We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, stunning view and great service”
Review of View Point Restaurant - CLOSED

View Point Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Beautiful ocean-side restaurant with unbeatable panoramic views across Chalok Bay to Buddha Rock. Free taxi service for all reservations.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicious food, stunning view and great service”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had our family Christmas dinner at ViewPoint and were absolutely thrilled! We first had some champagne on the lawn by the water on the little sofas and enjoyed the view. Then we moved to our table just by the water as well for the dinner. All food was delicious and the service absolutely great (which is very rare in Koh Tao). I recommend the Tuna as starter and the Snapper and Snapper as main. All food is Thai but is quite creative and is beyond just traditional cooking. We also got a free pick up and drop off by the restaurant from our hotel which was a plus.

We then return to the place two days later and my parents again for another night once we left Koh Tao, as they also loved the place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    20
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Number ONE restaurant on Koh Tao”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at viewpoint resort in one of the cottages. The resort is beautiful and the food in the restaurant exceptional. We are foodies and we almost did not leave the resort because the menu's were so good and the staff so friendly. Especially Tata and Moses from Birma made us feel very welcome and smile everyday. All staff is trained by new (American) management and very hospitable. The chef is extremely creative (fusion cuisine) and uses good quality products. Don't miss the Wagyu burgers (lunch). Best burgers ever!! We had many... Try also the French toast (breakfast) or the vietnamese springrolls (special starter). P.S. views are spectacular.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and views”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We has Christmas dinner at the Viewpoint which was a 5 course dinner with matching wines. The food was genuinely delicious with a mix of western dishes and local cuisine. We will definitely be making another trip before we leave!

Helpful?
Thank Marke5059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on Koh Tao: fantastic food good service and an amazing spirit selection”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

we had a taxi pick us up from our hotel and drop us off at the hotel which the restaurant paid for which made the evening even better as we didnt have to worry about anything in that regard we could drink as much as we liked and not have to worry about any thing. the food was fantastic and shaun (head chef) was a impeccable host as well as chef. he came out to our table a couple of times to say hello then right before our mains were coming came out and apologized saying one of the steaks the girls selected wasnt up to his standards and that it would be a couple minutes longer. which for me is fantastic i would rather wait a few mintues more and have the perfect meal then to have something that he didn't think was quite right. and when it came out it was unbelievable piece of pork. the outside was nearly crackling it was so crisp then the inside fell apart like it had bin slow cooked for hours. stunning !!! great selection of unique cocktails and massive selection of spirts. the experience as a whole is expensive however only as a comparison to the rest of the island it would be a normal meal cost in most European countries. a must do one koh tao i was a backpacker and i could afford it so cost shouldnt be an excuse. do it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sdw00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning Location with Top Level Food”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Where to begin? The food is not just amazingly cooked but is imaginative and would not be out of place in a 5 Star in New York. The price is however much less than that would cost you.
To give you an idea I had Seared Scallops with Poached Duck Egg on a Mint Risotto, Lime Leaf Infused Rack of Lamb followed by Creme Brulee. All three remain in my top 10 ever meals.
The drinks are equally imaginative Thai Fusions of classics.
The setting is amazing - truly luxurious with a million dollar view.
Offering a taxi service there is an added touch.
Worth travelling to Koh Tao for this alone!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mobment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed View Point Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing