We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avid Diver” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avid Diver”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2006

Everyone in Thailand was so nice, except for the management of this resort - wow they were just rude! The dive operation is what we went there for though and it was well run with good equipment and nice competent people. The restaurant is terrible and even though it was included we couldn't eat there. The accomodations were okay, we stayed in a bungalow with an outdoor bathroom. It was small but clean and in good shape. They have a huge diesel genertator for the resort that runs 23/7 (down for 1 hour a day) and it's pretty noisy. Close to Sairee Village which is much cooler and more fun than Mae Haed. After we saw Thipwimarn up the road we were crushed we didn't stay there but ate at their restaurant (best we had in Thailand). Stay somewhere else but use their dive operation.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLSQUIRREL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    116
    81
    72
    72
See reviews for
45
164
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2006

Okay - if you're after the whole luxury hotel experience - give this place a miss. In fact, if that's what you're after, give Koh Tao a miss and head for Koh Samui.

If however, the location is more important than the accomodadtion - this is the place for you. The beaches are stunning and quiet during the day (most people are out diving), the island has still retianed the charm it had 8 years ago and avoided the sanitation of Samui and the people are as helpful and charming as you'd expect. The resort itself is in an excellent location on a quiet part of the beach, the huts are clean and have all you really need. The whole point of coming to Koh Tao is that you spend your time outside! With regards to the cost, next door at Koh Tao Cabana is cheaper and really nice but there's not that much in it. We had the Deluxe Pirate Cottage on the beach which was brilliant and cost less than a Travel Inn in the UK.

My only real problem was the music in the restaurant. Unless you have a passion for Chicago and Foreigner this will get on your nerves.

Yes it is a little more expensive than the likes of Samui but then it's more remote so it's going to be.

Finally, never listen to the opinions of anyone who complains about the quality of the internet connectiont! Priorities??!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante (Spain)
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2006

Dirty beach and really no fishes. Too many mosquitos, is impossible to stay outside after sunset. Bad restaurant, pool usefull just for Dive Courses.

Only the vie center is good, the price is to high for the quality of the resort.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DiegoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

los angeles, california
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2006

This was one of the worst resorts I have ever stayed in, in my life. I have traveled all over the world, and rarely have I seen such deplorable service, and such a non-chalant attitude on the part of the staff. I think this attitude seems to pervade Ko Tao, but the Coral Grand was the worst I have experienced. A request for a towel in the room (which were not provided), took several hours. The equipment for the internet was several years old, and the mouses and keyboards hardly functioned, at all. The rooms were bordering on shabby. Though we were told they would hold a room for us, on the phone, when we arrived, we had to fight to get a room, which they seemed unwilling to give us. The service at the restaurant was the same. It took forever to get someone's attention. This kind of thing is rare in Thailand, so it stands out. We paid around 4,000 bt./night, so you would expect more. It felt as though the staff just did not care. The rooms were OK, but not at all what one would expect for that kind of money.
Strong Points:
The only decent part of the hotel was the dive operation. They were courteous, pleasant, and knew what they were doing.
Weak Points:
As stated above. Very poor value for the money

Helpful?
5 Thank mark0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2006

Located on one of the nicest beaches in Sairee Beach. Super friendly staff. Great food at restaurant. Great dive staff. I stayed in one of the smaller sailor cottages which was still huge with AC, balcony, and satellite TV and literally 30 meters from the beach.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScubaNYC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2005

We stayed at the coral grand for 12 days. We earned our Open Water Scuba certification and ended up staying to get our Advanced Certification because we didn't want to leave. Great pool. Nice clean rooms at 2 price levels. Amazing beach right there. Friendly staff. And, after diving at night you can walk down the beach to other bars (not that I would drink after diving) and restaurants. There are cheaper places to stay but what are you saving, $7.00 U.S. a day? Skip a McDonald's meal when you get home and enjoy paradise!!!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2005

I didn't actually stay in the Coral Grand Resort but used their facilities whilst diving with them.

The diving school is very good, the boat appears to be one of the best ones out there and all the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful.

You don't need to book in advance, just turn up and sign up the day before. Due to some poor weather the visibility wasn't very good but some of the dive sights look very nice despite this.

The resort itself is not as posh as it tries to make out on its web site. The pool is very small and mostly in use for diving training / snorkelling training. Also, on Koh Tao there is little need for a pool as the sea is so close and so warm (30 degrees C!)

The restaurant is quite nice but basic and the toilet facilities are really rubbish. No toilet seat, not very clean, no soap, no toilet paper and the kind of loos you flush with a bucket of water (so everything is drenched).

Looks very posh but don't let it con you, its quite basic. However the Dive School is very good. Suggest you book somewhere else (I stayed at Koh Tao Cabana - very nice very similar price 2 mins walk) and dive with them.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank heieup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#28 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#42 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Saireehut Resort
Saireehut Resort
#88 of 135 in Koh Tao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort

Property: Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Address: 15/4 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Coral Grand Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing