We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, great experience”

The Gallery Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 192 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gourmet Thai restaurant with a view through The Photo Gallery. Beautiful, chic, cosy and personal. We open at 12pm and remain open all day until 11pm (be aware that we may close early at 10pm if the restaurant is quiet so best to book for late sittings). Authentic Thai food with true Thai flavour using only the freshest ingredients and the finest cuts of meat. We also have a small selection of vegetarian dishes and an extensive wine and designer cocktail list. We offer you a fine dining experience in a creative atmosphere providing the highest standards for a discerning clientele. Please note that we are not a budget backpacker restaurant.
Koh Tao, Thailand
1 review
“great food, great experience”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Its a great night everytime. Who doesnt want great food and service (even in thailand) at very reasonable prices.
i always bring dive students, friends and family to see chris and the guys, as their warmth and passion for food always make you feel welcome .

A constantly updated list of specials is always a good sign, but if they have the slow roasted massamum(peanut curry) make sure you try it!

Food will set you back approx 150 - 350 baht for a thai, 'fine dining' experience

If you make the trip you won't be disappointed
see you next time and thanks again chris.
paul

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul-macnamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for the kind words, it's always a pleasure, come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,252
    246
    74
    24
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ban Ko Tao, Chumphon, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect experience”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

There are some really good restaurants on Koh Tao which I frequent and have my favorites, but at The Gallery, I simply had my best meal I have had in years. It was the the experience that Chris and Pu (the owners) have put together that made this such a pleasant evening for my girlfriend and I.

Let them recommend you the starters and main course as I really am not an expert in Thai food other than the standard fare you get in your average Thai restaurants scattered all over.

Its an absolute treat and once sufficient you can check out the photo gallery right next door which Chris has accumulated over the years.

Well done guys, this is something Koh Tao has lacked for years, a good upmarket Thai restaurant

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks Will for the terrific review, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food & Great customer service.”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Great food & great customer service. Loved my vegeterian fried rice & partner loved his penang curry. The gallery next door is also worth a look - amazing pictures of Koh Tao.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Glad you enjoyed it guys, thanks for the review. We are continuously working towards improving our selection of vegetarian and vegan meals. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Trip advisor works!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Not surprised the gallery is no 1 in Koh Tao in fact the most enjoyable meal in Thailand including Bangkok. Excellent , interesting combinations ,excellent wine and the best desserts!
To add to this a very special photo gallery linked to the restaurant-same owners.
Miss this place and you will be the poorer for it!

Gill

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review, and thanks for all your help. Was great to meet you both. Hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really good!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We have had a amazing supper.
The service was really good.
Food was supurb and i can recommend the wine.
I have had the house wine what was really great.

Will come back again next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roelof78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Since you were last here we have expended our wine collection to become the exclusive dealers of Granmonte wines on Koh Tao. The wines are all Thai and are really quite exceptional. Come back soon and give them a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gallery Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Gallery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing