We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing- best Thai restaurant on the island!”
Review of Su Chilli

Su Chilli
Ranked #15 of 181 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing- best Thai restaurant on the island!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Best food (other than Big Blue Diving - which I also recommend) on the island. Best food - I am a vegetarian who recently started eating fish and found the restaurant very accommodating. Food cheap - and extremely delicious. Ate here most nights during my stay - busy during evening rush hour but didn't mind if we did have to wait as the beer was always cold and the place well air conditioned! AMAZING food. Cannot stress this enough. I practically tried Pad Thai in every restaurant or street market I visited, and this is definitely the second best place!!! Many of my friends had the curries which were all beautiful, and the starters we all shared and there was never a crumb left. Best food, great friendly service, cannot forget this place and would travel back to Thailand just to eat here.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HJRid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    300
    101
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing food!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Brilliant food, very extensive traditional thai food menu. awesome flavours, great busy atmosphere. i had the peanut sauce chicken noodle dish. absolute taste sensation!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mads92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Worth waiting for.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

During the evening rush it can be a busy little place, but worth waiting for the food. Doesn't always come out together if in a group of people, but this shouldn't be an issue. Spicy means spicy and the thai salads definitely have a good kick, but can be toned down if you like. We ate there 4 nights out of 10 and got the impression that there were many regulars. Fish cakes and fresh spring rolls are good and curry soups fab. won't brake the bank to eat here and operations are a european and thai couple with predominately Burmese cooks. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank middlegam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice Thai food”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Really nice Thai food in a busy restaurant right in the heart of Sairee. The service left a bit to be desired - the food was slow coming out of the kitchen, we didn't get plates for our entrees, hard to get the waitstaff's attention - but they were nearly full the entire time we were there so this can be forgiven.

Overall, great value Thai food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Callory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great thai food”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Really great food, friendly staff, well priced... The menu is vast and i tried a large number of the dishes, I ate really well at su chililis every time :D

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Su Chilli also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Su Chilli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing