We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koh Tao Central Hostel
Ranked #10 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great hostel with great staff. Very modern and well done. The hostel is right next to the pier . And about 20 minutes walk to the main beach . I think if I were to stay in ko Tao again I would probably stay on the main beach sairee as walking back at night was quite dark etc . And the beach isn't that hectic at night unlike the other islands . Although I did love staying here at this hostel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Kellyjeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 211 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Would recommend this hostel to everyone! Very clean, great beds, warm showers and the staff is so friendly!
Even though there is no common area it is a social hostel. Just have a beer at the little hangout spot outside of the hostel and you'll meet heaps of people.
Drinks and food at the reef bar is cheap because of the discount...!
Long story short, stay here and you'll have a great time at Koh Tao!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Marleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The concept for this hostel is a really good one. One of the best aspects is the dividers between the (very large) beds which offers some really good privacy. The staff were really welcoming on arrival and at one point I even heard them offering to look after some bags of a couple of people who weren't even staying there but wanted to explore the island for the day.
The free WiFi is excellent.
The pictures here represent the best rooms in the hostel i would guess. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm on the main floor just inside the door. There is no window in this room and the only lighting is small blue lights by each bed. Given the great value in terms of price per night I won't be too picky about this but if you're staying here for more than one night try and get a room with a window if possible.
The Reef bar across the road didn't really fit the bill of a "common area" when we were there but that could be reflective of timing , even though the hostel was full. It is also an expensive place to have a few beers relative to the rest of the island and closes at 11pm!
The other negative I have is the constant smell of damp that seemed to linger on the ground floor, almost like a dirty mop?
There are some fantastic restaurants close to the hostel. 2 Thai restaurants (baan Thai and Nana) are great choices for dinner. The Taco shack is definitely worth a visit.
All in all, the beds are great, it's a cheap option to stay,the WiFi is excellent and there are quality restaurants nearby. Proximity to the pier (2-3 mins walk) is an added bonus after jumping off the ferry.
But the smell of damp and the lack of natural light in our room is what would prevent me from giving this a 4/5.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AnnaON1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

mint hostel & dividers between the beds which is unusual for a hostel but good to have. Such a good location & one of the Dutch owners is hilarious, all the staff were really helpful and friendly. Having constant air conditioning was a god send too

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant place, clean and comfy. Everything brand new.
Very friendly people and owner very very helpfully, let us hang around til our boat off the island and offered the use of the showers even after check out. to the only place to stay in tao :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbowman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Friendly staff, they help you with everything. There is a bar across the street were you can hang out with your fellow backpackers and you get a discount on all the food and drinks. Good showers and nice and clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daan55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Hostel is ideally located close to all kinds of restaurants, bars, diving & regular shops. While it's rather quiet around the hostel at night (excellent for sleeping), it is only a short walk away to the party zone. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Renting motor bikes, planning trips, storing luggage, visa extensions, diving trips, ... you just have to ask. The excellent Reef bar on the opposite side of the street serves as common area. A truly great and safe experience!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSmekels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1 mi away
The Dearly Koh Tao Hostel
The Dearly Koh Tao Hostel
#1 of 148 in Koh Tao
82 reviews
1.1 mi away
Summer Guesthouse and Hostel
0.3 mi away
Hostel '69 Koh Tao
Hostel '69 Koh Tao
#24 of 148 in Koh Tao
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Jail at Koh Tao Hostel
1.1 mi away
Indie Hostel
Indie Hostel
#19 of 148 in Koh Tao
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Loft Hostel
Koh Tao Loft Hostel
#31 of 148 in Koh Tao
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Central Hostel

Address: 9/20 Moo 2 | Mae Haad, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: $10 - $10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Central Hostel is centrally located in Mae Haad just 50 meters from the beach and piers and 10 minutes’ walk from Sairee Beach. NO TAXI NEEDED FROM THE PIERS! We offer: -24 hour air-conditioning -Hot showers -Wi-Fi -Island discounts, (in bars/restaurants/shops/massage/tattoo/activities) -Western staff -Partition walls between each bed are designed for your privacy and comfort. -Each bed is equipped with a reading light and socket for charging phones/ laptops etc. -Secure lockable lockers are provided for personal belongings, with 24hour CCTV security. Note: there is no indoor common area. We have two balconies and an outside deck with cushions. Across the street there is the Reef bar with pool table, free board games, and travel library. And a 10% discount for hostel customers. 24 hour auto-switching/stabalizing power supply in the hostel is providing the most reliable power available on the island. Central Hostel reception and service inside Island Travel right next to the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Koh Tao Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing