We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic room, staff, view and pricing!!”
Review of Anankhira Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anankhira Villas
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

we were really pleased with the hotel. when we arrived on the boat they picked us up straight away and brought us up the hills to the hotel. the manager was charming and helpful. the room was very beautiful and relaxing all white. air condition unit worked very well indeed we never felt warm at night!! the manager explained to us that this hotel was designed by a talented thai architect and the private villas are built into hillside around rocks - very lovely indeed! breakfast was fresh fresh fresh! and very tasty. whenever we needed the staff they were always around and did things quickly and quietly. my husband and i could not believe how good the price was for the service received and qualitiy of the room. if you come to this wonderful island of koh tao, stay here!!!!!! we will stay here again on our next trip

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Magda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm so glad you loved the style and look of Anankhira. The architect is a dear friend and a lot of love went in to creating this special place. Do come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 217 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just stay there for 2 days......i could stay there forever. Stunning house, private pool and Great staff, just call, and they arrange everything. Easy booking, and very fair price, i can only say good things about this pearl.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PRINCE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you ever so much for your kind words- we are very happy that you had such a wonderful time. Please do come back whenever you wish!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a find! We were met promptly at the port on arrival and taken the short distance to the enclave of villas. Our villa presented us with fabulous views of the bay and a perfect outside area for enjoying the heat...including a small pool and outside relaxing area. When we wanted to escape the heat the comfortable bedroom was a cool retreat. A short walk to the beach opened up the island to us with boats available for hire to take us to nearby snorkelling beaches , and restaurants situated directly on the beach available for lunch. The management team at Anankhira were first rate and added to the enjoyment by organising an adhoc barbeque for my friends and us, including other guests staying at the villas. I look forward to staying at Anankhira in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alijbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

We’re really pleased that everything was just to your liking at Anankhira! Thanks for your review and remember that you’re always welcome to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We arrived in Ko Tao, and our ride to the villa was not there. We cabbed it to the villa for 200 baht.
Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and shown to our villa, this is where things started going downhill.
For anyone travelling to Koh Tao for the first time, you have to understand that the septic system on the island does not allow for toilet paper to be flushed down the toilet and water pressure is very low.
Back to the villa: a bedroom, an outdoor living area and a semi outdoor bathroom, just as advertised on the website. We were giving a cell phone to use to contact the manager; we later found out that the number programmed in the phone did not work. when we turned on the AC in the bedroom the smell was horrible, since we couldn’t call the manager and no one on the premise spoke english I emailed the manager and to this day I am still waiting for a response.
The menu says the kitchen is open until 20:30, when I went to order at 20:00, I was told that it was too late and i have to let them know in advance. the next day we ordered lunch at 13:00 and was told that they didn’t have the ingredients to make one of the items we wanted. Either you can or you can't but don’t have the menu say something and offer something else.
I had to wash the AC filter, burn incense in the room so that we could sleep without any smells.
For the price of the villa we did not have hot water to shower with. My diving colleagues staying at much cheaper places had hot water.
The people in the office were very accommodating when we were to leave 1 day sooner, they offered to give us 50% off the extra night to be paid by the manager on site.
We had an early ferry off the island (9:00), I informed the manager that we would leave at 8:00 and would like transportation. When I arrived at 7:30 to settle the bill the manager was angry that i had woken her up since we agreed that we were leaving only at 8:00. I guess we were to settled up at 8:00 and leave after that was done. We settled up but the manager did not mention the 50% off as agreed upon. I later had to contact the very nice office people to resolve that.
Now the transportation: I asked the drive to make a 700 m detour to pick up something (yes 700m i was looking at the odometer) and he was not happy. Grumbling on his cell phone for the entire trip. at no time where we told the cost of the trip but given the other reviews on trip advisor i was expecting a surprise and we got one. Driver asked for 400 baht... twice as much as the initial ride up. When i told him he was dreaming he quickly dropped to 200. Either the hotel charges a rate that is advertised and everyone agrees to it or it doesn’t.
Horrible experience in customer service, never again.
on this trip we stayed at 8 different hotels from Chiang Mai to Lombok, this was by far the worse hotel of the trip

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our resort. We are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We would have welcomed the opportunity to have discussed your concerns during your stay with us as our resort manager was onsite and our English office manager was easily contactable by email and is also resident in Koh Tao. Any difficulties you had could have been referred to either party and would have been addressed immediately.

We would now like to take the opportunity to address the points that you have raised in your review as follows:

• The resort manager’s mobile number, programmed into our complimentary mobile phones, is correct, however, mobile phone networks and internet connection can be intermittent on the island due to the weather and small island infrastructure.
• Our air conditioning units are regularly serviced and we have maintenance staff on site to resolve any issues promptly. For health and safety reasons we do ask that guests do not attempt to repair any unit themselves.
• As we are a small resort and offer a simple menu available at the times specified. on the menu. We do request that guests pre-order our speciality dishes and unfortunately we were not able to provide this to you at such short notice. As a result of your comments we will endeavour to make this even clearer so as to avoid disappointment. So thank you for your feedback.
• Our water heaters are regularly maintained. We can have occasional issues when either the water pressure is low and you need to run the water for longer to achieve the desired temperature or the heater needs to sometimes be reset after an electricity outage (common on the island). We do mention this in our guest book, but will make this clearer to our guests following your comments.
• We were very surprised on your negative feedback on our resort manager which was based on the one episode that you mention, as she is well known for her approachability, calmness and helpfulness to which many reviews on this site bear testimony. We have however discussed this incidence with her and can only surmise that there was a misunderstanding of some kind.
• Some of the other things you have raised are unfortunately outside of our control and are an island ‘feature’ - the septic system, the taxis. We acknowledge that the use of public taxis can occasionally be an issue and we will shortly be buying our own courtesy car to remedy the situation. This will mean that a member of staff will be able to collect and return people to the pier and also take them to other locations on the island.

As you stated, you received a courtesy refund as you had to leave early due to the fact that you had incorrectly calculated the time you needed to make your connections. This was refunded directly to you via Paypal on the day that you left. We were under no obligation to do this as we very clearly state that customers must ensure that their travel arrangements are feasible prior to booking.

We welcome constructive feedback and you were sent a customer survey form a week after your stay, as we do with all our guests, which greatly assists with our quality control,.This unfortunately was never returned to us.

Please accept out apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay, we would have welcomed the opportunity to rectify any problems you may have faced. I trust you had a good journey home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent 5 nights here and really enjoyed our visit. Our complimentary taxi was waiting for us at the pier and whisked us away to our own private retreat - the Miltonia Villa. Kit was waiting for us when we arrived and gave us a brief tour of the property and our villa, leaving us a cell phone with her number just in case we needed anything.

Our villa was simple and open with a lovely view of the sea. Whilst we enjoyed the open living area we were happy to have our air-conditioned bedroom to retreat to when the heat became too much! We had no problems with insects or curious creatures during our stay - saw lots of lizards, squirrels and birds but they didn't bother us at all.

The staff were fantastic and looked after us well. The housekeeping staff did a fabulous job of keeping our villa tidy and well stocked whilst managing to never to be seen by us (they had a gift of knowing when we were out, however briefly, and working their magic on our room!). The cooks provided us with delicious breakfast each morning (although we often didn't get what we ordered, the food was all good) and the meals we had delivered to our villa were amazing - so tasty and cheaply priced. The grounds staff were also excellent, tending to our pool daily and keeping the grounds tidy.

The manager Kit took good care of us, arranging a private snorkel tour (we would recommend booking your own tour though, as the private longboat was rather expensive, you do not get a private guide, just a driver and ours spoke limited English. Also, when the weather is rough the boat cannot access a lot of the island. Keep away from the lunch and take your own would be my recommendation. Despite this, we still had a good time and were able to get a fair bit of snorkelling in). When we woke up and saw that the weather was bad we tried messaging Kit on our cell phone to arrange to have our trip delayed until the next day, however we got no reply. Maybe calling would have been better, however it was early. Kit also arranged our ferry tickets back to Koh Samui.

Overall we loved our stay and would recommend Anankhira as a great choice for couples and families.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al_and_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thanks ever so much for your review- we are really pleased that you had a nice time with us. Sorry about the problem with the mobile and boat journey- sometimes the weather can have a bad effect on the signal. Do please come again if you are ever on Koh Tao, we would be really pleased to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 5 nights with the romantic/honeymoon package. Had abit of trouble with the pick up as we had to change our ferry from koh Samui which got in 15minutes later so pick up wasn't there when we arrived and had no way of contacting them had to go into a travel shop and ask them to ring the villas, would suggest another way of organising pick up as sending an email 72 hours before didn't work as plans change as ours did! Otherwise apart from this, when we finally did arrive Kit the manager was there to show us our Leila villa which was beautiful, we had flowers and rose petals everywhere, a fruit bowl and nice toiletries in the bathroom. The view from the pool is just stunning and it is so quiet and peaceful and it's lovely having the squirells, geckos, butterfly's and dragonflys around you it's very much in touch with nature! You are left alone in your villa which gives you plenty of privacy but you have a mobile to contact Kit for anything. 10 min walk to centre, 5 mins to beach. Lots of good places to eat, Barracuda very tasty with the lady boy Caberet show next door! Worth a visit! Ha ha! But food at villa redtaurant is good i had the red snapper it was very spicy but so tasty with garlic and lemongrass stuffed in it, best snapper i have ever had! Recommend diving, Sairee cottage divers good, small and friendly, Thai/Irish owned. Don't recommend getting a scooter! Get a boat around the island more expensive but alot safer with no scams! If you do get a scooter take lots of photos infront of the owners! Overall we loved our lovely Leila villa and 5 days was not enough! Would love to return one day maybe for our actual honeymoon!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lian25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review- we’re so happy you had a nice time. We’re buying our own car to address the ferry problem that you experienced. We do hope that you can come back for your actual honeymoon- we’d be thrilled to have you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Spent 4N here and the experience was a good one. However things didn't start on a good note when we arrived at the pier. The pick up was 15mins late and did not even say a word to us. We figured this was not their staff but just the regular pick up they use as we had the same one sending us off where we were charged THB300. The pick up from pier was free. Check in was a breeze, we were sent directly to our room. We were impressed with the room, but disappointed as the plunge pool was still being cleaned as the previous occupants had dirtied it.

Anankhira is located on top of the hill, about 12mins walk to Sairee town, and 5mins walk through Cabana resort to the beach. Be aware that there are quite a few steps to climb in order to get to Anankhira, so may not be suitable for really old people. We find this a good workout though, esp after eating.

We stayed in Laelia Villa which is the lowest of four villas, not much of the sea view but still the view is amazing! We don't have much problems with mosquitoes inside the room, and outside we used the coils provided. They also had repellent in the room. We did not use the TV, but there were plenty of movies to choose from. Of course being in the open, there were a few geckos but they are not a nuisance, the sound they made was quite nice =) No safe in room, but we kept our valuables with Kit the manager.

Bathroom was nice and very spacious, with rainforest shower and a little open area, it would be great if the shower has a view to the open. Water pressure was really low though. Although they stated that towels are changed every other day, it wasn't done so we had to request for new towels.

Breakfast was huge! However we kept getting the wrong order everyday. This could be due to communication problems as none of the staff speak English except Kit. It was frustrating at times, but all this was solved as we were provided with a mobile phone where we can call Kit. Kit has been helpful with arrangements for our ferry trip, snorkelling as well as one nice dinner date. Just talk to her if you need any suggestions / ideas.

Room Tip: We stayed at Laelia which is at the lowest of the villas, but it has a really nice plunge pool, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank highfever88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Hi! Thanks for your review- we’re pleased that most of your stay with us was good. We’ve taken all your points on board about pick-up, pool and towels and have already started addressing them. For example, you’ll be pleased to hear we’re getting our own car for the ferry transfer so shouldn’t have anymore problems with pick-ups! We do hope you can come back some day and that everything will be just perfect for you- you are always very welcome at Anankhira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
238 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
348 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anankhira Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anankhira Villas

Address: 15/104 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Anankhira Boutique Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $86 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in Balinese-inspired architecture, Anankhira Villa Resort is a short stroll from Sairee Beach. We are an intimate resort with four villas – one two bed and three one bed. Each villa has its own private plunge pool and a stunning sea view. All our bedrooms are ensuite and air-conditioned and also have a fan and a fridge. Every villa also has an outdoor sitting area with TV and lots of DVD’s. We have free Wi-FiThe resort is an 8-minute drive from Mae Haad Pier. We provide a free shuttle service to and from the pier. Free private parking is available on-site.We can provide Thai cuisine and Burmese specialties in your villa or in our bijou dining area. Our price includes all taxes and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anankhira Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Anankhira Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Anankhira Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing