We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Chalisa Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalisa Villas
Ranked #6 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed for a week and couldn't have asked for more. The villa was perfect - a short walk from all the action, spacious, spotless, a shop for essentials within a stone's throw and a great laundry place just down the road. Belynda and her staff went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, and it was fantastic to have a local phone for booking taxis / boat trips etc. Highly recommended, we wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    22
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
59
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My family and I had a wonderful stay at Koh Tao and really enjoyed the Villa. Belynda was a great host and provided us with a phone so we could reach her at any time. We were 4 adult staying in the villa and there was plenty of space for all of us. The villa has two air con bedrooms and a large common area with Tv + kitchen area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RikkeCFWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We were 3 adults staying at Chalisa Villas and the accomodation was excellent. The location was 8 minutes walk from the town, but I would recommend taking a torch for night time. Everything you needed was supplied including a mobile phone should you need to contact Belynda or her agent for help. Whilst we were there we rented a motor bike and were advised of a local reputable company, even snorkelling equipment was provided, nothing was too much trouble. Our transfers to and from the ferry were arranged for us and also our onward tickets to Koh Samui. If we returned to Koh Tao we would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

A home away from home with impeccable and caring service. A short stroll from the riff raff and noise that allows you to unwind at the end of the day or after an evening in town. Relax with nibbles by the pool, with views of the surrounding hills in a quiet location with a real village feel.

Restaurants 5-10 minute walk or stay and order in breakfast/lunch/dinner from a number of fantastic local food delivery options. Fast, cheap and delicious!

The local mobile phone provided with credit immediately allowed us to ease our way into island life.

Open plan villa, large comfortable lounge, kitchen has cooking facilities with condiments also supplied.

Bedrooms good sized with hanging space for clothes in both.

Four sets of snorkelling gear supplied.

After observing other initial accommodation options while on Koh Tao, we are so grateful we found Chalisa Villas.

Thank you Belynda for your attentiveness and support that is so rare to find.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itiswhatitis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We were specifically looking for a quiet accommodation option when researching Koh Tao knowing that Koh Tao often attracts the back packer crowd and the younger diving types.

We started researching a year prior to our trip and Belynda was very accommodating and readily answered our questions not only about her accommodations but the island itself.

The villas are located about a 5 min walk from the main Sairee Beach nightlife. We found this ideal as we were close to all the action when we wanted to be yet far enough away that nights were exceptionally quiet.

The villas were as depicted on her website. The beds were extremely comfortable. The private cooling off pool was definitely a perk. The villas were equipped with two outdoor patio areas and 4 loungers. Ideal for two couples or a small family. The villa is equipped with the kitchen basics. We found the TV satellite options satisfactory. If you are watching too much TV you are not relaxing enough on you vacation. Wifi can be a little patchy at times but that an be attributed to bring higher up the hill.

A mini mart is literally around the corner from the villas for any last minute items. They also do laundry.

If you are not afraid to rent a scooter, this would be ideal as cheaper groceries can be found closer to Mae Haad. We opted to not rent a scooter although Belynda can provide you with recommendations on reliable businesses. We walked every day we were there. It will take approximately 30-35min to Mae Haad and about an hour to Chalok Bay. Traffic can be a little crazy so just be careful.

We cannot speak more highly of Belynda. She was always available to answer our questions. She provides a cellphone to use at no charge. For convenience there are numbers/menus for take out as well as the number for Mr Bear, her contact taxi driver. Belynda will help you make arrangements necessary to make your stay enjoyable. She not only helped us with a ferry booking and transport back to the pier but she also surprised me with a little birthday treat that was left in our fridge! She also introduced us to a couple restaurants we would never have gone to otherwise by taking us there. The types of restaurants that only locals would go to. Our favourite was First Somtum located in Mae Haad.

We would not hesitate to book this place again should we return to Koh Tao!! Although next time we would try and lure another couple to go with us so they could enjoy the beautiful surroundings of KohTao and all that Chalisa Villas have to offer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tribsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

After viewing the comments on trip advisor we were not disappointed. From the pick up at the pier to the use of a mobile over the stay, the service was great. The villa itself was really tastefully decorated and spacious. The inclusion of the fruit hamper was also a really nice touch. There had been some confusion when booking as I had thought we were getting breakfast included, but this would be only minor fault. My partner and I really enjoyed having the stocked kitchen, and on a number of occasions bought back street food to eat in the lovely outdoor area. The highlight for me was the gorgeous plunge pool and sun loungers on which I wiled away many hours reading and relaxing. We also really appreciated the visit from the owner Belynda who was incredibly charming (as well as Winne who was really helpful). It's that level of personal touch that makes the difference between a good place and a great place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaB628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We was Greeted by Belinda, who is the most Lovely welcoming host. The location is very near to all of the local restaurants, there are no steep hill's which was quite a relief as Koh Tao is very hilly in places. Entering the Villa first impressions were great, The furniture was of high quality, every thing was immaculately cleaned. The two bedrooms were very spacious. And the kitchen very well equipt. The Best part of discovering our new holiday paIace was the fact they had taken the time to put together a Welcome pack for us which consisted of Breakfast, lunch & dinner take away menus from all the tastiest restaurants. This also had A tourch, Travel plug and varias information on the island, trips and tours. I was very shocked that there was a Medical box in the bathroom as safety is not really thought about much in thailand. I was Traveling with my 12month old baby and I found this villa was child friendly and a high chair was provided as well as a baby cot, with fresh sheets. both in good condition. The Tv was packed full of Tv shows and DvD's on a special hard drive. It was so lovely to have a private pool where no one could over look you. It was so lovely to stay somewhere where people take pride in there business and put so much effort into this. The staff were all lovely too. A Big Big Thankyou XX

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SprayTanSamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
493 reviews
2.5 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
851 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalisa Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalisa Villas

Property: Chalisa Villas
Address: Sairee Village, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalisa Villas are a family-run establishment, hidden in an old coconut plantation amongst other homes and privately owned villas. We are a perfect retreat for couples, families or friends wanting to enjoy the tranquility of island life combined with spacious living at a reasonable price. Our resort consists of two holiday villas. Each villa has two bedrooms, kitchen, own private pool and out door patio providing a balance of comfort, luxury and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chalisa Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing