We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth going once”

The Gallery Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 199 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gourmet Thai restaurant with a view through The Photo Gallery. Beautiful, chic, cosy and personal. We open at 12pm and remain open all day until 11pm (be aware that we may close early at 10pm if the restaurant is quiet so best to book for late sittings). Authentic Thai food with true Thai flavour using only the freshest ingredients and the finest cuts of meat. We also have a small selection of vegetarian dishes and an extensive wine and designer cocktail list. We offer you a fine dining experience in a creative atmosphere providing the highest standards for a discerning clientele. Please note that we are not a budget backpacker restaurant.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is a little restaurant with a very nice photography gallery on its side. I found that the service was good but a bit over the top. The dishes were very good and well-executed but a bit pricey for what they are. I would recommend you go there once with friends and try as many dishes as you can afford (following the owner's recommendations is a good idea). Oh and make sure to visit the actual gallery which is well worth your attention.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank therealrichardparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2015

Thanks for the review and the feedback. Once again I always like to make it clear, we offer a fine dining experience with exquisite authentic Thai food that takes a great deal of preparation and staff to produce to order. We are not a budget restaurant so please let us guide you if that is what you are after.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,611)
There are newer reviews for The Gallery Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

855 - 859 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Really great food. Try the massaman curry. Make a reservation because the restaurant has only 7 tables. Price level is indeed higher than other restaurants. But worth it.

Thank jodivaneijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2015

Great review and great point, we are a little more expensive than the standard Thai fare but the value of our product is much higher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had luckily heard that a reservation is needed and got a table for the following evening. The staff was very attentive and friendly and the place beautiful. And we simply loved the food! The massaman curry and sweet and sour chicken were delicious! They have usually some home made ice cream but, unfortunately, the machine was not working that night.

Thank TeiTei_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2015

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thanks for coming, sorry about the lack of ice cream, this is very rare.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

After reading some reviews we decided to go there. Food is really average comparing to what we have eaten in Thailand for last three weeks and it was the most expensive and small one dinner.
Thai spicy was some kind of joke also... I needed to order some more chilies.

And the worst thing that we all got sick after that so I dont recommend at all.

3  Thank Marek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2015

This one is a strange one. The first and only time we have heard such things so first I must apologise that you didn't enjoy your experience at The Gallery. It would seem that our prices are the issue that have lead you to write such a review and for that I make no apology as we are providing the highest quality cuisine at great value but certainly not a budget restaurant. It is odd that you did not tell us your problem, flavours and spices etc but would rather vent your frustrations here. I completely understand but for those of you who may read this please communicate with us, no need to be afraid, we are friendly and wish to please you. We can easily rectify most situations to more than a satisfactory level. As far as the last comment, I'm afraid that I find that rather hard to believe as we take great care in our preparations, with 5 chefs working throughout the day working with only fresh produce that is mostly fried and therefore completely devoid of harmful bacteria. It seems that this unfortunate review is likely fueled by the prices. With that in mind if you are looking for a budget restaurant rather than the authentic gourmet Thai food that we produce, please let us know and we will gladly tell you where to go.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We spent three weeks in Thailand and part of the trip was an eight night stay in Koh Tao. We spent some time on Tripadvisor regarding the hotel etc and kept on reading great reviews about The Gallery. I highly recommend to make the reservation at least three days in advance to avoid dissappointment as the restaurant only has 7 tables and as a walk in you have to be very lucky to experience the great food. Chris the owner of The Gallery provides excellent customer service personally explained the concept of the restaurant and it's philosophy. There are some signature dishes such as the curry in the young coconut but I would also follow Chris' recommendations to have a nice selection of the amazing food. It was a surprise to see that the wine list only offers a selection of Thai wines but to our surprise , the selected wines accompany the dishes exceptionally well. Absolutely great experience and I highly recommend it if you go to Koh Tao.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChrisAus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2015

Great review, thanks, we now have 2 more tables in front of The Gallery and The Gallery Wine Bar is open with live music.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gallery Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Gallery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing