We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the worst on koh tao”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean View Bungalows
Ranked #125 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed ther in a basic double bed bungalow with a fan. The hole resort looks like its just getting built. The view out of the room is straight on the construction work but its not to bad because basicly there is so much to find out on the island that you're just for sleeping in you're bungalow. The bungalows really basic, the bathrooms as well but it was all clean.
Its really quiet and located at the beach in the middle between the main beach and the pier. Its just a 10min walk to both. Only bad thing is that there is no street connection to the mainroad for scooters or cars so if you wanna go somewhere you have to use the path along the beach where all the people walking.
It's not the best you can get for this price at koh tao but its still a nice bungalow resort.

Room Tip: ask for a fan room located with the door to the beach so you getting wind about the night and its re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panda_Cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 59 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

There you get what you paid for. Cheap place (400-1000 THB per night), basic rooms. You pay in the morning for each new day you want to stay here. Would you want to stay here for another day? That's depends on what exactly you need.

We stayed here for two nights. Our room was on top with a good sea view from a big terrace. For 1000 THB it's a pretty decent room. I mean, if you're travelling, you don't have to spend all day inside. It's a normal place to stay for the night, and that's all.

Yes, they have some problems with cleaning (I think, you have to ask them by yourself when you need some room service), and also there is no strongbox inside, so it's better to take all your goods with you when leaving for a day (but thievery is a rare case on Tao and Samui, as much as I know).

Also, there is no restaurant in resort (well, I didn't notice any), but I don't think I would eat there, especially when you have all the bars, caffeteries and restaurants within 2-3 minutes of walking from here to the beach.

The shower had some hot water, at least in our room. Conditioner was broken, but not the fan, thankfully.

This place really needs some work with. It could be fantastic resort, because, despite the poor room service (actually, they don't have any at all), everything is kinda great. Good location - 2-3 minutes walking from the beach with all it's bars, restaurants and fun; great view at the sea and the beach, especially at evenings.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We got this accommodation free with our dive school, DJL, for one week. The cheapest fan rooms should have been 400B and the aircon rooms went up to 1000B.

We asked when we wanted our rooms cleaning and when we wanted new towels - the lady also does laundry at reception.

The rooms here are really basic with cold showers and a desk fan on the wall. The bed was really uncomfortable and after 3 nights we realised it was broken! I woke up with small bites all over the inside of my arms but not sure where they were from as my girlfriend didn't have any! The location here is good, though, as it is right at the end of Sairee Beach and only a short walk into town and very close to the bars and restaurants along the beach.

We were staying in Koh Tao another week but decided to look for new accommodation because this was too expensive for what you got and I would only stay here again if it was free!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are dirty and never cleaned. There is NO room service,NO clean towels,NO hot water.
The bathroom dirty and full of stains. The sheets had yellow marks.
You have only one AC power on all room!
Just a cheap and desparate night to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vasilis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

It is really good place to stay on Sairee Beach. The bungalows are uphill with the most beatuful view over the ocean. We did not have AC in the room, only fan, but it was good, especially while sleeping at night. It was amazing to sleep with the terrace door opened so we could breath the fresh island air and hear the ocean. And no mosquitos uphill!
The very bad thing - bongalow was dirty. I really hate that. No one was cleaning the floor for ages. It was full of sand everywhere- room, bathroom, terrace. No housekeeping. We had to ask to change the towels.
I'd love to go there again, but I think I want more clean place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginija J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Ibrahim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Payan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#8 of 153 in Koh Tao
645 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,422 reviews
0.9 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
971 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Bungalows

Address: Moo 1 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: $13 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing