We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Koh Tao Grand Coral. For Divers aged 20 - 30 Not Families !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Koh Tao Grand Coral. For Divers aged 20 - 30 Not Families !!”
Reviewed March 30, 2007

Travelling as a family of 5 Mum, Dad, 2 kids aged 3 & 6 and Grandma.
We are Travelling around the world with the kids and met up with Grandma in Thailand.
We paid over 9500bht for our Captain suite with an extra childrens rollaway bed.

3% is added to all bills paid by visa/mastercard at grand coral
(That sort of thing irritates me... why not just show the price as it is !!
who the heck is going to be wandering round Koh Tao with 65000bhts cash in their pocket)
You need to pay for your entire stay up front !! that's to stop you leaving after the first night !!
The room consisted of two smallish airconditioned rooms each with a non aircon ensuite bathroom.
The bathrooms were sort of open to the elements and yet not open ( holes in the wall for insects,cockroaches, mozzies, gekkos etc. to get in and a hole in the roof which let the rain in down the bathroom wall. ( on the one occasion that it rained ) Holes in the drains too to let god knows what in. A loose tap on the sink etc . etc.
There was a price list on the wall which showed
the price of everything in the room
( including plastic coat hangers at 20 bht )should you decide to steal it !!!!
They also turn off the power from 5 - 5:30pm every day.
After 4 days I had to go to reception to ask them to change the sheets for the first time.
Remember we were paying over 9500bht per night for this place. ( about 150 quid or about 300 us dollars)
The Restaurant:
For Dinner this place is useless, serving only the same dishes as for lunch. No atmosphere, no tablecloths no music just a tv to keep the waiters occupied. No efort made to attract hotel guests,
in fact if they could get away with closing at 9:30pm then they would.
The attitude of some of the waiters left something to be desired.

This is not a family hotel in my opinion. Nor in my opinion is Koh Tao a Family destination. For the price we paid we could have had a really fantastic hotel pretty much anywhere in the world.
For all you guys that were in Koh tao 10 or 15 years ago and now want to bring the family here to show them how fantastic this quiet island isn't, then please think again. The beach area is full of techno bars and stray dogs one of which I understand bit a young girl while we were there (that means 5 trips to hospital for injections against Rabies)
( the 20 - 30 age group love it, and I can see why, it's like a permanent music festival atmosphere.)
There are a couple of very good restaurants away from the Hotel, on the back streets ( Potobello and Papas Tapas )
unfortunately neither of which are Thai restaurants, they can be accessed from the beach after crossing the stinking sewer area.

On the positive side
Breakfast was good, with a bit of everything for everyone. they also served a good selection of Lunchtime dishes.
We were met at the ferry by friendly staff and taken to the hotel, which was nice as getting off the Samui Cat-Ferry was bit Hectic.
If you like Diving then the dive operation here is very good. I had an excellent American dive instructor (Daniel).
Also did a couple of dives with Mike from Wales who was very good too. The dive boat was also very good and quick
which means you get to the dive site first in the morning.
Some of the dive equipment seems to be getting a bit old and tired now and despite being well looked after, some of it could do with being replaced.

Hope this is of some use to any families considering going to Koh Tao

  • Liked — Diving
  • Disliked — Staff attitude and very poor value for money
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Darwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    122
    90
    78
    75
See reviews for
52
174
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2007

We spent 10 blissful days and nights at the Coral Grand on a non-diving holiday. We were picked up at the port by the hotel staff, who were friendly and helpful throughout. Our hut (deluxe poolside) was excellent - it was clean (and cleaned everyday), the bed was huge and comfortable, the AC very cooling and the view of the pool and beach a delight! Just 70 paces from our balcony was a fabulous stretch of Sairee Beach. The water was crystal blue, clear and warm, and the sunsets stunning! The beach and pool facilities were excellent (clean beach towels, comfortable sunbeds, much needed large sun umbrellas and a great little thai massage deck in the shade), and the beachside restaurant and bar were of a good value and standard. The location at the north end of the beach was quiet and convenient for all of the other bars and restaurants along Sairee Beach. All in all and excellent place to stay and chill out in the sunshine!!

  • Liked — Closeness to the beach
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank QueenB1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2006

After travelling in Thailand for 2 weeks, the Coral Resort in Ko Tao was by far the best and cheapest place that we stayed. It has fantastic views of the bay, nice huts (with the odd lizard and cockroach), great snorkelling and a plethora of beautiful tropical fish to swim amongst. I recommend you pay a bit extra and upgrade to a better hut, as some have problems with nocturnal creatures coming in! It only cost us $24 NZ per night. The food is mediocre.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Eco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2006

Our intent on Koh Tao was to go diving and have a luxury beach holiday which we could afford. By booking a diving course, we got a 45% reduction on cottage room rates. And we loved our little cottage away from the pool & beach (since both were a short walking distance, we didn't see the need to pay more for a beach view), although some would say the cottages were too cramped together. But once inside, I felt cozy.
We were not disappointed. The quality of instruction was top, diving was excellent & fun, and at 2800 Baht a night, we enjoyed our comfy queen-sized bed and blended-with-nature bathroom.
The "Happy Snapper "restaurant offered a good mix of western and Thai cuisine at fair prices. The breakfest buffet gave you all you could want.
Being on the west side, we watched the sun set every evening. The short 5-minute walk into town (Sairee) was a bit dangerous since lighting on the road was practically non-existant, but we had our flashlights with us.
Highly recommended for those who want luxury, but not at too high a price. There was a free transfer from the pier.

  • Liked — Private cottage
  • Disliked — Cottages too cramped, sometirator (away from accomodations) was as loud as a mes people got lost and went to the wrong room. Genestarting airplane.
  • Tips/Secrets — Go diving to save on costs.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ellejay00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2006

Myself and my husband stayed here for 5 nights in September. We are 49 and 50 and we signed up for the Open Water Dive Course. I can't say enough about this place in admiration, the whole experience was fantastic. Our dive instructor Vic is one of the best instructors in the dive centre I reckon, he is a great teacher and extremely patient. I nearly gave up and with his encouragement and the encouragement of all the dive instructors I gave it another go and succeeded. The boat and equipment is very good, the dive shop itself is very well run and very professional. We stayed in one of the superior cottages and found it so peaceful and pleasant. Yeh, it's not 5 star but you are so much next to nature and it's clean and inviting. We had a little balcony ouside which the hotel's dog "Freddie" used to visit - she's gorgeous! The restaurant on the beach is where we had breakfast every morning and was good. The staff were friendly and helpful and all in all they couldn't do enough for us. We discovered that the terracotta bowl at the foot of the steps which is filled with water is to rinse your feet of sand before you go inside your room. One day we came back to find a beautifully prepared plate of fresh fruit, compliments of the hotel. If you are looking for a real holiday, away from the haggling, genuine fake designer goods and hustle and bustle go to Koh Tao. The Tong Tai restaurant is good, food delicious and cheap. Make sure you are in Ko Samui ferry port before 12 pm as that is the last ferry departure to Koh Tao, we missed it on our first day and had to stay one night in Ko Samui which was as described above, a highly overrated resort, overrun with everything you dread!!

  • Liked — The peaceful nature, location, friendliness.
  • Disliked — Having to leave!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Check your ferry times.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruciebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2006

Stayed 5 nights in pirates poolside cottage. I think Quaint best describes these cottages which are fairly small, basic but clean. The Ensuite bathrooms, accessed down a few steep steps are ok but the bath is a wooden barrel and the showers are weak. The beachfront restaurant is fine with friendly staff, reception staff pleasant although we were charged 300tb (£5) for a hand towel which got stained.
The beach is lovely, soft white sands, and plenty of eateries. Especially recommend the Suethip for a good cheap meal (under £10 for 4 people including appetisers and drinks) and the Thipimarn for a more exclusive setting high up on the cliffs.
The dive school is excellent. Our Australian dive master Paul was friendly, efficient and great with the kids. We all earned our PADI open water qualifications in 3 days.
Koh Tao itself is really only suitable for those interested in Diving or backpackers, as there is not much else to do on the Island.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2006

Everyone in Thailand was so nice, except for the management of this resort - wow they were just rude! The dive operation is what we went there for though and it was well run with good equipment and nice competent people. The restaurant is terrible and even though it was included we couldn't eat there. The accomodations were okay, we stayed in a bungalow with an outdoor bathroom. It was small but clean and in good shape. They have a huge diesel genertator for the resort that runs 23/7 (down for 1 hour a day) and it's pretty noisy. Close to Sairee Village which is much cooler and more fun than Mae Haed. After we saw Thipwimarn up the road we were crushed we didn't stay there but ate at their restaurant (best we had in Thailand). Stay somewhere else but use their dive operation.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLSQUIRREL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#30 of 49 in Koh Tao
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#42 of 49 in Koh Tao
494 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort

Property: Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Address: 15/4 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Coral Grand Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing