We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST FOOD IN THAILAND! ”

The Gallery Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 233 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $27
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gourmet and authentic Thai restaurant with a view through our fine art Photo Gallery. Widely acclaimed as being among the best Thai food in Thailand. Beautiful, chic, cosy and friendly. We open at 12pm and remain open all day until 11pm (be aware that we may close early around 10.30pm if the restaurant is quiet so best to book for late sittings). Authentic Thai food with true Thai flavour using only the freshest ingredients and the finest cuts of meat, fish and seafood. We also have a small selection of vegetarian dishes and an extensive wine and designer cocktail list. We offer a fine dining experience in a creative atmosphere providing the highest standards for a discerning clientele. Please note that we are not a budget backpacker restaurant, we offer the best quality authentic Thai food around in the best restaurant on Koh Tao.
Reviewed April 5, 2017 via mobile

I am on my second visit to The Gallery and I have again been blown away by the hospitality and outstanding food. Myself, my husband and two friends attended for dinner and couldn't wait to return again for lunch the follow day. The pork dishes are particularly amazing, however, all dishes were the best we have tasted in Thailand! Not one to miss! You will not be disappointed. Can not recommend enough!!!!

Thank Jade-Leigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017

It was a pleasure to meet you all, repeat custom tells its own tale. "All dishes were the best we have tasted in Thailand", very pleased. Great to have you here, thanks for the terrific review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 230 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2017 via mobile

We had the 'trust the chef' menu for 900baht per person. It gives you a variety of starters, main courses and desserts that are usually eaten by Thai people. It was great to be surprised and all the courses were really good. If you have any things you don't eat (for example no pork or no seafood) they will respect this and create something for you.
Quality of service and food were very good. Only the price was a bit high and the place has limited space and gets full every night. We had to wait for a table for about 20 minutes but it was worth the wait!

Thank Andywarhol88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017

Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed it. Yes we are small and there in lies the charm and our ability to maintain quality cuisine and service. Even with a reservation you may have to wait for a table as we do not wish to rush our guests. We do have a lovely bar area, gallery and lounge so waiting is comfortable but if this is still not for you then please let us know as there is nothing more that we can do. Regarding the price, quality comes with a cost, it's not for everyone and is well advertised so please check the menu first.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017 via mobile

Good option to have dinner in the island. Nice place and very good food. Excellent value for money..

Thank Bruno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Thanks for sharing this excellent review. Excellent value for money is a great point, we strongly believe that you get what you pay for. So when reading this don't imagine that we are a budget restaurant. Thanks again, great way to start the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017

This was one of our favourite restaurants on a 2 week holiday. We always go back to our agreed favourite at the end of a trip and this was the one in koh tao, in fact we couldn't wait to go back. The pad thai was gorgeous, probably the best we have ever had, the red curry was gorgeous. I can't remember what the starters were called but we tried something different each time and they were lovely, I imagine anything on the menu here would impress. The wine was very good and the best we had on the trip. The staff were extremely attentive, the owner is very helpful and friendly, he clearly wants his customers to be comfortable and to have a great experience. Highly recommended, in fact I nearly wanted to tell the people that were perusing the menu on the street to come in.

1  Thank jamieh178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Beautiful, thanks so much. This is what it is all about. Please come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017

Unmissable. We dined there every day. The owner, very nice and attentive, always asking if everything was all right. All the dishes are great, especially a dish served on the pineapple and the coconut milk dessert.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ariane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2017

Thanks so much for this lovely review, it's always a pleasure to host people who appreciate the quality and the effort that we make to create an excellent dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gallery Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Gallery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing