We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had SUCH a brilliant time!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anankhira Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anankhira Villas
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We had SUCH a brilliant time!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

It was so nice to be picked up by Kit and welcomed by Natasha in this fantastic resort- the staff made it really special, it must be said.

We were so impressed by our villa- it was beautiful and had everything we needed in it: the mobile phone we were given was such a great idea, because it meant we could be left in peace when we wanted to.

All in all, the best and most luxury place we stay in Thailand and we will definitely go again!

Room Tip: We stay in Mokara, which we really liked
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you liked the touch of the mobile phone as we have found that giving one of these free to guests can be very helpful particularly if you need to call us to collect you from somewhere! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    49
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
22
134
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

You have to look long and hard to find anything even approaching high end accommodation in Ko Tao, but eventually we stumbled across Anankhira and I'm very glad we did.

There are only four villas, each with private pool and decent sized outdoor (covered) living area. The view is beautiful from the hillside overlooking the bay and the pool is a reasonable size... Not Olympic proportions, naturally, but probably a good four times the size of your average plunge pool. It has jacuzzi style aeration jets too. And the water is lovely, clean but not over-chlorinated.

Stayed as a couple in the two bedroom villa as the one bedroom ones were full. It would be ideal for a family, but we were just happy to have the extra space and two bathrooms. Would be great for two friends traveling together too.

Rooms are nice, and bathrooms new and well appointed. They'll give u everything you need, including a torch (very useful as the roads are dark in places) and an old mobile phone with local SIM if you need it.

Location can be a big issue in ko tao as the island is extremely hilly and the beachside is basically filled with mainly more budget type accommodation. A lot of the other higher end places we looked at were located further inland even higher up the hill and consequently more exhausting (if walking) or more treacherous (if driving) to get to. But Anankhira's location is pretty good on this front. The walk to the main Sairee beach is only ten mins on the way there (downhill), probably more like fifteen on the way back, though being lazy we took a cab back up the hill every time. The walk up the path and stairs from the main road is not too bad and you will not arrive out of breath (much). Just don't try n drive up the vehicle access path unless u are an expert in negotiating steep slopes n have good tyres n a four wheel drive!

The best thing about Anankhira is the lovely staff that work there. The manager Kit is very helpful and Tasha, who has only been there a couple of weeks, does a great job making everybody feel at home and already knows a lot about the island. It's a small and friendly place and that's the best bit about it.

One general problem on ko tao is the transport situation. The island is too big and hilly to walk from beach to beach so you need to take taxi boats (not always available) or taxi trucks (again only available at the busier places, so u need to arrange with your driver who sends you to a place to wait n take you back). The drivers here are actually very nice, unlike the mafia style thugs you often hear about in Phuket, but they do operate a cartel. Prices are fixed and very high by Thai standards. (Around 20 usd per leg that goes from one side to the other side of the island). Driving your own rented motorbike is dangerous unless you are used to it...the roads are often in poor condition and they are VERY steep in places.

One morning we went diving on another beach around 15 mins drive away. We asked Kit to arrange a taxi for us, but instead she drove us herself and came to pick us up after too, for no charge. This was a really nice touch and sums up the vibe of the place. Don't expect a personal chauffeur service (although it would be something to consider offering to guests by employing a driver on standby for guests that wish to pay extra for such a service), but they will go out of their way to help you get around for trips where transportation can be a problem if the truck is available and they have the time. And they are not charging for this, they are just providing a great service.

All in all Anankhira is a great place to stay on ko tao and I expect it's gonna get better and better as Tasha is keen to seek feedback and provide even better service to guests.

There is no such thing as a Four Seasons or a Park Hyatt on Ko Tao. But Anankhira does a great job at providing the next best thing.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony_newman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. As you rightly point out we are at the higher end of accommodation on offer on Koh Tao and and are very fortunate to be located very close to Sairee Beach with its great nightlife and restaurants. so if you're looking for a private retreat and good access to local facilities then, as you say, Anankhira is the perfect choice. we are committed to improving our customer service and ask each guest to fill out a customer survey the comments from which we use to ensure that we maintain our high standards. So thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wow! What a place... Our own little slice of paradise and boy, were we sad to leave!

We were picked up from the pier (after a slightly tumultuous ferry over) by the wonderful Kit and driven up to the fabulous hillside setting- our little bit of heaven for the next 6 nights. They offered us a sumptuous breakfast and got us checked-in to the villa straight away, which we really appreciated.

Our jaws dropped when we beheld the magnificent views overlooking Sairee ( many a sunset and massage were enjoyed with this delightful backdrop, I assure you! ). The private pool was my personal highlight, but everything else was pretty great too- tv, aircon, beautiful bathrooms, DVDs, a mobile phone should you need anything, massages in your room, brilliant food- need I go on?!

Overall, we were so impressed with our experience at Anankhira- you're very close to nature, it's beautiful, it's luxurious and it's tastefully done at that! Thanks to the whole team and we look forward to coming back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Laelia
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elfin_flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have recently purchased a lovely new truck which we use to transport guests to and from the pier and also to take guests to destinations around the island. This is a great addition to our service and we have had some lovely comments about this. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Well i went there with a very open mind as i heard very opposite stories about Thailand and even less about Koh Tao, but i have to tell you it was teh best week i had in a very long time. The villa was perfect; clean, spacious and with the most comfortable bed i ever slept in.
The pool was fantastic and teh view was stunning. all of this could be enough for going back there time and time again but what made it an unforgettable week was Kit and her staff. From the welcome at the pier to the goodbye a week later, we were treated like superstar. The service was impeccable, from front of desk to the room service. and don't get me started on the food, i have to send my compliments once again to Kit's mum for her wonderful food. Please do try the fried red snapper, AMAZING; but actually every dish on the menu is superb. They really made us feel incredibly lucky to be there and as we have said to Kit when we left we will definitely be back. This resort is a pure gem. do yourself a favour, please go.

Once again Kit, please extend my best wishes to your mum and your staff. thank you so much for your outstanding hospitality and an amazing holiday.

Antonio, Andy and John.

Room Tip: p.s. word of advice, DO NOT RENT scooters from BANANA BIKES; they will rip you off anyway they can a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Antoniosensati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are very lucky to have such talented and attentive staff and we do really value their contribution to Anankhira so we love it when others love them to! We aim to please and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I couldn't fault it even if I wanted to! From pickup to drop off at the pier, anankhira made our stay on koh Tao SO wonderful. Stunning rooms, the most attentive service ever and wonderful food- never ate anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Auroradh4450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review. I'm so glad you like the food as this is one of our services that we have recently been concentrating on. We have a new small dining area near reception so guests can enjoy their meals there as well as in their villa if they prefer. Please do come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Undoubtedly, the best place I stayed in Thailand, if not Asia. We were got from the pier on time, greeted by the lovely Kit, and taken to this dreamy place... Entering our villas, we were just overwhelmed by the gorgeous views, made only better by the superb rooms and the private pool (oh that private pool!). We were given phones to call Kit if we needed anything at all, which we felt was a really nice touch and we made ample use thereof, that's for sure. The real highlight was the privacy- you felt you had everything you need at the tip of your fingers, but were totally secluded in tropical paradise. I was so sad to leave on the final day and I can't wait to go back- if anyone's thinking of booking, JUST DO IT! Gorgeous.... Oh! And the food's delicious!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and what a fantastic compliment to be the best place you stayed in Thailand. We do strive to maintain the highest standards at the resort and are continually monitoring our performance by our customer surveys which we ask each guest to complete. I do hope we will be able to offer you a warm welcome again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Anankhira was THE highlight of our holiday- after months traveling around SE Asia, the luxury was ever so welcome! We were promptly picked up from the pier, taken to the beautiful hill-top setting (the views- oh my!), warmly welcomed in by the lovely Kit and it was plane sailing from then on. Everything we wanted, we got it! Delicious home-cooked food, cable TV, loads of DVDs, friendly staff, every activity booked for you- not to mention the fantastic villas themselves, which were clean (not always the case in Thailand) and charming. The private pool made all the difference really and it's worth staying just for that. Basically- loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotteL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
So glad you loved place, we love it too! Sounds like you had a fab time which is of course our main objective. Please do come back and says again seen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anankhira Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anankhira Villas

Property: Anankhira Villas
Address: 15/104 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Anankhira Boutique Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in Balinese-inspired architecture, Anankhira Villa Resort is a short stroll from Sairee Beach. We are an intimate resort with four villas – one two bed and three one bed. Each villa has its own private plunge pool and a stunning sea view. All our bedrooms are ensuite and air-conditioned and also have a fan and a fridge. Every villa also has an outdoor sitting area with TV and lots of DVD’s. We have free Wi-FiThe resort is an 8-minute drive from Mae Haad Pier. We provide a free shuttle service to and from the pier. Free private parking is available on-site.We can provide Thai cuisine and Burmese specialties in your villa or in our bijou dining area. Our price includes all taxes and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Anankhira Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Anankhira Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Anankhira Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing