We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Padi - Open Water Diver

t‘s a wonderful place to start with diving. Just finished my Open Water Course, in February, we... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
DENNI030
,
Berlin, Germany
Recommended

Dive school: Great experience. Professional dive school. Safty first. Top notch equipment. Hotel... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
yechielr2013
,
bney brak
via mobile
Read all 857 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Koh Tao
from $47.15
More Info
from $28.26
More Info
from $28.21
More Info
from $58.24
More Info
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveler rating
794
42
14
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
794
42
14
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews van den pool bar fun dives open water course dive shop these guys instructor development advanced open water sail rock my boyfriend special thanks great instructor amazing experience padi course feel comfortable made us feel free accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 857 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2020

I was part of the January 2020 IDC and it was absolutley great. Marcel Van Den Berg is a really geat Course Director with a lot of experience in IDC courses and of course also in all of the other PADI Courses. With his enthusiastic and funny way of teaching the stuff and telling a lot of related stories too makes a fantastic mix of fun and seriusness. Also it is not only a course that prepares you to pass the Instructor Examination it also prepares you for the real life teaching and you learn way more than in the standards is required. In my opinion the IDC with Marcel should do every passioned diver. Dosen`t matter if you want to work as a instructor or not.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank aarond983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2020

I did my IDC last December at Sairee Cottage in Koh Tao. So, what i can say about Marcel! Only the best!! In my opinion he is the leader in Koh Tao. He is the one!
If you want to really learn about what instructor job looks like, just go to this guy! You will not regret it!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank NikosK2256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2020

My husband and I signed up to do our Open Water course here after some online research. There were so many dive centres on Koh Tao it was really difficult to narrow it down but I’m so glad we picked Sairee Dive Cottage!
The centre itself and the facilities are great. The classrooms are well set up and there’s a nice pool where you try out all the skills. The groups are also small - we had four in our group with two (on the last day even three) teachers/master divers - so everyone was well supported.
What really makes this place so great though are the staff. Lional was our instructor and you honestly couldn’t hope for a better teacher. Really professional, explained and demonstrated things clearly and made sure we were all ready for our exam. And then on the dives he made everything fun and easy whilst making sure everyone was safe at all times. Also Courtney, our Master diver/ deputy instructor, was brilliant. She was so enthusiastic and funny and also super professional and reassuring. Obviously I thought these guys were the best but the instructors with other groups also seemed really nice. The boat is also amazing and you get tasty cookies between dives! I’d definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting to learn or develop their skills.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2020

What an amazing experience! Choosing Sairee Cottage to do my IDC was by far one of the best choices I’ve made. Marcel has mastered the art of teaching people to be the absolute best instructors they can be. The entire time you have so much support from Marcel, the staff instructors and other Candidates. You feel like part of a family throughout the course, and I think that is something truly special!!

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank airiesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2020 via mobile


ที่นี่เป็นที่นิยมมากในหมู่ชาวต่างชาติเรียกว่าติดtop5 เท่าที่ทราบมีInstructorเป็นคนไทย(ผู้หญิง)2คนค่ะ

เรามากับพี่สาวสองคน เรียนOpen water ครั้งแรกกับครูเอ้ (เราขอครูไทย) เค้าจัดคลาสแยกให้คนไทยโดยเฉพาะเลย 2คนต่อครู1คน ครูฮามาก บันเทิงมาก ความรู้แน่น proมากๆ

วันแรก
-ช่วงเช้าเริ่ม8โมง ดูvdo สั่งกาแฟ อาหารเช้ามาส่งที่ห้องเรียนกินไปดูไปได้
-ห้องเรียนน่ารักมากๆ อยู่ริมสระ เป็นห้องพัดลมแต่บรรยากาศทะเลๆ vdo ที่ดูเป็นภาษาอังกฤษ ข้อสอบเป็นภาษาอังกฤษ แต่ถ้าอยากได้ภาษาไทย ครูก็หาให้ได้ค่ะ (ปล. ถ้าใครอยากฝึกภาษาลองดูvdo มาก่อนในyoutube มีsubtitle ด้วยลองsearch ดู)
-ช่วงบ่ายมีสอบว่ายน้ำ200m. (เราว่ายกากมากแต่ก็ผ่าน ครูไม่กดดันเลย)และลอยตัว10นาที จากนั้นฝึกskill ในสระ คนแอบเยอะเพราะมีนักเรียนฝรั่งอีก3คนเรียนow เหมือนกัน แต่ครูก็บริหารจัดการกันได้ดีค่ะ

วันที่2 ช่วงเช้าดูvdoต่อ บ่ายลงทะเล
-ได้ไปรวมกรุ๊ปกับนักเรียนฝรั่ง3คน มีDive master trainee มาช่วยครูอีกคน รวมทั้งกรุ๊ปเป็น 7 คน ครูดูทำงานมากขึ้น เพราะต้องหันมาอธิบายย้ำเป็นภาษาไทยอีกที เหมือนต้องสอนสองรอบแต่ครูอดทนมาก ไม่หงุดหงิด ดูไม่เหน็ดเหนื่อย บอกให้ถามได้ตลอด พี่เรามันก็ถามตลอด (บางทีถามแทรกตอนครูคุยกับฝรั่งหลายรอบครูยังไม่บ่นเลย นับถือใจครูมากจริงๆ) เราก็ฟินคือได้ฟังภาษาอังกฤษด้วย ไทยด้วย ใครอยากฝึกภาษาไปด้วยนี่ฟินๆไปเลย สกิลภาษาอังกฤษของครูไม่ต้องพูดถึง ครูเล่นมุกได้ไม่หยุด

-ตอนลงทะเลเรามีปัญหาเรื่องการลอยตัว ทั้งครูและDMT คือประกบเราหนักมาก อบอุ่นและรู้สึกปลอดภัย คือลึกๆเราเกรงใจมากที่ครูต้องมาดูแลใกล้ชิด คือครูสอนแล้วอธิบายแล้ว แต่เราทำไม่ได้เองแต่ครูก็ไม่หงุดหงิดเลย อธิบายแนะนำตลอด ทำให้กล้าลงในทุกไดฟ์ มีอะไร กลัวอะไร กังวลอะไรก็บอกครูได้เลย ครูรับฟังและแนะนำตลอดแถมกลางคืนบอกว่าส่งmessageมาถามด้วยก็ได้ ประเสริฐไปอีก

-บนเรือลำใหญ่มาก มีกาแฟชา ขนมปัง ผลไม้ น้ำเปล่า ห้องน้ำ ฝักบัวอาบน้ำ ที่อาบแดด ที่นั่งในร่ม ชิวๆสบายๆบนเรือ boatboyใจดี

คนที่คุยเก่งได้เพื่อนกลับไปแน่นอน เพราะที่นี่ฝรั่งดูfriendlyมากๆ ทั้งนักเรียนและสตาฟ

ที่นี่มีที่พักกับร้านอาหารของตัวเอง sunset view ที่ร้านอาหารดีงามมาก bbqไก่ อร่อยมาก มะม่วงปั่นด้วยค่ะ

สระว่ายน้ำมีสองที่ ที่แรกตรงที่พักเป็นสระน้ำเกลือ สะอาดว่ายไม่แสบตา มีร้านไอติมกับร้านอาหารเช้าอยู่ข้างสระ staff น่ารักมาก อาหารไม่แพง
อีกสระเป็นสระสำหรับเรียนว่ายน้ำอยู่ตรงpoolbar ชอบมากๆ ช่วงสายๆเป็นต้นไปคนเยอะ

ติดต่อทุกอย่างทางอีเมล์ ตอบเมล์ทุกวัน (ไม่ตอบทางigนะคะ) เราติดต่อเป็นภาษาอังกฤษ ตอนมาถึงท่าเรือโทรแจ้งให้รถมารับ ก็ได้คุยกับฝรั่งค่ะ แต่คิดว่าถ้าใช้ภาษาไทยก็ได้ เพราะมีstaffคนไทยเหมือนกัน

สรุปคืออยากให้คนไทยมาลองดูค่ะ ^_^
Once again thanks heaps Kru Aey, Lukas and SCD for the great dives

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank kyrhatii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews