We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome laid back hostel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SpicyTao Backpackers
Ranked #39 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome laid back hostel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Good price and awesome value..

The rooms are nothing special, but the common area and the atmosphere really pull through! The staff was nice and it's just a good place to meet cool people and have a nice time. The walk seems like far at first, but I actually grew to enjoy the strolls back to the hostel with fellow hostel guests. There is a laundry nearby and a place to rent bikes.

Give all the spicy's a try. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    31
    14
    9
    13
See reviews for
Families
0
4
62
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Radford, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We met some cool people there and had a great time, but the staff were not the greatest. The rooms were a little dirty and the beds were really uncomfortable. The location was a bit of a walk, but it was nice to be off the grid in some ways.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

It all depends on the person. The dorms and bathrooms aren't the fanciest, even by SEA hostel standards. They weren't very clean and smelled of mold. There's no hot water. The beds aren't pre-made. Cats wander inside all the time. It can be hard to get a good nights sleep since there's a lot of people per dorm, and there's tons of drinking every night. But, if you can put up with all of this, you will love it! It's so easy to meet people between the picnic tables, hammocks, and planned activities. It's 5minutes to the ocean. There's delicious BBQs on Sundays. I'm not a big drinker and I was waking up for early morning dives, and yet I had an absolutely fantastic time! Loved it and all other Spicys.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelling
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at spicytao- excited- from the pictures and reviews seemed like a cool place to hang out n stay- nice and laid back etc etc. I said hello to the receptionist- she looked up from her computer after a few seconds of me waiting and said nothing to me at all. I asked if they had any beds for the night- 'no' was the answer I got then she looked straight back to the computer! She genuinely did not give a s***- it was almost funny how rude she was! The atmosphere was cold to say the least- you know that scene from the film the beach when thwy walk in and everyone looks at them as if you say 'what are YOU doing HERE?- thats the vibe and message we received, loud and clear from the staff/ whoever was there at the communal area- not much of a community feel there. I asked the receptionist if she knew of anywhere closeby that we could try- her response was a huge sigh- and 'well- I don't know if they have availability' in sarcastic 'how the hell would I know' way. I personally have worked as a receptionist in hostels around the world- and if I had acted like that I would have either been fired or in trouble at least! She didn't check for any other dates for us- it was like getting blood from a stone to get any help at all from this girl. Eventually she managed to tell us they had availability for the next two nights but by that time we had pretty much decided that the staff clearly didnt give a f*** and we moved on.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rachsuths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Whilst the hostel is certainly conducive to meeting other travellers and the staff are all really nice, the only way i can describe the rooms is squalor. In the dorm i stayed there were cats that would crawl onto my bed. Being a person who really does not like cats this was enough for me to leave the hostel. Additionally, whilst i am not usually one to complain about the condition of a bathroom, the bathroom in the dorm was repugnant. Finally if you are planning on travelling to Koh Tao for the sole purpose of diving i would give this place a miss, the people seemed to be far more concerned about going out than getting up early for a dive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnsy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangko, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Its basically a legend. If it's for you, you'll stay forever. If its not, leave and let someone else stay. Though you'll probably still want to come back for the BBQ and just to escape the strip.

Its definitely more for the backpacker than the flashpacker, but what it lacks in flash it more than makes up for in magic. If hot showers are high on your list of priorities then maybe you should go elsewhere. If friendly, helpful staff, a good social and making new friends are your thing then this is where you want to be. Loved it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank inertiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I've stayed at Spicypai and Spicytao and can honestly say, in 4 months of traveling SE Asia, these are the best stays yet! Super chilled out vibe makes it easy to meet people, and they are just rugged enough to get you out of the hostel and on adventures every day. They also organize some awesome events including their top notch BBQ's. Don't miss the chance to stay here!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CodySunkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
#37 of 136 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Hostel Koh Tao
Sleep Inn Hostel Koh Tao
#24 of 136 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Chalok Hostel Koh Tao
Baan Chalok Hostel Koh Tao
#72 of 136 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostel '69 Koh Tao
Hostel '69 Koh Tao
#21 of 136 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Loft Hostel
Koh Tao Loft Hostel
#25 of 136 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hinwong Apartments Dive and Snorkel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpicyTao Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpicyTao Backpackers

Property: SpicyTao Backpackers
Address: 35/23 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your SpicyTao Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing