We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to meet some great people!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SpicyTao Backpackers
Ranked #41 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Out of a 3-month long trip of Asia, this has definitely been my favourite place.The staff is fun and friendly, the atmosphere is laid-back, and the whole hostel gets along and does activities and nights-out together. You shouldn't be surprised if you end up extending your stay.
If you aren't high-maintenance and don't mind the average beds and facilities, STAY HERE. If you are high-maintenance, well you should stay here anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHdzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 142 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

A fantastic hostel with a great crowd, chilled vibe and a just a great place to relax and have fun! The communal areas are cool and there are loads of activities such as BBQs, snorkeling trips and a newly-founded SpicyBoozeCruise to keep you entertained.

Basic, like the other hostels in the Spicy family, but if you want a luxury resort or hotel head down to the beach but there won't be as much fun to be found for sure.

Could have stayed for weeks!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jworld92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Not as amazing as Spicypai. It was OK, mixed dorm not so clean, had to shower in the dark as it took a while for the fella to replace the light bulb. That said, you're not going to spend much time there anyway so it's alright for a nights sleep. Very sociable and a short walk to the beach! Cheap and cheerful!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blancoVaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have stayed at Spicy Tao for a few weeks and had such a good time. It is rustic, cheap, laid back and always full of cool travelers. For 200THB you can get a fan dorm room with free breakfast.

The crew I met at Spicy were such a laugh. The atmosphere was very social and everybody hangs around in the common area watching the multitude of movies on the hard-drive all day and laying about in hammocks. Then come night-time, everyone has a few drinks and the music gets a bit louder..

We went on a snorkel trip around Koh Tao which can be seen at http://tropicalnomad.com/spicy-tao-snorkel-trip/ .‎If you are looking for polished floors and hotel pools, you are in the wrong place. Spicy has cats, dogs and roosters as part of the family. All forms of insects running about as Spicy is set in a traditional Thai Jungle setting. The staff were cool guys and organised BBQ's at sunset view bar, pub crawls and forward travel for guests wanting to go on visa runs or get to Bangkok for a flight home.

I really enjoyed Spicy and think you will do!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to have the time of your life and meet amazing people, stay at spicy. It's the place to be for a solo traveller, because of the layout and vibe, you are guaranteed to integrate and make friends and become part of the big spicy family.

Swing in a hammock all day watching movies, then drink the night away. Or go on one of the frequent organised tours - snorkelling, or to the best sunset view bar on the island. They often have an in-house BBQ with some of the tastiest chicken and pork & not to forget Tak's super special [--] sauce. Jungle juice night can also be fun... Ask at reception ;)

Personally I was supposed to stay for a night or two in spicy, but in total I think it was closer to a month, the place just sucks you in and feels like home. Thanks to te Sligo boys and Jain, I'll be back to spicy again, sooner or later.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I loved my time at Spicytao! It is by far the best backpackers to stay at in Koh Tao and one of my favorites in my 4 months of traveling in SE Asia. The owner is really helpful as are the Irish guys running it now. They made me feel welcome from the moment I arrived and were a lot of fun as well. It's really social there so it was easy to make friends to go out and hang with if you are solo. The fan dorms were really nice and clean and you can't beat the price! Cheapest beds on Koh Tao for sure. They also have a large loungin area complete with a flat screen and ENDLESS amounts of movies and tv shows for those afternoons when your hangover just won't go away. I also really loved the location as it is only a few minutes walk from the heart of it all (Sairee beach and bars/restos) but it's tucked away in a nice, natural outdoor setting so you escape the chaos and can chill with nature (and a dog, some cats, Charlie the crazy chicken) and really enjoy island life. The guys also organize a lot of activities, bbq's, onward travel, taxis to the Castle Party, etc. and are a wealth of knowledge. They are eager to help and keep everyone happy, not to mention they are hilarious ;) Even one night there wasn't a bed available for me so they let me sleep in a hammock since I didn't want to go to another hostel. Overall I had an AMAZING time there, stayed longer than anticipated and was sad to leave due to the family I'd found and made. If you want to have a great time with really cool, fun, friendly, social people and stay in a nice place for a great price- stay here. I miss Spicytao and would (and did!) recommend it to everyone on their way to Koh Tao. It's the best!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicamala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I came to Koh Tao and intended to stay for about four days but ended up staying nearly two weeks because I had such a blast at Spicytao and didn't want to leave. I met some amazing people staying here and the social atmosphere was great. The guys running the hostel were a big part of why the place was so much fun. They plan snorkeling trips, BBQ's and other things that will make your stay in Koh Tao completely memorable. This was one of my favorite hostels during all of my travels throughout SE Asia, make sure to check it out!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jschoenbohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
OK View Bungalows
OK View Bungalows
#72 of 147 in Koh Tao
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
#39 of 147 in Koh Tao
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel '69 Koh Tao
Hostel '69 Koh Tao
#25 of 147 in Koh Tao
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Central Hostel
Koh Tao Central Hostel
#12 of 147 in Koh Tao
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Dearly Koh Tao Hostel
The Dearly Koh Tao Hostel
#2 of 147 in Koh Tao
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Indie Hostel
Indie Hostel
#21 of 147 in Koh Tao
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpicyTao Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpicyTao Backpackers

Address: 35/23 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: $11 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — SpicyTao Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your SpicyTao Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing