We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place To Stay For Dive Course”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed here six nights to do our PADI Open Water dive course. Got a great deal (8900 baht) at Lamphu House in Bangkok that included: bus/boat from Bangkok, four nights accommodation and the Open Water course. Great deal! The resort is clean and well-maintained with a great deck by the ocean/beach, strong wifi, lockers, a pool and leafy grounds. It's a bit outside of the main village making it nice and tranquil. The restaurant is overpriced and the breakfast is horrible so buy food the night before if you have an early morning dive. The dinner is pretty good. The included accommodation (fan room) was perfectly adequate -- clean, quiet, spacious, deck and right on the property making it super easy to make your classes. The housekeeping is great, always come at 10am to bring fresh paper, towels and tidy up. The staff at the resort is super-friendly and accommodating. We stayed two more nights at 800 baht a night for a fan room which I think is a bit overpriced for what it is but at least you get access to the pool. Recommended, especially if you do a dive course (see my review for that too. The staff is amazing and the course was really comprehensive).

Room Tip: The standard fan rooms are adequate but you might want to upgrade to the newer ones if you're no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 448 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here for 5nights, when we first arrived we were taken to our room which had no a/c and was crawling with lizards, Mosquitos and spiders! It was dark and in very bad condition! We then spoke to the extremely rude reception staff and ended up paying for an upgrade to a standard room with air con, although better still a dirty room. The location of this place is amazing on one of the most beautiful beaches on the island to be honest that's the only thing good about this place. The staff were so rude both in the reception and restaurant, the restaurants food was over priced and terrible! The dive centre looked good although the staff tended not to want to know you if you weren't diving. It's a real shame this place could be amazing if co pleated changed around.

Room Tip: You must have a/c for the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnlockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you are diving the price is right, and the atmosphere is great, but for non divers 800 bahts for a small fan room with cold shower and not on the beach is expensive, you can find better rooms on the beach for less.
The resturant is expensive, WiFi signal is weak.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yannai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

A good diving center. Nice breakfast buffet but a poor reastaurant. Better to eat somewhere else. The room have no space, no light and a very bad A/C. The stuf is not helpfool. The location is great, best beach in town.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank sharonperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We rated on the diving experience and the crew related to the dive center, cause it was for that sake we came!
One of us took the open water course, while the other just fun dived. The open water course was brilliant mainly due to the lovely instructor, Baas! Every dive master that we met during fun dives we're top notch and the boat crew is a great pack of guys who pranks and know their stuff. Everybody was helpful and seemed to enjoy their work!

However the restaurant inside the resort was a huge disappointment, expensive, bad staff and attitude. The bright side is, that Sairee Village is a 5-minute walk away full of cheap restaurants.

The rooms needs renovation, but we didn't spend our time inside the room, but by the pool, in the crystal blue ocean during a brilliant dive (amazing underwater), or inside the resort chatting with other people.

We do not understand the negativeness towards rooms and staff, because this is a place for DIVING, quit staying in the air conditioned room, go diving instead!

Happy days and smiles

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Marie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for four nights, wish we could have stayed longer! Beautiful location right on the beach, friendly staff, very cool bathroom and amaaaazing buffet breakfast (included in the room price)! Rooms were cleaned early every morning. Really liked the style of the "sailor cottages", they were a little old fashioned but that added to the charm in my opinion!
Located on the quieter end of the beach but only a 10 minute walk to all the bars and restaurant, would definitely recommend if you want the best of both worlds on Koh Tao :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatrionaD_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Let me start by saying this review in no way describes the dive school, which was fantastic.

I am a budget traveler to be sure so it is rare I negatively comment on a hotel. I stayed here while diving for five days. The food was good but a little expensive. The staff was friendly, but very very casual with service. The main lodge was actually great to stay up and read at, well lighted late into the night. The worst part of really hotel was the room cleanliness. The cleaners come one a day, a crew of three...but for example one day I woke up and had a dead centipede in my shower..no problem, I'm in Thailand...I left and went diving for a few hours...when I returned, the room had been "cleaned" aka my bed had been made, but there was still a giant centipede right in the middle of the shower. It would have been impossible to miss.

So the location, and main facilities are great, cost is a tad pricey unless you're diving, staff is friendly, but budget rooms are not cleaned well at all. I would honesty rather they had just given me a dustpan and broom to clean it all myself.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#12 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,301 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#3 of 50 in Koh Tao
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
548 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#22 of 50 in Koh Tao
519 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort

Address: 15/4 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $58 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Coral Grand Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing