We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place to stay on Koh Tao”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kantaraya Villa

Villa Kantaraya, stunning private villa, sleeps 6, views out to Koh Samui, roof terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Kantaraya, stunning private villa, sleeps 6, views out to Koh Samui, roof terrace
small Jacuzzi plunge pool with excellent views little private sala slightly separate from the main villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Villa Kantaraya, stunning private villa, sleeps 6, views out to Koh Samui, roof terrace
small Jacuzzi plunge pool with excellent views
little private sala slightly separate from the main villa
master bedroom and balcony, has ensuite
living/dining/kitchen area with shower/bathroom just off it. doors on each side for ventilation/view
bedroom 2, leading up from kitchen and out onto roof terrace
3rd bedroom on a mezzanine level above master bedroom, shared bathroom, 2 singles
kitchen with moveable island
cooking area
back view ( the roof has since been renovated with thatch 2017)
older photo of master bedroom without mosquito net, shows bedroom 3 mezzanine level
master bedroom ensuite, has shower and bath (recently converted to all indoors 2017)
older photo of living area, steps up to bedroom 2 now has railings, curtains recently been changed
older photo of living area, cushions have had an upgrade since and curtains changed
bedroom 2 before new curtains and mosquito net
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Russian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
kittybg
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Beautiful place to stay on Koh Tao”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a wonderful time in the villa with our 3 boys. Loads of space, beautiful rooms and views, great location in a quieter part of the island, but still close to the main hubs. Great recommendations from Marek and the owner - sundowners at Moon Dance not to be missed, great morning swims and breakfast shakes at Aow Leuk beach, snorkelling at Tanote Bay. We rented quad bikes which gave us the freedom to get around the island and have a great base to return to. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2014
Thankyou for leaving your review and I'm happy to see that the family really enjoyed it. I get wary driving a motorbike around so quadbikes are a brilliant compromise, glad they worked for you too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccc03
london
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Had the best time”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I have stayed in many places in Thailand but this has to be my favourite place ever. The villa is amazing. The views are hard to describe they are that good. Its very quite and out of the way but does not take long to get into the main hubs of koh tao. Getting checked in was easy and anything we wanted was taken care of. The place was cleaned everyday and beds made. Im not sure how to spell the gardeners name, we called him Eee but he takes care of anything you need while there and is a great person. Friendly and gives you privacy. On check in we was supposed to be supplied with 2 mobile phones but one was broken. This was far from a huge problem and we didnt really care at all but if we were a bigger group it might have been an issue. It is a bit out of the way and taxis are ridiculously priced. About 500 baht one way which is roughly £10 pounds. So hiring a motorbike is the best option. We had no problems with the bikes on koh tao but you do here stories about scams so just be careful. Marek who met and checked us in, helped out with hiring the bikes. We was very well looked after. I would recommend this villa to everyone it was beyond words. The price was more than fair and hopefully I will be back for 10 days next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2014
Wow, thankyou very much for this lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivhuynh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning place but horrible service from owner.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

My partner and I travelled there A while ago and experienced a poor experience. We had gotten into a motorcycle accident during this trip and this did not help though. From the start we were told early on in the day they would finish getting ready the place as it was not ready for us when we arrived. We decided to leave the place and explore and expected all to be ready by night. Unfortunately during this time due to poor weather etc we got into an accident. I couldn't walk without crutches and planned to just relax in our beautiful accommodation, we had saved money to pay for this seemingly extravagant part of our trip. However by night still nothing ready, no hot water to shower off dirt, and relax our aches. There was no electricity, fridge did not work. The television did not work. The groundsman villager at the time was very nice however during the remaining days we were there we had no privacy as on and off all day workers would come in and out and try and repair everything. The jacuzzi was not filled and did not work either. I was so exhausted and wanted a hot shower and privacy. Our planned romantic days was just not what we had expected and it just was a waste of money as all we had was cold showers non working everything and a nice bed and view. We eventually had to leave early as I got tired of constantly running out to get reception to call the owner and workers about problems and I wanted warm water. We contacted ashley who gave us our money back only for the last day we didnt use and nothing else but a sarcastic unapologetic response. We didn't appreciate this at all was a total waste of our money and just made a bad start a total bad experience to the end.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2014
I was sorry to see this review as I had already had conversations and emails between myself and the guests and they made it clear that they were happy and wanted to keep staying at the villa despite the spate of powercuts the island was experiencing. Hence on arrival it was impossible to fill the jacuzzi, watch tv, use the fridge, heat the water etc... I would like to think that between myself, my rep Marek and Nyi, we offer a great service to all our customers despite some challenging situations brought about by Island life! My apology was sincere, the price was reduced and I merely pointed out that all things electrically connected will of course be affected by a power cut. We have installed a generator and the lines to the villa are now also more reliable so I hope that these situations will not happen in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clee88
Khanom, Thailand
2 reviews
“Breathtaking house in Koh Tao”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This house is stunning. It is located on top of a mountain overlooking a beautiful bay. I went with my family and some friends and the house was very spacious and had more than enough room for the 6 of us. It is a difficult drive so be careful if you are renting a motorbike. We called taxis to take us back and forth and they cost about 400-600 baht depending on the number of people. There is a beach that is about 15-20 minute walk and it is great for snorkeling! Also we went to a nearby restaurant called Lung Pae which had free pickup service and excellent food! This house was perfect for our trip, and I would definitely recommend this house for a vacation on Koh Tao.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Difficult drive to get to the house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to leave your review and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much, see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahSLaw
1 review
“Great house for a week away from it all on Koh Tao”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had 8 nights here...just checked out this morning. House was a treat! Service by Marek and Yee was lovely. We spent so much time lying on the deck and looking out over Shark Island.

Our tips-
1) One person per scooter. It's so cheap to rent them and riding together is dangerous on that gravel road around the house.
2) Eat at Tukta all the time. Best Thai on the Island.
3) go down to MoonDance for sunset. Beautiful. If you walk there you'll be super sweaty when you get back home up the hills.
4) go for a 3 hour spa package at Jamikiri (spelling?) beautiful and relaxing.
5) get your own long boat around the island...much fun and freedom of where you go. Around 2000bhat.

Have fun! If we go back to visit koh Tao we will stay here again.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2014
Geat review, great tips....thankyou so much and looking forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbinbcn
Quito, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“5* experience on Koa Tao!!!!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Wow this place is spectacular! It is even better than in the pictures! We wanted somewhere for 5 nights on Koh Tao with my brother and his girlfriend but I thought it was a little out of our budget. We went in low season and I emailed Ashleigh directly as soon as I saw this place. She was quick to reply and we agreed on a price-incredible for the experience we had. This is a unique villa, you are literally at the top of the island, fantastic views all round, with everything you could need in the villa. I loved waking up in this place to the view. A few days of bad weather meant we didn't really want to venture out on those days and watched movies and played games in the villa, it has a large open plan living space which is perfect for friends and families. Marek, the rep who Asleigh arranged to meet us on arrival was a really nice guy and a great source of local knowledge and really helped us out renting scooters to explore the island (If you do this make sure you are careful on the roads!!!). You get two mobiles with credit which was a nice touch! Nyi who lives nearby the property is really great at looking after things and you can order in food or get laundry done through him. Overall, we loved Koh Tao, the Scuba Diving, snorkeling, and Sairee beach is the place to be for the parties on the beach ;) but we loved the sanctuary that this place gave us and it was staying here that made the whole experience a really special one. Thanks Ashleigh for making it possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views! No internet-sometimes a good thing!!! Adopted a cat!
Liked least: The weather perhaps!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2014
Thankyou for such a lovely review, glad you loved it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koos L
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views, excellent service, top accomodation”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We had wonderfull days in this villa! We enjoyed every minute of it.
Oceanview, big spaces, good service (like snorkeling gear, towels, cleaning daily), very kind hosts and so onb. The villa is luxury, but just not exaggerated.
Just watch out drinking too much, because when you head back to the villa, you're scooter driving skills have to be good, thanks to the bumpy road ;)
In the end we had the best time on Koh Tao and will certainly come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: no wifi
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2014
Its great when guests take the time to write a review and even better when it is as positive as this, thankyou!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing