We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best food we had in Thailand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gallery Restaurant

The Gallery Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 180 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Gourmet Thai restaurant with a view through The Photo Gallery. Beautiful, chic, cosy and personal. We open at 12pm and remain open all day until 11pm (be aware that we may close early at 10pm if the restaurant is quiet so best to book for late sittings). Authentic Thai food with true Thai flavour using only the freshest ingredients and the finest cuts of meat. We also have a small selection of vegetarian dishes and an extensive wine and designer cocktail list. We offer you a fine dining experience in a creative atmosphere providing the highest standards for a discerning clientele. Please note that we are not a budget backpacker restaurant.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best food we had in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The food was out of this world and out of the 10 nights we where Ko Tao we had dinner at the restaurant 4 times as it was out of this world. The special ti curry served in a (coconut) is the best I have ever had and the dark moon martini is out of this world, one of the best cocktails I have ever had. To add to the good food and the nice atmosphere the personnel service you receive is outstanding from the manager/staff. Noting much more to say than start with the quail eggs and then have a coconut or massaman curry with a dark moon martini you will not regret it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steven201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to share this review, we are so pleased that it enjoyed it so much. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,167
    237
    72
    22
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Thai Green Curry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Myself and my girlfriend are Green Curry experts and this one is right up there. Great setting, clean and cool, nice menu, reasonable prices and nice personal touch from the manager. We don't go to many restaurants twice but we will be returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2015
Thanks guys, The Times newspaper recently said something similar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I dont even know where to start with this review, from the food, to the service, the staff, the layout, everything was just amazing. This credit lies with its owner Chris (and his lovely staff), they could teach alot of restuarants a thing or two about customer service and good food!

It was my partners birthday and I had emailed Chris in advance to see if he could organise a cake, not a problem he advised he knows the place.

When we arrived he was the perfect host, offering us advise on the best food for our taste buds and he advised that day a marlin had been caught a few hours before and he talked us round to getting it for our starter. My partner had never tried marlin, and he was not dissappointed. The flavours ad presentation where outstanding, a must try if you get the chance!

Our mains where equally as good, we shared a roasted pork dish and a coconut infused chicken and fish dish. The coconut was my favourite, it was cooked inside the coconut and tasted soo dreamy it left us wanting more. Although with the generous portions you will find this almost impossible.

Lastly came the cake, and Chris's promise was not wrong best place on the island. It was beautiful, we both managed a slice and left the rest for the girls in the kitchen for our thanks to such a fabulous meal.

Ensure you try a mojito from them too you wont be disappointed!

Its adviseable in high season to book, being the best restaurant on the island its totally understandable. Although when we were there we noticed they tried to get people a seat, if you do have to wait go and visit his gallery next door the pictures will take your breathe away of the beautiful island.

My only grumble is I cant visit it each week!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beaney83ci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2015
Beautiful, thank you. Really appreciate you taking the time to share such positive energy. Hope to see you here again soon. The Gallery Wine Bar is now open with live music to make the wait for a table all that more special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thanks Chris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We walked up about 7pm and Chris the owner managed to squeeze us in for 8pm. The service was personable and attentive and the food was brilliant. Worth all the positive reviews.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JTayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2015
Thank you so much, please come again, The Gallery Wine Bar is now open to improve the wait.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lot of restuarants could learn a thing or two from the Gallery!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

My partner and I ate here for dinner whilst in Koh Tao and it was a wonderful experience thanks to the owner Chris. The fact that we know his name is a testament to how welcome he makes his customers feel. You can see a true passion, love and care for the business, the restaurant and the food. We thoroughly enjoyed every dish from the starters to the home made ice cream!! We will definitely be back for seconds on our next visit to Koh Tao!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2015
Thanks guys, great to be so blessed to enjoy the company of people like yourselves in The Gallery. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gallery Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Gallery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing