We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for the Crusoe that sleeps in you!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow
Ranked #42 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Chateauguay, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect for the Crusoe that sleeps in you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

If you like marble floors, a/c rooms and looking at your tv or even get drunk at the nearby pub before walking to your room, this place isn't for you. However if you want to have a remote taste of more simple life, bamboo huts, setups made it a way to mingle with the nature and the most amazing views you ever had, then I dare you to spend only one night here.

The hosts are most welcoming, the food is great and there is four sweet friendly dogs lingering around. Althought in one of the hottest period of the year, the fan complemented well the breeze from the see in our hut. A net around your bed will protect you from the Mosquitos that are not too bad.

Far from the pier and city (about twenty minutes by very bad roads) it is the best place to relax. If you really miss the city too much, then taxis are setup to bring you around 8:30, 11:00 and 13:30. Arrange your pickup time in advance. The round trip will cost you 200 Thai Bat by person.

There are no beach. While the water is accessible, despite the nice weather, the water was way to hard to reach it. The nearest beach is at 30 minutes walk.

Regardless the nicest place we have been.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_2bTraveling69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    22
    17
    6
    11
See reviews for
5
46
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

It was a last minute booking and not right for us. Only stayed for 1 night. Taxi pick up from pier was fine until we stayed on main road after that it was the worst journey ever. Very very dangerous road. Was in shock and it ruined my holiday. The place is for people who enjoy being away from everything and love camping environment. No easy access to town. You need to eat there. Nothing else to do but go to sleep. But very friendly staff and amazing views during day. No beach access.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lagle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Poor welcome from some of the staff - especially the taxi driver.

VERY uncomfortable at the back of the pick-up to access the place.

No beach.

Our bungalow was right next to other bungalows, so lack of privacy.

However nice view.

I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lync07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Located high with a fantastic view. The staff is very friendly.

The rooms are as clean as it gets on this island, i.e. so-so, but what can you expect.

The sea is a bit hard to access but has very good snorkeling spots. No need to swim, the fish are already where you get in to the water. Why not take a fishing rod with you and catch something like a Red Snapper?

I'd recommend this bungalow to anyone going to Ko Tao.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank linuxlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have stayed there only for 2 nights, the reason being...unfortunately access to the beach is a bit rocky ( literally). Apart from that the place is absolutely wonderful, peaceful an quite with astonishing view of the bay. Thai food was good, good value for the money, excellent service and we were 2 out of 5 guests there. The staff was very friendly and helpful , they have gave us some advise of where to stay on the island. The bungalow was a decent size with private toilet and bathroom, fan ( no AC) and hammock. The only disadvantage is the rocky climb to the rocky beach where you can swim. Alternatively you can rent a scooter in town ( we would advise something more powerful that 110cc) and travel to Shark Bay for a nice swim and snorkelling.

Room Tip: Beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Idaagata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Nestled on the East of Koh Tao, If you want an ideallic setting away from the hustle and bustle of Koh Tao central, this may be the place for you. It has a wonderful breeze thats welcome on the afternoon heat, is clean, cultured and oh so picturesque.
Didnt stay there only stumbled accross it on a bike ride around the island. However next time in Koh Tao will definately give it a try. Cheap and bohemian but certainly well maintained and loads of charm.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vagabondee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montalay Eco Cottages
Montalay Eco Cottages
#68 of 135 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Bamboo Huts
Koh Tao Bamboo Huts
#32 of 135 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Greenery Resort Koh Tao
Greenery Resort Koh Tao
#58 of 135 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Talay Koh Tao
Baan Talay Koh Tao
#43 of 135 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balcony Villa Koh Tao
Balcony Villa Koh Tao
#37 of 135 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow

Property: Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow
Address: Lang Khai Bay, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing