We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They show World Cup” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant

Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 180 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Thai, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Open from 07:00 - 23:00 We have breakfast, sandwiches, wraps, pubgrub classics i.e bangers & mash, daily rotisserie chicken, a fine selection of burgers and some Thai dishes to choose from. We show live sports shown on our 6 different screens. Located in Mae Haad on Koh Tao just a two minute stroll from the piers directly opposite Koh Tao Central Hostel & Island Travel. Reef Sports Bar and Restaurant is a great place to meet friends, have a full on meal, grab a quick snack, enjoy a speciality coffee etc. Open daily from 7am - 11pm we have an 8ft pool table which is 60 baht per hour, 3 networks of fast free wifi, numerous board games & travel books to enjoy your time here. We really hope you enjoy the "Reef Bar Experience" and please review us on TripAdvisor. Thank you Johnny
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They show World Cup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Arrived to Koh Tao during the World Cup 2014, and it was the only place that showed all the matches. The city was so quiet and it was extremely hard to find any sport bars. The stuff there is very freindly and nice. We went there almost every evening to have some beers and watch some games. They also have there pool and wide variety of beers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marrrga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    46
    16
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State of Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cool place to meet travelers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Reef Bar is a nice place to chill out, meet new people or just to watch sports. Good food and norma prices for an island. I went there every evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pricey but friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Good place to watch Footie, nice staff and a good atmosphere. Drink are bit more expensive than some other place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hughsie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Fine English sports bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Nice pub food is served in the Reef Bar, located in the main road. On weekends, expect live Premier League coverage. Meet fellow travellers while playing a game of pool. Service can be slow at times.
All in all, a popular, laid-back hangout for the backpacker crowd.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New menu is "AmazeBalls!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I've been to this place a few times before with friends and really enjoyed it.
It has a great feeling and vibe about the place.
It kinda reminds you of being in a country pub back home on a Sunday afternoon.
Having come back to the island and hearing it had a new menu, I had to stop by.
Wow! Other than "AmazeBalls!" what else can I say!?
It still has that great atmosphere, now with more screens-showing more sport!
The new menu is simply irresistible! Sweet potato fries, coleslaw, half a chicken & chips, Ribs with meat that falls off the bone! Macaroni Cheese like my mum used to make!!!
Writing this is making me hungry for it all again! Might have to swing by on the way home a grab a take-away!
In short; you won't be disappointed here. The food is great! The vibe is great! The decent pool table is great! The sports on all screens is great! The staff are great and what's more, it won't break the bank eating out here! 5 stars from me, that's for sure!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JetsetDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing