We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste of Home

Taste of Home
Ranked #7 of 180 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: German, European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Home style western and european cuisine in a great open air location on Thailand s most wanted island, Koh Tao.
uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to eat !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I ofter visit taste of home, its a great place to sit and have some great food and a cold beer, oh and not forgetting the home made baileys if your on the island then make sure you visit

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank UkTonyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    44
    14
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Happy family, full bellies........yum, yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

What a rare gem of a restaurant with great old fashioned personal service yummy food, and a relaxing atmosphere to boot. Its so lovely not to be rushed, but feel valued. Portions are massive, and that is NO criticism. This is not a place for vegetarians, as Swedish meatballs, schnitzel, and goulash are right there there served with buttery mash. It is home cooked food, with a homely atmosphere. Go here, and enjoy the food. Thank you Ushi! My kids loved it, and didn't want to leave...a great compliment.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jetfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Here you really feel home! See "more" for good directions!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Went to eat here twice in a row. The place is not pretentious, Ushi wants you to have a good time, with good and much food for little money. Portions are large, dishes are simple but delicious. We had Schnitzel, Chicken Cordon Bleu, Goulash and Kofta. We can recommend all of them, also the mash and the potato salad are awesome. The second time we met some australians and spent the evening with them and Ushi drinking beers on the terrace. A must eat when in Koh Tao.

Directions: turn right after you pass the Brothers (venue in Soiree). After 80/100 metres it's at your left hand, at opposite side of the road from "big and yellow" and "rocktopus".

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EliseBram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Great food great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

If like me you get a little tired of Thai food on your journey. This is the place to go. Amazing food. Quality service and good vibes all round. The owner ushi was lovely, she ended up hanging out and having a few drinks with us after our meal. It was like a home away from home.
Definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good food, good wine and amazing Ushi :D”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went in Kho Tao for a trip and we met Ushi, the owner.

She is amazing and her food is like her: good, home made, simple, multiethnic and with something special.

You can taste food from different countries, she does special parties inviting cooks from the world (and if you are lucky, you can be in Kho Tao in one of these days), everything is perfectly cooked, and she is very friendly.

You can really enkoy a place like that.


PERSONAL MESSAGE TO USHI: Our tour operator has send a mail to us to visit Krabi and Chiang Mai, so we had to leave Kho Tao as soon as possible. We tried to do a look to your restaurant, but probably you were sleeping.

We'd like to have your photo to remember you, and if you send us a contact, or an email, we can keep in touch, and maybe we can meet in Kho Tao in these months.

If you read this review, please tell to Niki that we made a review for her restaurant too, and tell her to read it.


Federico: raigeki@libero.it
Michele: miky23@fastwebnet.it

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Federico F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Home also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Taste of Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing