We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big [--] Shark”
Review of Planet Scuba

Planet Scuba
Ranked #46 of 100 Tours in Koh Tao
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Are you for Scuba? Come visit our Planet! Let our friendly and experienced team of dive professionals introduce you to a new world of endless and exciting possibilities. Based in Koh Tao Thailand, we are a full service SSI center offering all dive courses and snorkeling trips around Koh Tao. We are also the largest retailer of dive equipment on the island including brands like Mares, Cressi, Atomic Aquatics, Ocean Dynamics, San O Sub and compressors from Aerotechnica Coltri.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I've been at scuba Planet Divingschool to do my Open water diver .
It was realy awesome, i had Ellie as teacher, she did a Great Job. We werde only 2 guys in class and had a Lot of Fun. Diving is Great but gets Even bether if you do it with awesome People and at scuba Planet there are only awesome People. Everyone is friendly and helps you if you have a Problem.
Moreover scuba Planet is a Diving School wurde you can See whalesharks within your third dive :) (by the Way congrats to Ellie for her First dive with a whaleshark yesterday)
The accomodation is realy Good aswell.
All in all a Great Divingschool with Great People and a Lot of Fun.
If i find the Time i will come back.

1  Thank Dreadhead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Planet Scuba, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Dreadhead1,
Thanks for the very kind words. Unfortunately, we cannot promise everyone that we will see a whaleshark :-) but it was a pleaseure having you and we hope to see you again oneday.

Regards,

Planet Scuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 269 of 312 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We came back to planet scuba at the end of our trip around Asia, having dived there at the start. I was even better the second time round. Our friend was with us and did her open water course and loved it. We did lots of fun dives with Shaun and had a great week. All the staff are friendly at the dive school and at the pub afterwards. Absolutely love planet scuba and will be back for sure!

Thank travellingonaprayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Planet Scuba, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Hello galwaygirla, and thanks again for the kind words. I will pass on the comments to the staff and let them know to keep up the good work.
See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Planet Scuba is right on the harbour, the first place you see as you get off the ferry. We went there on our first day in Koh Tao when we were looking for somewhere to book a snorkelling trip. We were so impressed with the boss' honesty about snorkelling sites that we booked to do a scuba course. We did our open water course here and ended up staying a few extra days to do more diving. We'd never done it before, it was really addictive and we'll definitely be back for more. It was just the 2 of us in our class with one instructor. Planet Scuba don't take classes bigger than 4 students, and I believe the other schools take up to 8 students per teacher. We had Winnie as our instructor and we found her personable, funny and very knowledgeable. All the other staff were funny and friendly too, we absolutely loved it!

1  Thank travellingonaprayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear galwaygirla,

Thanks very much for the kind words. Hope to see you back here again soon.

Planet Scuba Koh Tao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Planet Scuba made our trip to Koh Tao really enjoyable. We had Brummie as our fun dive instructor-one of the best instructors we have ever had (we have dived all through Asia Pacific). He is knowledgable, professional and funny and made each dive very memorable. The company is well set up, near the pier so no faffing with getting on boats at the beach, free nitrox and good rates. Would recommend to any qualified divers to use this place and ask for Brummie or Winnie who are both stars.

1  Thank SamandTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear SamandTara,

We have some amazing staff working for us, and yes, they are great at their chosen profession. Thanks for the review, it is very much appreciated. I will pass on the message to the staff.

Planet Scuba Koh Tao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

With more dive operations than weeks in the year, Koh Tao is a top diving location. Have been diving with Planet Scuba for 7 years. The staff are professional, friendly and just great people to dive with. Observing the open water students being taught is so satisfying compaired to other operations here looking like battery chicken farms. Well worth checking out!

Thank monkeybreathLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear monkeybreathLondon,

We appreciate your return business over the many years. Thanks for introducing us to the world of tripadvisor too. See you again soon.

Planet Scuba Koh Tao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet Scuba also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Planet Scuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing