We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok during rainy days.”
Review of Island Muay Thai

Island Muay Thai
Ranked #17 of 51 things to do in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of Muay Thai on Koh Tao, Thailand. Located in Sairee on Koh Tao, Island Muay Thai training and fight arena provides the Island of Koh Tao with all the needs for visitors, locals and local fighters! Established in 2002 Island Muay Thai is the first Muay Thai training camp and only to provide weekly to fortnightly fight nights.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Ok during rainy days.”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

As the weather wasn’t that great in the period we were on Koh Tao, I decided to stay fit by visiting the island Muay Thai. I paid for a one hour training and enjoyed it to the fullest. After warming up by jumping rope, they pushed me to my limits. The trainers don’t speak English, but boxing is a universal language so it won’t be hard to understand what they’re trying to teach you. Although on the other hand this makes the training less personal.

Overall a fun (and cultural) experience if you have some time left and want to taste this style of boxing in an authentic, no-nonsense environment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank WouterVG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    16
    6
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Cultural Experience”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My two sons (13) enrolled into the Muay Thai gym when they arrived for a few months living on the island. Both boys attended the gym six days per week and became strong and their your bodies became athletic. The both enjoyed the atmosphere at the gym and the Thai Coaches helped them interact with the young Thai boys there own age. I as a "stand up" boxing coach spent time training there also and I do recommend any budding Muay Thai boxers to go check it out whilst on Koh Tao.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RawDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Get FIT get Island Muay Thai”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Awesome fighters training fit people! Pitoon and Bang I met 5 years ago..this gym has it all great team ready to get you into shape. It's a must visit gym and awesome training sessions! I will be back - Love Island Muay Thai even in the rain. Great value too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kicking back”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Mauy Thai is ok if you just want to get an idea of Thai culture, but the best fights are in bangkok, if you want proffessional Mauy Thai. but for the average tourist I think they would enjoy it here

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tripper777hoian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing 2 weeks!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had never done muay thai before and decided I wanted to step things up from just boxing alone. When you first arrive everything is really welcoming. The trainers don't speak huge amounts of english but they know enough for you to be able to understand your training and have fun while doing it! They cater for anyone from beginners to fighters. Your initial session will be spent finding out fitness levels and level of skill. From then on they push you to your limits. Had an amazing experience and would definitely go back as I didn't get chance to participate in fight night this time around!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank amy270486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Muay Thai also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Island Muay Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing