We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad value trip”
Review of Aqua Tao

Aqua Tao
Ranked #24 of 93 Tours in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Diving school Snorkeling Trip
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bad value trip”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Not what I was expecting, felt
Like just another number, poorly organized and a lot of waiting around doing nothing, waited an hour in reception and whilst on the boat we were waiting around a lot so lots of time wasted doing nothing. Should of had lunch provided which was a sandwich but mine went missing, no alternative offered just a shrug of the shoulder so spent the whole day without food so I did feel ill as had just been out snorkeling and swimming around, no apology or offer of some money back. Not very good value for money either and didn't see much

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nj1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    27
    2
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really cool staff and great fun!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We did a dive today with aqua tao and they were really cool and relaxed. It didn't bother them that neither of us had even dived before and took time to thoroughly explain everything and had patience when we got things wrong. We had one instructor between the two of us which was really good because we got individual attention and felt allot safer!! We had Luce she was really lovely and spoke to us when we were on the boat unlike some instructors from other school that walked off and chatted to their colleagues.
Overall a really good experience and would recommend them to everyone! Really happy!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RBennett95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lucky Find, Really”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

During the planning phase of my trip to Koh Tao I decided on staying at Sea Lodge and upon finding out that there is a dive center attached to this hotel I contacted them by mail to set up my dive program for the five days that I was to stay on the island. Strangely enough my first e-mail was answered and then there was radio silence afterward. On the day the ferry that took me to Koh Tao docked at the pier it was late in the day. I set out for a stroll up the main street of this little town looking for dinner and walked right up to Aqua Tao. This was to be my lucky find on this island. The initial contact was very convivial; no up front payment, no dive package pushing. I decided on the spot to sign up. I spent the next three days doing two dives a day with them. The dive masters, Tristan and Misso, were fun to dive with, the equipment was new and the dive sites were varied enough to keep me interested. Of all the seven sites I dove, Chumphon Pinnacle is the best in my opinion; good visibility, abundant sea life and interesting bathymetry. On the evening of my last day with Aqua Tao we splurged and had a few rounds of specially flavored Vodka prepared by Tristan. Yes, yes, I know drinking and diving doesn't mix, but who wants to live forever anyway?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CoyVing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“:-(”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Really just felt like another number when we went diving with this dive centre. Don't think it was to the fault of the dive centre though!! Our instructor wasn't overly nice or friendly, a little arrogant and not very helpful, anywhere else I have gone diving the instructor can't do enough for you and is always so kind, happy and friendly.
The instructor started off really friendly, but throughout the day started getting a little short, ratty and annoyed with us for doing the slightest thing wrong. He even got aggressive with me under the water when I couldn't sort out my buoyancy. Which knocked my confidence and I couldn't enjoy the rest of my dive.
Having said that, Both dives were quite good we saw a lot of fish, the equipment provided was top notch and I felt safe at all times. Unfortunately our instructors 'mood' put a bit of a downer on the experience though and I left feeling sad. I would not go back here simply incase I got the same instructor.

Helpful?
6 Thank girleen_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquatao, Gérant at Aqua Tao, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Google Translation
Merci de nous avoir laissé connaître vos opinions .

Votre post nous préoccupe beaucoup.
Le confort et le bien être de nos plongeurs ont toujours été, avec la sécurité, les mots d'ordre de notre école de plongée.

Votre plaisir et votre sécurité sont nos objectifs.
Vos retours positifs, eux, sont notre récompense. Ils nous encouragent et alimentent notre motivation.
Les commentaires négatifs doivent quant à eux nous aider à progresser.

AQuA TaO ne prétend pas être parfait, en revanche nous donnons le meilleur de nous pour corriger jour après jour nos imperfections.
Voila pourquoi votre avis à été prit très aux sérieux.

Rien n'excuse l'impatience. Les complicités et les affinités entre personnes sont une affaire complexe. Même avec beaucoup de bonne volonté, le contact peut parfois avoir du mal à se faire.
Mais jamais l'inhabilité ne devrait être une réponse. Jamais notre équipe ne saurait excuser un tel comportement.

Afin de ne pas rester sur une note négative, et puisque habitant en Thaïlande, il ne vous est pas impossible de repasser sur notre île. AQuA TaO vous offre vos 2 prochaines plongées dans notre école.

vous seriez très sincèrement les bienvenues, vous et votre ami.


En outre je vous remercie d'avoir souligné le fait que jamais vous ne vous étiez sentie en insécurité sous l'eau.





Thank you to let us know your feelings about the School, but your comment made us really worry. Comfort and happiness of our divers has always been, with safety, the guide line of our dive school.

Your enjoyment and your safety are our objectives.
Your positive comments, are our pride; they support and motivate us.
On the other hand negative comments should make us improve.

Aqua Tao doesn't pretend to be perfect, but we give the best of ourselves day after day to correct our imperfections. That's why your comment has been taken really seriously.

Nothing forgive the restlessness. Bonds and preference between people are complex matters. Even with a lot of efforts, sometimes, people will have trouble binding, but this should never be an excuse. Those behaviors will never be tolerated for our team.

To don't stay on negative terms, because you live in Thailand, and you might want to come back on our island. Aqua Tao offers you your next two dives with us. You and your friend will be more than welcome.
I would like to thank you for emphasizing the fact that never you felt unsafe under water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great dive club”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Professional and friendly staff that encourage diving development without pushing classes and upselling. The club is a great environment to chill and relax with your new dive buddies, especially with the bar providing beers, shots, cocktails and more. New and well kept gear, organised trips...will definitely come back to dive with AquaTao when I return to Koh Tao.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellaern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Tao also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Aqua Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing