We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We travelled from Koh Pha-Ngan”

The Gallery Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 273 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $29
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Gallery Restaurant affords stunning views and fine dining on the hillside overlooking Mae Haad and Sairee bays. Simply perfect for lunch, the panoramic views open up to the best sunset vantage point on Koh Tao. Although our venue is simply spectacular, it is and always will be, all about the food. Traditional, authentic, gourmet Thai cuisine at its very best. The Gallery also offers fine art photography on display and available for purchase. The Gold Bar attached, offers Golden Hour and Blue Hour specials on draught Tiger Beer, house wines and more.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We travelled from Koh Pha-Ngan to Koh Tao for two days over the birthday of my wife Laura. Because of the many good reviews and the first impressions on the website, I chose this location for the birthday dinner and was not disappointed. Chris and his wife have created something outstanding. The authentic innovative recipes, the quality of the ingredients, the new location with the best view of the sea and the sunset as well as the attention to detail make this artful restaurant by far the best in its class. We were surprised and overwhelmed by the aromas at every course of the "Trust the Chef" menu. I'm not promising too much...

Thank you very much for the great evening Chris, we will see you again tonight ;)

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank schmitzxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the superb review. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 2,253 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

The (new) hilltop building, the food, the service, all exceptional. A wonderful place for a luxurious Thai dinner.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Rutger12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Glad you enjoyed our new place, great to see you, thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

The gallery is by far one of the best restaurants on koh TAO. Some of the best Thai food I have ever eaten and the new setting on the hill is nothing short of breathtaking. Great service and atmosphere. Fully recommend the chefs tasting menu. 6 stars if possible.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 449zoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Great to have you here. Thanks for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2019

Right off the bat, this is not the cheapest place in the vicinity, at all. But the quality of their food, the location and service certainly is worth it!

We ate here twice, once a la carte and once we ordered the Chefs Recommendation (7 course taster menu). Both were out of this world! Their drinks were also some of the best we've had in the island, it seems this place truly believes in quality ingredients for every step!

The premises are crisp, clean and with a awesome gallery (namesake of the restaurent) next door. The staff is super friendly, with the owner flagship ping by being present himself and continuously ensuring everyone is having a good night.

As an addendum, shout out to the owner for helping us out when arriving late to find our booked hotel royally screwed up, leaving us without diving courses or a proper place to stay. He took the time to hear us out on what we were looking for, then contacting his network to get a hold of the owner of a resort close by who then came physically to meet us and set us up with an amazing place to stay and dive. Absolutely the hero of our stay!

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tankalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Amazing review, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2019 via mobile

We went to Gallery with a group of 7 , many nights during our visit to Ko Tao. Absolutely the best food on the island. We had shrimp tempura for starters and green curry, crispy pork for main dish. All tasted very good ! Highly recommended !

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank 238indrekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gallery Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Gallery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing