We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Nearby Hotels
$68
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
$131
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$49
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$66
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$45
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$96
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aminjirah Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveler rating
78
134
93
82
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
134
93
82
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssairee beachopen water scuba certificationeggs to orderdiving courseprofessional divinggreat location on the beachbeach frontnice poolsnorkeling tripshower roomopen water coursenice resortbreakfast was includedfree accommodationcold showerquiet at nightnight life
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 468 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at this resort in the 'standard' room, which works out around 50 quid a night. It isn't worth that in any way whatsoever. The sheets are marked with god knows what, bugs can be an issue, the shower is shocking which has a mere output of a trickle. No DVD, noisy outside in the early mornings, WIFI is powered by coal during the day and if you want to organised diving the divers reception refer you to the main reception and the main reception refer you to the divers reception.

It's a shame because even the standard bungalow has so much potential and if the management actually invested a little money into this resort to make it actually worth 50 quid a night the resort would become fantastic.

At the moment just avoid this place until they have sorted out these problems.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed in the dorm room which was very spacious, had good size lockers to fit all of your stuff in, curtains around the bed and well-working aircon. Only moan would be that they could do with cleaning the shared showers and toilets more than once a day. Plenty of sunloungers on the beach. Good salads on offer. Really good set-up for the diving with great staff. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My partner and I have been travelling around Thailand for the last month. We did not have a place to stay in Koh Tao, so decided to stay at Coral Grand Resort as we did not want to carry our packs anymore. What a joke! $2000 baht a night, for the lowest of low suite ( if you could call it a suite) dark , dirty, depressing room with no safe box, no fridge, blood stained sheets , and red ants everywhere!! Kleenex was stuffed in the outside bathroom walls , I guess to keep bugs out? Thank god for the can of raid we had. We slept that night on our beach towels. We did get breakfast in the morning, which was the usual bland buffet style, but we didn't even get that! Everything was pretty much gone and no new , fresh food was coming out. We asked about an upgrade as we seen nicer rooms by the pool available, they said no that they were occupied. They were not. Would not recommend this place, especially for $2000 baht. Oh and thats a low season price the manager said. Usually the room is 2700 baht! Maybe this place would be good if you wanted to do your diving ticket, they seem to cater more to that.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mashbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I did our Open Water course at Coral Grand. When we started the course, we were staying at the hotel next door, but moved over to stay at Coral Grand about halfway through. You get 4 nights of basic fan-room accommodation for free with the Open Water diver course, and the resort staff were super flexible with the dates we stayed. They were also really nice and gave us a free upgrade to the aircon room, as it was our honeymoon.

That being said, the room is very basic. It's a bed, a cupboard and a bathroom (I think there was a TV, but we never used it), and that's about it. Lighting is poor, the bathroom is the bare minimum and I don't think the room was cleaned every day. However, we never had cockroaches or rats, like another reviewer stated.

The thing that made this resort good was the superb diving and friendly staff. Their boats are the first ones out every morning, which means you are the first in the water without a million other divers around you. This makes a huge difference if you want to see some amazing under water creatures.

Overall, go here for great diving, but don't expect too much from the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sm0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The resort is beautiful, but don't be deceived. First night, we had giant, flying cockroaches ALL over our bathroom. The front reception closes at 10PM, so we had to live with it for the night. We moved rooms the second night, only to find a giant rat (which happened to be very loud) in our washroom at night. Again, reception was closed so we had to try to sleep through the night. When we told the front desk, the gentleman working was extremely apologetic but said we had to wait to speak to the manager. When we did, she was beyond unsympathetic and asked us what we expected as we are on an island. She then said that she wouldn't do anything because the hotel shows all guests the rooms before we agree to rent it. As if the cockroaches and rats were on display the whole time and we still agreed to take the room. She refused to give us any sort of discount at all, not even a free meal or anything. Her attitude throughout the entire encounter was very rude and disrespectful. We stayed in hostels, hotels and resorts all over Asia for the previous month and while yes, there were at times bugs, never anything like this. It was horrifying. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LD V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews