We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxed and friendly place in amazing nature”
Review of Baan Talay Koh Tao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Talay Koh Tao
Ranked #31 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed January 8, 2013

we stayed 10 days in the sea view suites and loved it! the view as well as the frequent visits from squirrels and beautifull gekkoes formed a relaxing nature experience.

staff is super nice and professional and the restaurant is both tasty and with an unbeatable view over the bay.

The price of both the rooms and the food is incredible compared to the standard.

A little difficult to access though but that can be fixed with renting a scooter or using the free taxi shuttles at fixed times.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BanDitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newheavendiveschool, Owner at Baan Talay Koh Tao, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Hello Guys thank you for writing a review and letting others know about the peaceful and beautiful surroundings at Baan Talay, we always feel good when our guests enjoy their time with us, i hope we can share the magical atmosphere at Baan Talay again another time. All the best, devrim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Baan Talay Koh Tao
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 116 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

Baan Talay was an amazing place to stay...stumbled across it when we couldn't find any accomodation through New Heaven dive shop.
The rooms had the most amazing view and were very clean and comfortable, all for such a reasonable price!
Mimi and her team were there to help with anything and were right there to serve any food and drink which all tasted delicious!
Highly recommend to stay here, could not get any more friendly and helpful people along with the amazing view!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nwilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newheavendiveschool, Owner at Baan Talay Koh Tao, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review for us. Baan talay is a wonderful place and we are always happy when our guest enjoy it as much as we do. I hope you can come back again one day for more diving and relaxing in paradise, all the best and enjoy the rest of your holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is worth to know about! I was made aware of the existence trough the website of New Heaven Diving and they gave me a very nice price for the stay over there.

We had a sea view suite and sea view it was! Beautiful view that keeps you amazed day and night (night for the stars)

Room is good and comfortable (except the mosquito net was too low and was almost an extra cover). It's cleaned before your arrival but after that no one will enter your room to clean it (but if you need new towels or sheets, they will be happy to give you). We had a Mouse the last evening who went all over our stuff, but that's nothing the hotel can do about. But if you're afraid of animals in the room, avoid staying on the island as Gekko's are everywhere and they will enter the room!

The road that leads to the hotel could scare more than one, but if you stay over there, you go there because you want to relax in the evening and not be bothered by loud music or others that you would have on Sairee Beach!

The food in the hotel is good though and VERY reasonable prices. They don't surcharge you just because you have nowhere else to go, which is nice!

The hotel will provide free transfer to the dive center and back 3 time per day (morning 8:30, noon 13:30 and evening 17:30), but if you're not diving, timing can be restrictive.

If you want to be more independent and not pay very high charges for taxi's on the island, rent a motorbike (take a automatic one and be careful of the scams! Make a good tour of the bike and make sure they are aware of all the scratches BEFORE you go).

They have a great spot for snorkeling just under the hotel, but no private beach and very rocky! Make sure to wear some shoes that can go in the water as the access to the water is quite difficult.

For the rest, in the rooms you have no TV, no WIFI (at least it was not working when I was there) and nothing to do but enjoy the place, and relax after a good day of diving in Koh Tao...

Room Tip: The best views are in the sea view suites...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacquesD0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Baan Talay is a beautiful spot nestled at the top of a hill overlooking a quiet bay. Rooms and bathrooms are tastefully and naturally designed and just lovely. Staff are sweet and friendly and helpful, although I went at a quiet time and at odd times of the day I needed to find them. If you are looking for a getaway that gets you away from it all, this is the spot. I would have stayed longer only its a pricey taxi ride to and from if you don't want to go at the early morning and lunchtime slot of the their own taxi service. But really beautiful and just a little walk down the hill to a great snorkelling spot. And a hammock on your balcony over looking the bay! Lovely!

Room Tip: If its a bit colder - get the hot water shower, otherwise in the summer, cold water is fine!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LRH644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This place is really very special. We stayed as a family in two adjacent bungalows (they've only got 6 in total at the moment although more are planned), which, especially with the divers' discount from New Heaven Dive School, were extraordinarily good value. The restaurant, perched with a sea view to die for, is amazing - with a broad, eclectic and well-priced array all cooked to order. The bungalows are classy and simple, and are also blessed with an amazing view. The staff and owners are fantastically friendly, and seemed genuinely just to want us to be happy and comfortable here.

It'll be fascinating to see how this place grows over the coming years. They have got big plans, but I doubt any of them will compromise its real selling point: it must be the only place on Koh Tao that you can't see from the sea, so symbiotically is it blended into and hidden amongst the natural wooded slopes. And yet you can walk down to amazing snorkelling off their private rocky beach area without every leaving their land too!

Highly recommended. It was a fair distance from any shops, bars or restaurants, but they offer two free transfers each day; and, in any case, its isolation is another of its unique ingredients. Personally, I wouldn't change a thing...

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Expatfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Baan Talay for 6 nights – we wished we had stayed longer. Koh Tao is a beautiful part of the world and we are so pleased we chose this beautiful hideaway over somewhere in the busier parts of the island. Baan Talay is truly off the beaten track and has been beautifully constructed in a way that respects the local natural environment. The place is almost invisible from the coast, yet the views to the ocean (especially from the deck) are gorgeous.

Our accommodation was a seaview hut – simple but perfect. Features we especially loved were the muslin mosquito net over the bed, the front deck complete with hammock and gorgeous sea views, the beautiful sea breezes that come through the front sliding doors (don’t be tempted to close the doors at night! Light the mozzie coil, keep the net over the bed, and let the breeze in all night!), and the lovely outdoor bathroom. The open air shower was a first for us – as was cold water showers (note that you can choose a hot water and A/C bungalow) – but we were pleasantly surprised at just how lovely a cool shower is underneath the stars on a warm Thailand night.

Access to the water is tricky – a steep climb down (then up!!) – but our snorkeling here was gorgeous and very private. The water is clear and calm.

The staff at Baan Talay are just lovely. Devrim is a wonderfully hospitable and welcoming host, and is truly genuine about sustainable tourism. Mimi and Tom are fantastic – Mimi was always available to take your food order or help with anything, while Tom drives the daily transfers into town. The food was also great. We certainly ate some wonderful Thai food in Koh Tao – some of the better meals were at Baan Talay. The spring rolls are simply the best on the island!! Perhaps the food was so good because of the view – we ate on the deck overlooking Shark Island and a secluded cove.

We also dived at the New Heaven Dive School – Devrim’s dive team are highly professional, friendly and clearly respect the ocean. We really enjoyed all of our 6 dives (we’ll post a separate review about the dive school).

If a secluded, quiet retreat from the tourists is what you are looking for, in thatched huts with fantastic views, you must stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanaBByronBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newheavendiveschool, Owner at Baan Talay Koh Tao, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are always happy to see and hear that people enjoy our place, its so good to see people relaxing in nature and enjoying the simple things in life. Hope to see you again on koh tao.
devrim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We've spent 10 days there.
For our third time on the island , we were searching for peace and tranquillity (as we benefit it by the past) and Baan Talay was definitivly the right place.Away from the animated and noisy areas of the island, this recent resort offers few bungalows, hanged on the flank of this beautiful side of the island, with a (litterally) awesome view on Ao Leuk beach.
The access is a bit tricky but nothing impossible with a motorbike.Let's say that this is the price for those who are searching for the old school, quiet and authentical Koh Tao.
The restaurant is on a lovely wooden terace with a incredible view on the bay (you can even find a telescope there that you can use freely to watch stars at night).The staff was very nice and smiling with us.
By going down from the bungalows to the beach, there's a private rocky beach where you can find one of the best snorkling of the island (parrot fish, trigger fish, box fish and more ...).
The owner of this ressort is also running the Newheaven dive shop on Chalok bay (one of the last human sized dive school one the island).By diving there, we got discount on the bungalow.Good idea!
Everything here is made to make you have a wonderfull stay.This was the case for us.
For sure, we recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionel_GRARE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newheavendiveschool, Owner at Baan Talay Koh Tao, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Hello Lionel, thank you for the nice review, its been good to meet you again after all this time and i am so happy you enjoyed our new place, hopefully we will see you guys again soon, all the best, devrim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.7 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow
0.2 mi away
Ao Leuk Grand Hill Resort
Ao Leuk Grand Hill Resort
#50 of 77 in Koh Tao
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Heaven Resort
Blue Heaven Resort
#28 of 77 in Koh Tao
99 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
#66 of 142 in Koh Tao
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sai Daeng Resort
Sai Daeng Resort
#11 of 77 in Koh Tao
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Talay Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Talay Koh Tao

Address: Moo 3 | Aow Leuk Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: $29 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Talay Koh Tao 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco resort for nature lovers, nestled in the tropical forest, with access to first class snorkelling amongst beautiful coral reef. Yoga classes and courses available on scenic open-air sala. Authentic Thai food served throughout the day, peaceful, secluded and natural environment. Amazing location in the gulf of Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Baan Talay Koh Tao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing