We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
78
35
18
11
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
35
18
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spicy tao a great place to meet free breakfast great communal area social hostel favourite hostel rooms are very basic enjoyed my stay stayed longer three nights the main strip hot shower sairee beach hammocks tv wifi island
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 156 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

SpicyTao was the last place I stayed in Thailand, not because I didn't have time to go elsewhere but because once I was there I couldn't leave. The people I met there were amazing, the atmosphere was amazing and there is never a dull moment. Despite being the one of the cheapest hostels on the island, the experience of staying at SpicyTao was priceless because out of all the people I know that have been to Koh Tao, only those at spicy have done as much cool stuff or met as many really cool people. I miss the hostel and it's inhabitants every day <3 x

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Spicy Tao Backpackers offers an excellent alternative to the mostly bungalow/guesthouse style accomodation offered on Koh Tao with basic but clean and affordable dormroom style accomadation. The hostle is located in a beautiful and quiet area of cleared jungle minutes walk from all the amenites of Sairee Beach, Koh Tao's liveliest district. A nice laidback family vibe surrounds the hostlel, and the rustic open plan common areas provide excellent places to hang out and relax with other guests. Most nights guests go and socialise together and after spending some time here you will meet loads of people so great for the solo traveler and groups alike. David and Klyde are very helpful and informative and do their best bring everyones stay to a great climax. They organise great events such as bbq's, party cruises, snorkelling trips etc. Also a big shout to Mr. Jain, the gardener. Who along with his extremely hard work ethic and team of specially trained cats, does an amazing job of keeping the surrounding jungle at bay! ;-)

Kap khun krap!

Mono

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely amazing place to stay. Relaxing warm and very friendly atmosphere, it's almost impossible not to find friends here! Service is available almost 24/7 and very efficient, friendly and flexible. Number One! Peace x

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svetlana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My friend and I stumbled across this wonderful haven after a two hour sweaty walk from the ferry port at 7 in the morning, to be greeted by free toast, tea, comfy hammocks and a lady cleaning her ear with a feather from the rebel chicken! Just the absolute perfect vibe, wonderful people, such a cosy family atmosphere, it really was the best way to end our trip and as many people do we could have stayed there for a long time! Klyde and Dave just keep you smiling all day long. Love to y'all at SpicyTao!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Spicy is a hostel so relaxed and full of nice people, you will probably extended your stay, as a lot of other people do as well. You can hang out at a cozy hammock filled relax area, and watch all the cheezy Will Ferrel movies you like! The staff David and Clyde are super friendly dudes. I had a great time staying here! Would reccomend it to anyone looking for a great time!

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Floortje K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews