We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koh Tao Central Hostel
Ranked #6 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights. It's fully booked even it's on a low season. Good location. Just 1-2 mins away from the pier (Mae Haad). Comfy bulk bed. Quite private since they got a thin wall seperating each bulk bed. Friendly and helpful staffs. Yes! Very helpful!! The only cons is that it's kinda hot in the room since they got just 2 air-cons pointing to the walkway so there is probably nobody got enough cool from it. I had to turn my head to the opposite side on the bed to have my head cool while some guest decided to sleep naked (no kidding).

They got warm water in the bathroom. No hair dryer. No laundry (it's forbidden to do any laundry in the hostel as well). No staff overnight. No common room (but u can use the bar oppositing to the hostel as a common room and got 10% DC on your orders).
In conclusion, i do recommend this hostel and will stay here again on my next visit.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank tipthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    58
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
26
84
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I loved this place I was going through a stage of missing England so this is just what I needed to get me back in the mood for Thailand, the layout of the hostel was based on the London underground which I thought was brilliant. The staff were very helpful and friendly and even though I lost my key unlike other hostels who have charged me a fortune they just wanted enough to cover the key cut cost which was really nice, It's great that you get 10% discount of many shops and bars in the area, Also a big thanks to Kya that worked at the reef bar opposite very helpful and a great help to get me to make new friends:) ***** fully recommend this place will definitely be returning thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

The staff are very friendly and we has to change our plans and they gave us a full refund in the nights we had already paid for. The hostel is in the heart of the town near restaurants and shops. The good beach is about 15 minutes away but it's a nice walk. If you like to socialise and you are a backpacker then this is the place for you. The rooms were fine with a separating wall between each bunk beds, there is also a safe but you need a padlock

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steviekerr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laos
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I moved from GTA to central, mainly due to to renovations at GTA all day & increased costs closer to full moon party instead of keeping rates the same due to the inconvenience. Central hostel was a good move & kept the rates low. Ralf, the owner/manager was beyond helpful, friendly & a real welcome. I stayed in the top dorm at Central, bigger, & obvious notices to request guests to respect others after 10pm was a good touch. Its a mere 10min walk to Sairee beach, if you cant walk that you shouldn't be traveling. Besides, you'll get over compared to the raucous after 2am if you weren't out late.
As a precaution, Ralf sells earplugs but I didnt need mine at Central. He gave some good tips on hiking routes, & my ownward travels to Vietnam & even bought me a beer while I was waiting for the night boat. This is a good operation. Rooms have lockers but use your own lock. There are cctv cameras in the hostel too. Thanks Ralf, great host & I would choose to stay here again. Also thanks for the Top Gear Vietnam special you let me watch on the computer. A good end to my Ko Tao trip.


  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TotallyBodacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This hostel is located very conveniently, a few minutes from the pier, close to some nice (breakfast) restaurants and a 10-minutes walk from Sairee beach. Accommodation is clean (toilets could have been better, but as they clean it very often it is mainly due to the other guests staying in the hostel). However, what I enjoyed most is the staff. They were really kind and willing to help me out and give all possible information. The hostel is simple, but has a great price-quality ratio, and is according me the best budget place to stay in Koh Tao!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuffV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

When i checked in the Dutch guy at reception was very friendly, he explained everything i needed to know and showed me to the dorm and the facilities. This Hostel is not a typical hostel though..it's basically 2 ac dorms with a big bathrooms area. There s a bar 5 m away that is used as common area..if people stay at the hostel they get 10% discount. Initially i thought it wasn't great but i met some friendly people in the dorm and it's not impossible to get together and go out. At reception there s also a travel agency where it's possible to book tours and transportation. The English lad at the desk does well his job but won't get as friendly as the other guy.
The dorm...it's fairly big with good mattresses, reading light and personal locker(u ll have to bring your own lock). There r 2 ac units and although it can get a bit chilly in the night, they keep a nice temperature when the place is full.
An other good thing of this hostel is that it's close to the pier, to bars, restaurants, shops...
thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milkwasabadchoice19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba
Level Contributor
472 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Llegué a este hostel porque perdí mi barco de regreso a Koh Panghan y la verdad que la atención fue muy buena, Me gustaron las instalaciones que bien son básicas están bien distribuidas. No te dan desayuno pero te dan descuentos para distintos negocios de ahí donde también puedes desayunar. Recomendable además por que tiene buen precio.

I arrived at this hostel because I lost my boat back to Koh Panghan and truth that attention was very good, I liked the facilities ,that are well basic, well distributed. Do not get breakfast but you get discounts for various businesses where you can enjoy breakfast. Also recommended that a good price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlasCba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.7 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Summer Guesthouse and Hostel
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Loft Hostel
Koh Tao Loft Hostel
#26 of 139 in Koh Tao
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Dearly Koh Tao Hostel
The Dearly Koh Tao Hostel
#4 of 139 in Koh Tao
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel '69 Koh Tao
Hostel '69 Koh Tao
#21 of 139 in Koh Tao
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Central Hostel

Property: Koh Tao Central Hostel
Address: 9/20 Moo 2 | Mae Haad, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Central Hostel is centrally located in Mae Haad just 50 meters from the beach and piers and 10 minutes’ walk from Sairee Beach. NO TAXI NEEDED FROM THE PIERS! We offer: -24 hour air-conditioning -Hot showers -Wi-Fi -Island discounts, (in bars/restaurants/shops/massage/tattoo/activities) -Western staff -Partition walls between each bed are designed for your privacy and comfort. -Each bed is equipped with a reading light and socket for charging phones/ laptops etc. -Secure lockable lockers are provided for personal belongings, with 24hour CCTV security. Note: there is no indoor common area. We have two balconies and an outside deck with cushions. Across the street there is the Reef bar with pool table, free board games, and travel library. And a 10% discount for hostel customers. 24 hour auto-switching/stabalizing power supply in the hostel is providing the most reliable power available on the island. Central Hostel reception and service inside Island Travel right next to the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Koh Tao Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing