We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island of Koh Tao”
Review of Chalisa Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalisa Villas
Ranked #7 of 81 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Beautiful Koh Tao is an Island in the Gulf of Thailand that is a must see with intense clear waters ,multicolored tropical fish and friendly natives. Our stay at Villa Alila was the absolute highlight of our Thai experience. The owner\ operator Belynda's hospitality and attention to detail was unlike any we received anywhere. The suite is spacious, modern, clean with a well stocked kitchen and offers a refreshing pool to boot.Two large air conditioned bedrooms were comfortable and quiet. Kung the manager is efficient and friendly and will make you feel right at home the instant you arrive. We had our breakfasts delivered from local suggested restaurants that were scrumptious and healthy. Belynda will steer you towards the Islands culinary delights and gear your experience to your tastes. Leaving there was unanimously the hardest thing ever! Thank You V.A. for the experience of a lifetime!
Travel tip: Besides a trip to the neighboring Island , Take advantage of an inexpensive day trip around the island by longboat. 2000 baht is the going rate for an all day experience which allows you to visit the glorious bays around tao with a chance to swim at your own pace. The ladyboy show we caught before leaving was even a hit with my rather conservative mother! potabella restaurant has delicious pizza and the drink and app. specials at barracuda rock!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 192 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

Let me start by saying I wish the Alila Villa was my house. The villa is lovely inside with plenty of space. The private plung pool was amazing as well and the location is great. Belynda was such a fantastic host, everything that we could have possibly needed was catered for. I intend to go back and stay here again. LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loie_Lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My friend and I came to Koh Tao for (what else) diving. Staying at Alila was possibly the best choice we made on our trip. Belynda arranged taxi pickup for us and Kung met us at the villa to give us the lowdown. Belynda really thought of everything to make the villa your home away from home: a cell phone was provided to reach Belynda and Kung and to make local calls; delivery menus were available; a binder full of recommendations of pretty much everything you need to know about your stay on Koh Tao, including restaurant recommendations; fully-equipped kitchen; magic box with lots of movies & tv shows; the list goes on. The villa is beautiful and is as pictured on Agoda - the beds are comfortable, as is the enormous couch, and there is an outdoor area with a patio set, hammock, lounge chairs, and plunge pool. There is a safe in the villa, which is not noted on the Agoda listing. The villa is about a 5 minute walk away from the Sairee beach main strip and a 10 minute walk away from the beach, far away enough from the buzz to enjoy island life but close enough that you don't need to rent a scooter. There is a convenience store directly across the villa. All in all, I can't imagine any other accommodations that could even come close to beating Alila, bang for buck. The impeccable service was what I personally valued the most - we emailed Belynda at 11:30pm the night before our arrival and Belynda answered within 5 minutes. Unbelievable!

Restaurant Tip: Barracuda was the best restaurant we visited, fresh seafood being the main fare. As for Thai food, we got sucked in by Su Chilli and mainly ate there. Zanzi had very good sandwiches (may I add these were all Belynda's recommendations for which we were very thankful).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellymelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Alila Villas and it was just amazing. Belynda helped us with everything. She organized my diving course, our tickets back to Bangkok, the motorbike rent and so on... The house itself is really huge, especially for just 2 persons. It has a great outdoor area with the small pool and the hammock. You also get a phone with which you can order food and call Belynda whenever you want. All in all was Koh Tao just perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madlen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in the 1 bedroom villa for 4 nights in October 2012. Belynda, the owner, was incredibly helpful from the moment I booked. It was my boyfriends birthday whilst we were staying and belynda planned an amazing day for him, from a snorkelling trip through to private chef and even a birthday cake. I wouldn't have been able to do any of this myself and Belynda made it all possible. It was a fantastic day!

The Villa itself is very clean, modern and spacious. The outdoor area is really great, the hammock was lovely and the pool was great to have a dip in to cool down. The location is a 10 minute stroll from Sairee Beach, this meant it was in a great quiet stop but close enough to the action.

I would highly recommend the villa, to couple, family, or friends .... you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leighmcd26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed in Alila Villas with three friends and we had a great time! It is perfectly situated, 5 min walk to town and beach and 5 mins to the Ferry. There is a little shop just round the corner and the restaurants deliver within 20 mins to the villa! The pool is perfect for cooling down in, and the seats/ hammock around the pool make it a lovely place to relax. Belynda is extremely helpful and knowledgable of the island and helped us rent out a jeep for a day, and helped us book our snorkling expedition. She also helped massively with our journey back to Bangkok. The Villa itself is clean and is suitable for everyone. With two big double bedrooms, a big lounge and a kitchen the Villa is very spacious and safe with lockable gates. We are definitiely staying there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The villa is situated within 5 minutes’ walk from the main town/beach and is about a 5 minute drive from the port. There is a local shop selling groceries, drinks and toiletries next door to the villa.

The villa is perfect for everybody; a couple, 2 couples, a family or a group of friends. I went with a couple and a young child (20 months old) which worked really well. The villa is very secure with 2 locked gates. It has a plunge pool which is great for a cool down. There is a table and chairs under a canopy next to the pool for those who require shade. The villa itself has a large lounge and kitchen area, 2 big bedrooms - both with double beds, a bathroom with a shower and toilet and a spacious secure terrace with a small gate. We stayed at the villa for 10 days, it was cleaned every 3 days when we were also given clean towels.

Belynda (landlady) was brilliant and very helpful. We couldn’t have asked for anybody better. She gave us a mobile to contact her on if we needed anything.

We will definitely stay here again if we return to Koh Tao. I will be recommending Alila Villas
to anybody I know visiting the island.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivSimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.5 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,599 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 50 in Koh Tao
480 reviews
2.7 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
526 reviews
0.6 mi away
la Cigale
la Cigale
#4 of 81 in Koh Tao
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalisa Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalisa Villas

Address: Sairee Village, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: $93 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalisa Villas are a family-run establishment, hidden in an old coconut plantation amongst other homes and privately owned villas. We are a perfect retreat for couples, families or friends wanting to enjoy the tranquility of island life combined with spacious living at a reasonable price. Our resort consists of two holiday villas. Each villa has two bedrooms, kitchen, own private pool and out door patio providing a balance of comfort, luxury and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Chalisa Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing