We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food but no shisha”

Shalimar Indian Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 181 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice food but no shisha”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The food if perfect but they have no shisha (but have it menu) and nobody can explain why, they say the police is gonna come but what the hell, as I know it's legal in Thai to smoke shisha. Confused.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    49
    12
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredibly good Indian food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We've been to this restaurant probably some 6 times over 3 years now as we are huge fans of Indian food and at times you need an escape from a couple of weeks of thai food.

We eat a lot of indian food at home and abroad, and the food here is top notch. It is simply drool inducing stuff, and the service we've had has always been good.

The prices are naturally higher than thai food, as is everything non-thai in Thailand of course, but it's not in our opinion expensive.

The atmosphere is nice, it's a nice walled but still open environment.

If you like Indian, do go here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Indian”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Probably the best butter chicken I have ever had! I ate here on two different occasions and enjoyed it both times! Good food good service and isn't over priced!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JReid27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian food”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

The venue:
A simple, open layout.

The staff:
Friendly and attentive enough.

The food:
I had the Daal Makhani, which was slightly spicier than I expected.
My wife had the Palak Paneer, which was good.
The potato samosas, rice, and naan were also very good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Egeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice Indian Restaurant in Koh Tao”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We really enjoyed our dinner here.

Staff were pleasant and the restaurant setting was very relaxed and nice.

We ordered Palak Paneer (Spinach with Indian Cheese), Daal Makhani (Black lentil curry), Naan, Rice, Vegetarian Samosa (potato) and some drinks.

Happy hour from 6-8pm so 2 cocktails for the price of one! Yay!

Good food, nice atmosphere, perhaps slightly on the pricey side compared to other restaurants in Koh Tao. But it is definitely worth it.

Also, the restaurant has nice couch area, fan, clean toilet with toilet paper & washing soap.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pekopoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalimar Indian Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Shalimar Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing