We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“might be my favourite place in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SpicyTao Backpackers
Ranked #43 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hostel is just god-damn amazing. The staff organize cool stuff to do every day, and the people there are super sociable. I met people here that I ended up travelling with for two months. I ended up going back twice as well. I still miss it :'(

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 142 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

SpicyTao was the last place I stayed in Thailand, not because I didn't have time to go elsewhere but because once I was there I couldn't leave. The people I met there were amazing, the atmosphere was amazing and there is never a dull moment. Despite being the one of the cheapest hostels on the island, the experience of staying at SpicyTao was priceless because out of all the people I know that have been to Koh Tao, only those at spicy have done as much cool stuff or met as many really cool people. I miss the hostel and it's inhabitants every day <3 x

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Spicy Tao Backpackers offers an excellent alternative to the mostly bungalow/guesthouse style accomodation offered on Koh Tao with basic but clean and affordable dormroom style accomadation. The hostle is located in a beautiful and quiet area of cleared jungle minutes walk from all the amenites of Sairee Beach, Koh Tao's liveliest district. A nice laidback family vibe surrounds the hostlel, and the rustic open plan common areas provide excellent places to hang out and relax with other guests. Most nights guests go and socialise together and after spending some time here you will meet loads of people so great for the solo traveler and groups alike. David and Klyde are very helpful and informative and do their best bring everyones stay to a great climax. They organise great events such as bbq's, party cruises, snorkelling trips etc. Also a big shout to Mr. Jain, the gardener. Who along with his extremely hard work ethic and team of specially trained cats, does an amazing job of keeping the surrounding jungle at bay! ;-)

Kap khun krap!

Mono

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely amazing place to stay. Relaxing warm and very friendly atmosphere, it's almost impossible not to find friends here! Service is available almost 24/7 and very efficient, friendly and flexible. Number One! Peace x

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svetlana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My friend and I stumbled across this wonderful haven after a two hour sweaty walk from the ferry port at 7 in the morning, to be greeted by free toast, tea, comfy hammocks and a lady cleaning her ear with a feather from the rebel chicken! Just the absolute perfect vibe, wonderful people, such a cosy family atmosphere, it really was the best way to end our trip and as many people do we could have stayed there for a long time! Klyde and Dave just keep you smiling all day long. Love to y'all at SpicyTao!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Spicy is a hostel so relaxed and full of nice people, you will probably extended your stay, as a lot of other people do as well. You can hang out at a cozy hammock filled relax area, and watch all the cheezy Will Ferrel movies you like! The staff David and Clyde are super friendly dudes. I had a great time staying here! Would reccomend it to anyone looking for a great time!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Floortje K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is very simple bungalows sleep ten that are air con and two fan. The common area is simply a wood but with a tv and long table perfect for meeting other travelers. If you need anything or have any questions they are there to help. you also the hostel workers come out with everyone for drinks. Klyde and David are awesome guys and no matter what you do you can't piss them off! Thanks for the great times and If you plan on going for two days it is never long enough everyone always extends there stay! Even if you don't stay at spicy your welcome to join and drink with everyone and be part of the spicy family! Must go destination for backpackers!
Tony B.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0 mi away
Koh Tao Central Hostel
Koh Tao Central Hostel
#10 of 148 in Koh Tao
211 reviews
0 mi away
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
#39 of 148 in Koh Tao
90 reviews
0 mi away
OK View Bungalows
OK View Bungalows
#73 of 148 in Koh Tao
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Summer Guesthouse and Hostel
0 mi away
Good Dream Hostel
Good Dream Hostel
#27 of 148 in Koh Tao
46 reviews
0 mi away
Indie Hostel
Indie Hostel
#19 of 148 in Koh Tao
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpicyTao Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpicyTao Backpackers

Address: 35/23 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: $11 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — SpicyTao Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your SpicyTao Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing