We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finger-licking good!”

The Gallery Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 208 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $37
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gourmet Thai restaurant with a view through The Photo Gallery. Beautiful, chic, cosy and personal. We open at 12pm and remain open all day until 11pm (be aware that we may close early at 10pm if the restaurant is quiet so best to book for late sittings). Authentic Thai food with true Thai flavour using only the freshest ingredients and the finest cuts of meat. We also have a small selection of vegetarian dishes and an extensive wine and designer cocktail list. We offer you a fine dining experience in a creative atmosphere providing the highest standards for a discerning clientele. Please note that we are not a budget backpacker restaurant.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

First visit to Thailand and The Gallery was one of the first restaurants I tried. Very glad that I did. The decor is stylish, the service excellent and the food is wonderful. Being a vegetarian I tried the Thai green curry which was amazing. The fruit shakes were gorgeous too. If you are ever in Sairee village this is definitely one place worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DeniseFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Thanks a million for the great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 949 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Third visit to Thailand and def one of the best curries I've had! Was a bit disappointed that they were out of pork as I'd read reviews that it was good! The Thai green curry was amazing tho, it was well worth walking the length of sairee beach to find this restaurant! Def recommend it

Thank DublinLass26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed it, sorry about the crispy pork not being available. This is a great point though, when you are selling everything fresh as we do, means we may run out of some things towards the end of the evening. Best advice, we open for lunch from 12 to 3pm and from 5pm for dinner so beat the rush and come down early. Come again, give us a call and I'll make sure we keep some for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The gallery is a relaxed modern restaurant in the heart of Sairee. We really enjoyed the food and service. Slightly more expensive than some of its contemporaries but the surroundings are plusher. The wine list is limited to Thai only wines which is admirable but I would have preferred a choice. Next to the restaurant is the owners photo gallery with some stunning works reflecting the beauty of the islands, shame there was no prices apparent as I may have been tempted. Both restaurant and gallery definitely worth a visit.

Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thanks for taking the time and nice points. Our bottled wine is all Thai, 9 carefully chosen spectacular varieties, we are an authentic Thai restaurant after all, and we take pride in supporting the excellent industry that is growing here in Thailand.

There are now prices up in The Gallery but please guys, don't be afraid to ask for help or if you have any questions, we are only too pleased to help and we don't bite. As the pictures can be printed at any size, conversation is the best way to go.

Yes we are more expensive than most but also better value, not just because of nice decor, but due to our attention to detail and choice of the freshest, finest quality produce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Gallery after reading the good reviews on TRipadvisor. The food really was great and the best we've had sice we're in Thailand. Would definetly go there if you have the chance!

Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Our aim is simple, to provide the best of everything, glad you noticed and glad we seem to be succeeding. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Despite a small hick up with our booking the food was amazing and Chris very charming and delightful. Definitively worth the extra euros compared to the adjacent restaurants.

Thank PaulaTravels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

I am deeply sorry about the wait but glad we managed to make it all work out. We love to host such charming and understanding people. We also believe in the value we provide considering the complexity of our cuisine. Thank you so much for your kind words, please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gallery Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Gallery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing