We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Thai food!”

The Gallery Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 181 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Gourmet Thai restaurant with a view through The Photo Gallery. Beautiful, chic, cosy and personal. We open at 12pm and remain open all day until 11pm (be aware that we may close early at 10pm if the restaurant is quiet so best to book for late sittings). Authentic Thai food with true Thai flavour using only the freshest ingredients and the finest cuts of meat. We also have a small selection of vegetarian dishes and an extensive wine and designer cocktail list. We offer you a fine dining experience in a creative atmosphere providing the highest standards for a discerning clientele. Please note that we are not a budget backpacker restaurant.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

A lovely restaurant, excellent service and delicious food. A great evening on our holiday! Really interesting to walk round the gallery of photos after, a really different experience to the other places on offer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Thanks a million, different we are, and I'm glad you appreciated that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,196
    239
    72
    24
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“VERY NICE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Every thing about this restaurant we enjoyed! The food, the atmosphere and the service! It was wonderful. Eat here! It's worth it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Not much I can say except I am glad that you enjoyed the whole package, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good but not amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We ate here in April and had a fairly nice meal. Generally the food was really good as you will find across most of Koh Tao and the place itself is pretty. I was disappointed with the quails egg starter (hard boiled and not much flavour) and the service was slow and lacking warmth. If you're going book in advance as this place always seems to be full

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilko82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
I am deeply sorry that you had a less than perfect experience at The Gallery. We aim to put on a 5 star performance across the board for every customer. The quails eggs are really all about the separate sauce for the flavour, perhaps that passed you by. Either way be sure to tell us if you have any issues with our service, our food or anything else, as when you are here we can help you and fix any problems. As far as being slow and cold, that is very unusual, we are all very friendly at The Gallery, one big happy family, we don't bite either, so tell us how you feel and we will make it amazing, not just good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Classy Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This restaurant is a cut above the rest in Tao. The food is lovely and presented in an elegant setting. Highly recommend the snapper fish fillet and home made ice cream. A little more expensive the the regular Thai restaurants but well worth the extra for a true dining out experience. Book a table as it's always busy!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank fruitbat5031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Spot on, great advice and beautiful review, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food, best we had in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We travelled round Thailand for 3 weeks, eating out every night, and this was hands down the best food we ate.

The Gallery restaurant looks great, has friendly staff, fast service and is reasonably priced considering how great the food is. Four of us had a selection of starters, a highlight was the chicken satay - with the sauce being spooned out the bowl long after the chicken was finished.

Our mains were all delicious. The fish and chicken were all cooked to perfection and we couldn't bare to leave any of the sauces, I had to restrain myself from licking the plates... A highlight for us was the massuman curry, which we were sampling in most of the places we visited in Thailand and this one topped them all.


Anyway, just wanted to add my voice to the throng of great reviews of this place, they are not wrong. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankMordaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
One of my favourites, I love this review, thanks so much. Can't wait to have you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gallery Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Gallery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing