We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best restaurants on the island”

The Gallery Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 181 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Gourmet Thai restaurant with a view through The Photo Gallery. Beautiful, chic, cosy and personal. We open at 12pm and remain open all day until 11pm (be aware that we may close early at 10pm if the restaurant is quiet so best to book for late sittings). Authentic Thai food with true Thai flavour using only the freshest ingredients and the finest cuts of meat. We also have a small selection of vegetarian dishes and an extensive wine and designer cocktail list. We offer you a fine dining experience in a creative atmosphere providing the highest standards for a discerning clientele. Please note that we are not a budget backpacker restaurant.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Really fantastic restaurant with lovely food and great service. Chris the owner is very informative about the food and they will shortly be opening an art Gallery next door and spa upstairs. A great experience that we loved, but make sure you book as they get busy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thanks for coming and for taking the time to write such a nice and helpful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,197
    239
    72
    24
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best thai food on island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

fantasic atmophere, up market in style, taste and service but not in price.lovely food, people and owners there all the time getting to know people.. fantastic definitely reccommend

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Such a lovely review, thanks so much for coming and we all hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our best restaurant-experince on Koh Thao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a wonderful evening on The Gallery with nice thai food and wine! (which is almost impossible in Thailand..) The Naga Blend from Siam Winery was so good as Chris (the owner) told us. Well besides from the wine, the atmosphere was relaxing and romantic, and the food was a masterpiece. Chris told us the chef does what she does best and even he doesn't know all her secrets. You could taste real food made with love and passion. Just the way we love it! We had one starter to share, and then to main courses with fish each. Todays special is highly recommended. The prices was not bad either. Be aware that if you're many people in the company we believe its necessary with a reservation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohanneSofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thanks for the review and all the good advice. We do always have a selection of specials that aren't always of the daily boards so please feel free to ask for advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Definitly a good adress on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good service, owner very kind and of good advice.
Environement not to noisy (which is a must on the island)
Excellent food.
Worth the price...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thanks for your review, we hope to see you here again soon. As we are situated just outside the busiest area of Koh Tao's Sairee Beach, we do enjoy a great location as well as a bit more tranquility than some other areas, glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Thai food I had on my trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent quality of food and great service. Ask Chris (owner) for recommendations. Thai wine was good too.

Totally worth to go there, but book in advance the place is small.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank howieloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your experience at The Gallery, and thanks for passing on the good advice, book in advance as we are only a small restaurant. Or come for lunch when it's usually fairly quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gallery Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Gallery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing