We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and average all round”
Review of Koh Tao Hillside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Koh Tao Hillside
Ranked #102 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced and average all round”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights, sea view bungalows, a shed on the side of the hill for thb 2000+ a night. Two single beds which when pushed together left 1 foot down the side if the room. No storage/ hanging space. TV only had 3 channels available, wifi reception hardly reached us, no mozzie nets/screens, never found the sewing kit offered on website, tea and coffee making facilities would have been nice if bigger room, view was ok from large balcony. Restaurant overpriced, average food with a try hard approach to the ambience. Kind of detached from anywhere. We spent most of our time in sairee, 15-20 min walk or use the infrequent shuttle to get there. Get back on ya own tho, a thb 400 taxi ride or steep 25 min walk. Local shop opp. resort closes at 8pm. Reception didn't have a clue that we had pre-paid months in advance, and spent 3 days trying to check/follow it up. Other staff were mostly polite and useful, although inexperienced. In all overpriced and average.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cjars555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KohTaoHillside, Manager at Koh Tao Hillside, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Tafkap55,

Warm festive season greetings from the Team of Koh Tao Hillside Resort.

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review our Resort here at Tripadvisor.
We apologize for any inconvenience that we may caused you regarding the payment, we are currently working on trainings to prevent this in the future.

We are very glad to hear that you found our Team memebers friendly and usefull.

The size of the rooms are clearly stated when booking with one of our many partner website Agents, the stunning view beats the size by far as we heard from many guests in the past.
A few of those smaller Seaview Rooms have undergone some extesion and renovation, after this high season more will follow to add more inside living space, due to the building structure those extensions are naturally limited.
Wifi is advertised with only access in the public areas, nevertheless we are currently looking into the possibility to extend it to all guest rooms as well. We had some technical difficulties in our immediate area regarding the TV Channels, this problem is solved.
You comment regarding our Restaurant and the average Food surprises us, as previous comments here on tripadvisor contradict this, nevertheless we take your comment serious and keep monitoring the quality. We would appreciate if our guests have any comments during their meals so we can take immediate action trying to satisfy the individual tastes.

If you have a chance in the future to visit Koh Tao again, please drop by, we would be happy to welcome you again, either for a stay, lunch or dinner.

Best regards and a happy new year from
The Team of Koh Tao Hillside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    55
    52
    28
    52
See reviews for
14
118
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We booked the "suite" for 4 nights and cancelled after seeing the room. We paid for one night (cancellation fee) they refused to pay us back. When entring the lobby they already tried to charge the full amount for 4 nights before even asking form of payment. (Took card details from prebooking). Anyhow, no door for the toilet, lowsy Room maybe 10sqm, no table on the balcony, dirty floors, dirty surfaces all over, the Wood used for the terrace is worst condition, almost in danger of collapsing. Old tv. The employees is very friendly though. All over 1/10.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank230783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Having read previous reviews had mixed feeling before we arrived, phone reception from the pier and they sent transport immediately. All the staff have been exceptionally friendly and helpful. Having read the reveiws it was no surprise that the hotel is on a steep slope. We booked a standard room which was a bit on the small side but clean and comfortable, if larger room required book deluxe or sea view.
Stunning views from the restaurant possibly the best on the island. We paid 200 bht for a buffet breakfast which was great value for money. We ate in the restaurant a few of the nights and was not disappointed with thefood or srvice.The hotel is at the top of the island transport provided 3 times a day or it is just 10 minute's by motor cycle to the busier centre. They have an affinity pool with decking and sun beds to die for you can easily just spend your day there chillin out. If you decide to stay here do not be surprised by the steepness of the resort, hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: Standard room small you will get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plagegarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KohTaoHillside, Manager at Koh Tao Hillside, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Plagegarcon,

Warm greetings from all of us from Koh Tao Hillside Resort.

We thank you for your recent stay with us and for the kind comments you have shared here at Tripadvisor.
Your comments towards our Team Members and the food gave all of us a great boost of confidents and motivation.
The Standard Rooms undergo currently a renovation step by step to expand the living space and we are hope this will bring more comfort for the guest to visit us.

I look forward to welcome you again during your next visit in Thailand.

Best regards
The Koh Tao Hillside Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I used, as many times in the past, a famous site to book 2 deluxe bungalows for my friends and I in this hotel. We were supposed to pay on arrival, no pre payment.
However, this hotel has decided differently - why follow a contract?- and thus took the full amount of money from my bank account. Obtaining them to reimburse me took me a month, to get in the end a refund less than what they took from me.
And they wouldn't hear anything. Hence I believe the words thiefs, unethical, malevolent and criminals do apply here.
Koh Tao Hillside, No thank you very much. Would prefer to sleep on a beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foudinguette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KohTaoHillside, Manager at Koh Tao Hillside, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Foudinguette,

I apoligize for any charges that may have occured wrong in your case.

Please let me clarify to you that we have not taken any money from your bank account. If any charges occured, they were charged from your credit card.
Refunds usually take about 14 bank working days since it is the banks internal procedure. Refunds will not done to the bank account, but refunded to the ones credit card, since the charges occured there.

To clarify, we did a mistake in charge you before you checked in and I sincerely apologize for this mistake, thiefs usually keep what they steal, but we do refunds as soon as we get noticed.

Sincerely
Koh Tao Hillside Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Perfect location at the north end of sairee beach, the place to be for a relaxing holiday. Small village nearby with nice and cool shops n bars. Staff was very friendly and helpful, also in extraordinary situation, thank you very much again Marvin, you made our stay a holiday to remember. I can highly recommend the ressort, grüße aus deutschland, birgit

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KohTaoHillside, Manager at Koh Tao Hillside, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Karsten,

Warm greetings from the team of the Koh Tao Hillside Resort.

We thank you very much for your stay with us and are delighted to read that you had such a great time with us.

We all hope you will pay us a visit on your next trip to Thailand.

Best regards
The Koh Tao Hillside Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The most spectacular thing about Hillside is the view. It also makes the whole thing worth it. Hence, the namesake. At first we were worried the steep pathways to get around would be a drag but it wasn't so bad. Our room was comfortable and clean, complete with a small lizard or two and the staff made us feel welcome. A nice breakfast was included. It was only 20 minutes walk to Sairee beach for the restaurants and beach but we scootered around anyway. Hillside made a good homebase away from the hectic parts of the island.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a good view because that's the whole point of this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KohTaoHillside, Manager at Koh Tao Hillside, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Karenzo,

Very warm greetings from all of us at the Koh Tao Hillside Resort.

Thank you very much for your stay with us and the kind comments to share with other travellers here on tripadvisor.
As you stated correct, as the Resort name says, we are on a hillside, steep walkways, but also with a view to die for, especially during a private dinner by the Sea, or some market fresh BBQ at our recently opened Sea Shore Restaurant.

My Team members were particullary happy to hear that you were felt welcome.

I look forward to have a chance to welcome you, if you plan to spend your next vacation in Thailand again.

Best regards
Koh Tao Hillside Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanning, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and had a great time, although after reading the other reviews here were nervous on arrival
The good,
Quiet individual bungalow pole houses nestled into the hillside jungle with amazing sea views, the 2 restaurants, reception and the pool share the same spectacular view.
The staff were fairly helpful although we didn't have much to do with them, the one lunch and one dinner we had were both not at all bad, and the long island iced teas were good.
The room was a nice 3 star room with a good super-king bed, nicely furnished good size and comfortable.
The bad,
It is over 1km down a steep hill to Sairee beach….. Easily fixed by hiring a scooter at around 200 bart a day
Don't underestimate the stairs, you only need to read the other comments to know it is built on a steep hill with stairs everywhere…. This is where the amazing views come from.
You only get 1 key per room, they keep the only other key and will let you in if you don't have your key….but they are not available from 11pm until 6am.
The beach is very small and not ideal for swimming, as some have said there is broken glass on the beach, it is not new glass…. most of it has been polished smooth by the sand (I don't know why they don't just pick it up, probably only a couple of hours work to clean their little beach, there is no other access to the beach so if they cleaned it, it should stay clean

Tips,
Pay the extra as we did for a larger "deluxe sea view villa, they all have balconies and impressive sea views, the smaller bungalows look very small and garden view makes no sense in this setting.
Hire a scooter for 200 bart a day or pay about the same for each trip in taxis which are always in front of the resort and the trip to town and beach isn’t an issue.

Room Tip: Take a deluxe sea view Villa for great views a a good sized room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 850Motel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thipwimarn Resort
Thipwimarn Resort
#43 of 49 in Koh Tao
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit Buncha Resort
Dusit Buncha Resort
#26 of 49 in Koh Tao
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Leaf Resort
Palm Leaf Resort
#8 of 77 in Koh Tao
311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wind Beach Resort
Wind Beach Resort
#45 of 77 in Koh Tao
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Hillside

Property: Koh Tao Hillside
Address: 19/1 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Hillside 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Koh Tao Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing