere! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anankhira Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anankhira Villas

Property: Anankhira Villas
Address: 15/104 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Anankhira Boutique Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in Balinese-inspired architecture, Anankhira Villa Resort is a short stroll from Sairee Beach. We are an intimate resort with four villas – one two bed and three one bed. Each villa has its own private plunge pool and a stunning sea view. All our bedrooms are ensuite and air-conditioned and also have a fan and a fridge. Every villa also has an outdoor sitting area with TV and lots of DVD’s. We have free Wi-FiThe resort is an 8-minute drive from Mae Haad Pier. We provide a free shuttle service to and from the pier. Free private parking is available on-site.We can provide Thai cuisine and Burmese specialties in your villa or in our bijou dining area. Our price includes all taxes and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anankhira Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Anankhira Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Anankhira Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing