We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort. Great food, helpful staff. Wonderful beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice resort. Great food, helpful staff. Wonderful beach.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a bungalow. Nice resort. We were picked up by a complimentary shuttle at the ferry terminal coming from Koh Samui, but I recommend calling ahead to tell them what ferry you will be on so that you are sure they are there to meet you with the sign. Koh Tao is an amazing little island. So quaint and beautiful. The hotel was nice with many bungalows. Ours was large, clean and comfortable within a 1 minute walk to the beach and beachfront restaurant and dive center. The only complaint we had about the room was that the bathroom was a little odd. It appears to have been added on to the bungalow after the thing was built and was all finished in concrete. Very spacious though. We left the door closed between the bathroom and the main bungalow as it was very hot and humid in the bathroom and there was a large cockroach in there along with a centipede which was a little off-putting but hey, you are in a bungalow by the beach on a tropical island so this can't be avoided. The food was wonderful at the beachfront restaurant and very affordable. They also have a great Thai massage set up on the beach steps from the water. An hour long massage was 300 Baht. I recommend taking a long tail boat to the nearby island just around the corner from this bay for a day trip. Really beautiful. You can also easily walk from the resort into the town along the country road or along the beach. Go check out the beach lounge "Fizz" about a 10 minute walk away from the resort. Also there is a very nice little Thai restaurant called Tik that served amazing food in the village also (hang a left at the 7-11) Although the price was fairly high for this resort, it was a very enjoyable stay and a decent value. You are on a quiet part of the beach near the end but close enough to the party if you want it. Staff is very nice which is a big plus.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    122
    90
    77
    75
See reviews for
52
174
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

The room we had was basic and only had a fan, but it was clean and comfortable. Amazing pool If you don't want to sit on the beach. The food in the restaurant was much cheaper than anywhere else we ate on the island and prob the nicest. Good location along the beach, it's not too far to walk to the pubs but far enough not to hear the music when you want to sleep!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjw05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This resort has some positives features. Such as, the pool, the grounds, the beach front, the room. Nice longing chairs at pool and beach front. Also, a nice dive company ( coral grand diving) is located right there. Also, a 5 min walk into town, but very quiet at resort.
However, there were negatives as well. No WiFi in the room, amd a dodgy connection near the router. The breakfast was passable, but we never saw anyone eating a man meal there even though the dining room was hugh. The bathroom in the room was quite poor. A bad 3 step "staircase" leading down, the shower head had no pressure, no place near the sink to put stuff.
We were only there for 2 nights, they did not clean our room on the second day but did after i told them.
If we were to go back, we might stay there again because of the positive features.

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach have no WiFi or water pressure. Also, don't mix up the free water and wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bqg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great for diving - the rooms weren't amazing but we went back a second time and out second dive room was a lot better than our first, so it seems to be luck of the draw.

The food there isn't great but the beach staff are really friendly and its great to have a quiet pool and beach area

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were travelling as 3 girls and this was our first trip to koh Tao. We stayed in one of the dorm rooms that sleeps 8 people. We were very impressed! rooms were very clean, towels were provided for the room and for the beach. We thought the staff at the front desk were helpful however, 2 days before we went to leave we went to the frontbdesk to book a boat back to koh Samui only to be told that were only 2 companies to use and both of these were fully booked for the next 3 days!! seen as we had a plane to catch this caught us in a panic and the staff on the front desk refused to he any further....luckily in desperation I asked the man who ran the little customer relations desk if there was any alternative and he said their was a third company (which takes an hour longer) but still had availability!!

If it was not for the man on the customer relations desk we would have missed our flight! I would recommend the hotel to ensure all staff have full knowledge!!

Other than that incident the hotel is clean, right on the beach,nice pool and very good air-conditioning system in the rooms and we would defiantly come again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieL338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 5days, after the diving course we moved on to Sunset Burri Resort, I really enjoyed the stay at Coral Grand Resort however the back unit we occupied was not well ventilated, the staff we okay definately not amazing !! The location is great and the food average ! I enjoyed the pool in the evening just before sunset !

Room Tip: Make sure you do not occupy the back units, it's not well ventilated !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and it was very good.

The rooms are clean and have all the facilities needed. Spacious bathrooms and nice balconies.

It is right at the beach and has a nice beach bar/restaurant. The food is great and there is a lot to choose from. The breakfast also has great.

It is best to walk to the centre via the beach because when walking down the street, there are no street lights, which could be difficult to walk(rainy season).

From the hotel it is also easy to take a longtail boot to other island or bays.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargitvN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#30 of 49 in Koh Tao
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#42 of 49 in Koh Tao
491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort

Property: Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Address: 15/4 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Coral Grand Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing