We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Banyan Bar

Banyan Bar
Ranked #68 of 192 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This bar is great if you want to escape your average annoying teenage travel crowd, it has great food, live music and drinks!! It's a very chilled and a great place to go and socialise, would highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank travel_lover0101876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    27
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great live music and burgers”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Introduced to this place by a Canadian dive instructor living on Tao and very glad he did. Great live music and big tasty burgers. Busy place even in the low season, friendly staff and epicly named drinks. Go and pay them a visit to find out

Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Wholesome family environment”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I can honestly say there is no other bar quite like Banyans. Take the family along for an evening that wont be forgotten anytime soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwimike404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bartender ripped me off”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Bartender ripped me off. Accidentally handed her a 1000 baht note and she said no it was 2 x 100 baht notes. Clearly saw the 1000 baht bill in her hand before she put it away. My fault ultimately but she totally took advantage. Also it was happy hour and she charged me full price anyway. Won't be going back and don't recommend. Full of pseudo local Brits with attitudes. You are not special and should treat your customers better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“If you want to feel at home on vacation, go to Banyan bar”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Finding this place was one of the best things that could have happened to me while on Koh Tao. The food is very good (Make sure you experience the Sunday Roast) and the drinks are strong and cheap. The vibe is that of a dive bar but don't say that while you are there. This is the bar that every Westerner that works on Koh Tao drinks at. you will inevitably see familiar faces and the staff is very friendly and welcoming. Jennie made me feel like an old friend within the first 15 min of meeting her. She was full of suggestions and advice for enjoying my time on the island and for that I am very grateful. Did I mention the Sunday Roast? If you are in Koh Tao on Sunday, go get a plate. You will be very happy that you did.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ibw10016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banyan Bar also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Banyan Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing