We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant on Koh Tao: fantastic food good service and an amazing spirit selection”
Review of View Point Restaurant - CLOSED

View Point Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Beautiful ocean-side restaurant with unbeatable panoramic views across Chalok Bay to Buddha Rock. Free taxi service for all reservations.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on Koh Tao: fantastic food good service and an amazing spirit selection”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

we had a taxi pick us up from our hotel and drop us off at the hotel which the restaurant paid for which made the evening even better as we didnt have to worry about anything in that regard we could drink as much as we liked and not have to worry about any thing. the food was fantastic and shaun (head chef) was a impeccable host as well as chef. he came out to our table a couple of times to say hello then right before our mains were coming came out and apologized saying one of the steaks the girls selected wasnt up to his standards and that it would be a couple minutes longer. which for me is fantastic i would rather wait a few mintues more and have the perfect meal then to have something that he didn't think was quite right. and when it came out it was unbelievable piece of pork. the outside was nearly crackling it was so crisp then the inside fell apart like it had bin slow cooked for hours. stunning !!! great selection of unique cocktails and massive selection of spirts. the experience as a whole is expensive however only as a comparison to the rest of the island it would be a normal meal cost in most European countries. a must do one koh tao i was a backpacker and i could afford it so cost shouldnt be an excuse. do it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sdw00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    20
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning Location with Top Level Food”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Where to begin? The food is not just amazingly cooked but is imaginative and would not be out of place in a 5 Star in New York. The price is however much less than that would cost you.
To give you an idea I had Seared Scallops with Poached Duck Egg on a Mint Risotto, Lime Leaf Infused Rack of Lamb followed by Creme Brulee. All three remain in my top 10 ever meals.
The drinks are equally imaginative Thai Fusions of classics.
The setting is amazing - truly luxurious with a million dollar view.
Offering a taxi service there is an added touch.
Worth travelling to Koh Tao for this alone!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mobment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Best food on the island”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Food and presentation that you can't find in most major cities, let alone Koh Tao. The head chef, Shawn, has created a menu that would have any international foodie drooling. Highly recommended for anyone looking for an amazing meal in a gorgeous setting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lydia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Great high-class food for a highly reasonable price. If your looking for food of the highest quality this is it.

We went at 4pm and although it was the other side from sunset the twilight was immense and dining on the jetty in a beautiful bay surrounded by rocks which the main building is built in.


I had the Calamari was incredibly soft and perfectly cooked. The Lamb was perfectly cooked as was the roast potatoes which was amazing. My wife had the escargot and the pork and was equally as happy!

Allie and Sean thank you so much!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boyojohnquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“breakfast”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We've had the best breakfast here every day, we stayed at the resort. The restaurant has a beautifull view with very friendly staff. There is wifi and it is a good start before you go diving.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelladymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed View Point Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing