We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice indeed.....”
Review of Anankhira Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anankhira Villas
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Burgenstock, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very nice indeed.....”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

we were there end of November for 3 nights, knowing it's raining season on this side of the Gulf and sure enough, it rained for 2 days. Despite the rain we enjoyed Koh Dao and the Anakhira Resort. The location is quiet, 10 minutes walk to town and about 40 minutes walk to the port. we ate in twice because of the rain, the food in the hotel was simple but good and very reasonable priced. Breakfast was also simple but good, we had the pancakes the first day and fruit plate and cereals for the next 2 days. The rooms is fantastic - rustic but very tastefully done, very comfortable with hot water cooker for tea and coffee, mini bar, flat screen TV with enough channels and DVD players with more then enough disc in the room. The Burmese staff are friendly, helpful and discreet.
The resort is built around rock formations with lots of steps but we had no problems going up and down the steps but with small children or people with health problems it may not be the best.
All in all, we enjoyed the stay very much and would highly recommend the resort for people who want a relaxing, quiet, comfortable stay on Koh Dao in a very natural surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kashie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we are really pleased they had a good time. You are quite right when you say that the resort is not real suitable for people who would have difficulty with the steps. Although the reception can be accessed by bike or taxi via the small road to the side of the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    51
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
22
136
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

What an amazing place! Not the cheapest hotel but you get what you pay for in life.............and this was excellent.

Location is good- well out the way of the noises so sleep is very easy and with a scooter only 3 minutes away from any where. Granted the slope to the hotel is steep but there are steps to access the rooms.

Kitt and all the staff were very helpful from check in to check out. Breakfast menu is small, easy and healthy and food was good in the evening.

You may need to ask the staff to make your beds on a morning as I'm not sure if it's respect for privacy or just the norm. But either way not a massive problem.

There is a mosquito net over the bed (we had) and mosquito candles supplied. Genuinely didn't get bitten whilst asleep, it was every where else on the island, so pack loads of jungle formula repellent and light at least 2 candles before bed.

Plunge pool was a brilliant luxury to have! No problems with colouring or chlorine, just a small leak which drained the pool very slowly but by lunch it was refilled by the efficient maintenance guys.

Booked 4 nights but decided to stay an extra 2 nights and blow off going back to ko samui! That says enough about this place really.

Couldn't say enough positive comments so if you are considering a stay then you will not be disappointed!!!!!!


(One last note is that if you really feel strongly about insects and small wildlife then stay at home! Anywhere in Thailand is subjected to some sort of wildlife in one way or another and this island is no exception. Small infrequent visits from Geckos running around the walls is perfectly acceptable considering the location. They help keep the rooms clearer of Mosquitos.)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Edxtreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thanks for such a lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. Please come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Big thanks to Kit and all the staff for making our holiday perfect.

The villas are lovely and the view on a night over sairee beach are fantastic.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and the Prices are so good.

We will definitely be back to see you all again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarleyB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Manager at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here in May for a couple days. Koh Tao has some amazing beaches and is well worth the visit. But for the amount we paid for our villa you would be better off staying somewhere else. We wanted to stay in nicer places at the end of our trip around Thailand so we had decided to spend some extra in Koh Samui and Koh Tao on our hotels. We read through all the reviews and decided to try this place anyways in hopes that it would really be as lovely as some people have said. We really should have paid attention to the other poorer reviews and realised people were being honest versus being nit picky. The villa is roomy and the bed is comfortable but the cleanliness is not as clean as it should be as there was quite a bit of dust about. We had to wipe down the tv each evening just to see the screen. This dust could be from the nearby construction or the dirt road. Also, the nearby buildings can see straight into the villa we were staying in so there was no privacy (which was a disappointment as we were looking forward to having some privacy). The linens were a little musty which you can sometimes get in tropical places and some were also somewhat worn. The mosquito net needed a good clean as well. The bathroom and closet smelled a bit funny...if they could get more air into these then they probably would be fresher. And in the bathroom the mats need a change as they were a little slimy from staying damp. There are wires nearby the edge of the pool which could be a hazard. To be honest we hardly used the pool because the beaches are so lovely. The staff are really nice and very helpful but unfortunately the room is just not as nice as you would expect for what you are paying. It needs to be done up a little more and some of the "loose ends" finished (i.e. wires hanging down or sticking out in places as well as some of the painting finished). I really wish this place was more like the good reviews versus the negative but unfortunately at this price we were not impressed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topo2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Manager at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I have noted your comments and taken action on all of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have pre-booked Anankhira for 3 nights for middle of our trip. A great decision, although have enjoyed another short stay right on the beach, the quality of this resort was a relief. Starting from a warm personal welcome to gorgeous settings, tastefully designed and well kept villa and friendly helpful staff. Not that we required many additional treats, however any questions or requests we had were fulfilled. One little thing, breakfast options are very limited, which is only an issue as getting to your nearest restaurant or another resort is more than just a walk out of your hut. I would like to see a change in that, but otherwise, i highly recommend this sweet place. Thanks again, Helga

Room Tip: We stayed at Miltonia room which was lovely, really didint need anything different or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Manager at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thanks you for your kind review. I have noted your comment on the breakfast and this is something that we aim to improve upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Nice resort located close to the beach. Good views, good staff, very nice villas (pool, living room and bed). OK value for money.
Best is probably the privacy of the villas and quietness. Worst was breakfast and the three huge geckos living inside the villa with us.
Not paradise but nice for a couple of nights

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poe_soy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Manager at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Sorry about the non paying visitors! Glad this dint affect your stay. Please do come back and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North east england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We recently stayed here as part of our honeymoon, taking up the honeymoon package. It was a fantastic choice.
The villa was stunning,perfectly clean, perfectly sized and had everything we needed. The pool area was great, gorgeous views out to the sea and very private. A fridge was provided with drinks in that were very reasonably priced and also some mosquito repellent spray and candle.
The staff could not be faulted, they were always there when we needed anything,always smiled and made lovely food. we had breakfast every morning and we had an evening meal one night too which was delicious.
They arranged a massage for us and also a manicure.
Quite a few insects and things around, lizards, snake etc but im guessing that you get that everywhere in Thailand.
My only negative is that while it is ideally located, just 5 minutes from beach and 10 minutes from village, getting from the main road to the villa is a bit of a hike in the heat. Lots of steps. So anyone who has walking difficulties might want to think again.
All in all we hada wonderful week!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daniellarella13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Manager at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thanks for a great review. we only introduced our Honeymoon Package last year so it's always good to know what our customers think. Congratulations on your marriage and please do come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,214 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,437 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anankhira Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anankhira Villas

Property: Anankhira Villas
Address: 15/104 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Anankhira Boutique Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in Balinese-inspired architecture, Anankhira Villa Resort is a short stroll from Sairee Beach. We are an intimate resort with four villas – one two bed and three one bed. Each villa has its own private plunge pool and a stunning sea view. All our bedrooms are ensuite and air-conditioned and also have a fan and a fridge. Every villa also has an outdoor sitting area with TV and lots of DVD’s. We have free Wi-FiThe resort is an 8-minute drive from Mae Haad Pier. We provide a free shuttle service to and from the pier. Free private parking is available on-site.We can provide Thai cuisine and Burmese specialties in your villa or in our bijou dining area. Our price includes all taxes and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Anankhira Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Anankhira Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Anankhira Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing