We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food”

Thaita Italian Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 192 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited purely from the brilliant reviews on here and we really weren't disappointed. Arriving we interrupted the owners having dinner but we were quickly settled in to a table, given a mozzie coil and some expert advice on what was good to eat. 2 of us chose the gnocci, honestly I have never had such good gnocci in my life - both dishes (I had to sample everything we ordered regardless of whether it was mine or not) were divine, mine with home-made pesto was just amazing, I could have quite happily polished off 2 plates full of it. The ravioli was also very very good. The owner and chef is very friendly and came and chatted with us after we'd finished our meal. It's definitely worth the extra money and the short walk out of the main strip to find this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilySFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    840
    92
    38
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
1 review
“wonderful italian cooking”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It's a very nice rstaurant far from the touristic side. The owners are very kind and all the dishes made with care and absolutely delicious. Niki and Elio are superb she in the kitchen, he in the dining room. They can suggest you the best things to visit and also they can go with you showing the attraction of the place.
the ambience is very relaxed and friendly. Absolutely suggested
Really italian food with pasta home made.
Very very goog!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liciafian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Awesome food, fabulous hostess and a nice place to just be”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Without exception, his is the best Italian food I have ever eaten, including 5 weeks travelling in Italy 2006. Nikki comes from a family of restaurateurs in northern Italy who have been in the business for centuries; and it shows, or rather it tastes like it. The food is absolutely delicious! She makes all her own pasta daily. The first night I went I had Gnocchetti Verdi. Truly, I wanted to lick the plate, it was so, so yummy. And do leave room for dessert, it’s also yummy.
The atmosphere is relaxed and Nikki is great, friendly easy going. I just had to go back there to eat every night for the remainder of my stay in Koh Toa.
It’s a little off the beaten tourist track, a couple of hundred meters up the slope, next to the ‘The Big Yellow Hotel”, well and truly worth the walk. Bon appétit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ban Ko Tao, Chumphon, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Its all about Nikki”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a little off the main restaurant strip but absolutely worth it...just past Roctopus Dive on the right, this is the epitome of an owner chef with a passion for her Italian roots.

Sure her partner is a little quirky and comes across as moody but really he is harmless and adds to the charm. Ask for Nikki, she is gold.

The food takes some time but totally worth it. Get some wine and enjoy your evening.Its authentic laid back Italian, can't be faulted

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Will N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loveliest Lady on Koh Tao”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food is amazing, and the owner, Nikki, is such a lovely lady who cooks up anything for you.
She really have a passion for food and it shows in her cooking!
Been back here many times and every time I walk out with a smile after spending a few hours in the cosy atmosphere of the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristoffer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thaita Italian Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Thaita Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing