We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tony, the dog, and of course the hotel sealed the deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow
Ranked #43 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We wanted rustic, inexpensive lodging and we got it here. The views from the dining area and hut were magnificent. And we ended up spending all 12 nights here and hung in the dining area every evening cuddling up with the dog, talking to Tony, the down to earth host with a good humor and ordering dinner from the menu. Its secluded , therefore, add to your budget cost of their truck taxi. We leave at 830 am everyday and got picked up every evening in the center. No beach. After dinner drinks and listening to music was our past time, preferring this to the center's loud atmosphere. You must be prepared to feel the breezy evening air and do not much of anything but chat, and feel close to each other. We loved our stay and only recommend it to people who appreciate low key atmosphere. Just remember, since English is not Thai first language, practice patience and be a globally friendly visitor always.

Room Tip: Room 13 , the farthest one. Has the best breeze . Wake up to the sunrise at least once during your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orpillag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 100 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The views at the hotel are incredible, they have great people working there as well. The hotel is far from anything you pretty much rely on them for everything. It's also a bit pricey for their taxi because of the hill area they are in. Large balcony with hammock! The food could be priced a bit better as well. The only bad thing about the room is that you hear everything around you including your neighbors. Depending on how long you stay in ko Tao, I recommend you find a place in town but at the end of that stay give this place a go for a night or 2.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for three nights and loved it. It was so good to get away from the annoying and hectic Sairee beach.
The eco-friendly bungalows are surrounded by the jungle, looking out onto the sea with views of Lang Khai bay, and the next (I don't know the name) and even across to Ko Pha Ngan. The have balconies with hammocks which were lovely, but beware of ENORMOUS mosquitos that bit us through our clothes.
The walkway down to the beach was a little sketchy, so be careful, but it was so worth it. Make use of their free snorkelling equipment, the water is clear and there are hardly any other people around.
I thought the food was tasty and reasonable and all the staff were friendly.
It would have been useful to know beforehand that this place is only accesible by 4x4 and taxis are expensive, plus the hotel's driver is grouchy and refuses to drive at night. We booked a taxi into town at 5pm (the latest he would take us) and he turned up on our balcony at 4.30, shouting that it was time to go! I was in the shower (this place has out-door bathrooms that don't offer a lot of privacy) ans was not impressed. Then when we left the hotel to go to another on the other side of the island he got really angry with us for not knowing where it was. We had the name and address and he had been told by Moondance staff where we were going, but after a few minutes of driving he kept stamping on the brakes and demanding that we tell him where it was, then he would drive another 100m or so and do the same. Very odd.

Room Tip: Room 10 was mosquito central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauriegoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This resort is really located in beautiful place, but there is not much to do if you arrive with family.
The entrance to water is not suitable for children and it becomes problem taking into account the climate in Thailand. It is possible to book transfer to other beaches (they have own taxi and driver in this resort) but they terrible overprice for that. What I disliked very much is that we agreed about "total price" of the transfer to the beach and back with their driver and when we returned out of sudden the price doubled. We had quite an argument about it and in fact it spoiled little bit our stay in Moondance Magic View. Another think when out of sudden after using the service we where asked to pay something extra was breakfast for our daughter. Nobody mentioned we should pay extra for that until 3rd day of our stay. And one more thing, after we booked stay in this resort we tried to contact the resort by email and phone couple of times but without success. Nobody responded to our emails. It was adding some uncertainty to our trip.
I admit that the bungalows are very interesting, staying in these bamboo huts is attraction itself and views are fantastic, but but staff in this resort is really spoiling vacation. I do not recommend this resort. There are nicer place in Thailand.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halina_GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed there for a couple of days.... staff especially Tony was very helpful .. food is ok.
Rooms are clean and has an open toilet, views from the rooms are beautiful . they have a couple of playful dogs ... had great time , do carry some music which can be attached to the BAR music system. the place was one of the best places we had in Thailand.
cheers and happy exploring

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The hits with hammocks are great, all with sea views. The toilets are open (don let this put you off!) - its something different and helps make a holiday.

Tony is a good laugh and the evening spent with beers, listening to music and watching the stars away from the gap-yaaar masses is well worth the price...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob_walsh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Moon Dance has a set of nice bamboo bungalows with great open air bathrooms. Each bungalow offers a hammock from where you can enjoy the stunning sea view. The terrace of the restaurant is also very nice and offer privacy for those who need it. You really can feel how much effort it needed to build this resort on and around the huge rocks, great job! On the flip side, there is no beach, but a rather rocky entry to the sea (good for snorkeling). Furthermore, the resort is rather secluded and you need to get a (pricy) taxi if you want to go to the beaches nearby (you can also walk, but it’s quite a trip..). The food is good, but due to the lack of competition slightly overpriced. For everybody who plans to stay longer on Ko Tao, I would recommend spending a couple of nights at Moon Dance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattlsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Montalay Eco Cottages
Montalay Eco Cottages
#56 of 148 in Koh Tao
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Family Tanote Bay Resort
Family Tanote Bay Resort
#55 of 79 in Koh Tao
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
PD Resort
PD Resort
#23 of 79 in Koh Tao
93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sai Daeng Resort
Sai Daeng Resort
#8 of 79 in Koh Tao
88 reviews
2.1 mi away
Koh Tao Bamboo Huts
Koh Tao Bamboo Huts
#39 of 148 in Koh Tao
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow

Address: Lang Khai Bay, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: $32 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing