We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very good hotel for relaxation!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montalay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Montalay Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“a very good hotel for relaxation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

NIce view, nice pool, nice room and at the beach! Almost nothing bad to say about this hotel. The only "bad" thing was, that there aren't that many restaurants and stores at Tanote bay, so you will have to take a taxi or scooter to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oonacivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    249
    99
    42
    38
See reviews for
108
312
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Montalay really impressed us with the value if its service. We paid 900 baht (approx) 30 and we got a very nice room with hot water. Good clean room, great location, friendly staff, lovely facilities and the restaurant is excellent. And they have a pretty awesome pool too. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ethan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batchawana Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

This location was selected for its reputation as one of Thailand's best snorkelling spots. Unfortunately while we were there, strong winds and the resulting waves made the water turbid so snorkelling was somewhat disappointing.

However, the resort itself was very pleasing with a nice pool and beach, and a good restaurant and staff, all in a picturesque setting. It is family friendly. They even have a stand alone children's play room. The pool has a shallow section for children.

The resort is somewhat isolated from the main town but easily accessible by taxi or rented scooter. Included is one complimentary ride from the ferry pier (in the town) to the resort. The resort's taxi costs 100 baht per person one way.

We had a superior room which was spacious and good for luggage. We enjoyed the balcony, ideal for drying snorkelling gear and clothes. The air conditioning worked well and was quiet. For fresh air, there is a set of locking screen doors to the balcony that can be closed instead of the glass doors.

The food at the resort restaurant was well prepared and the included breakfast was fine. We did get somewhat tired of the food during our 5 day stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Montalay for 11 days with 3 children. The resort is very nice located - the snorkeling is great. We had a fairly strong wind some days so the pool was nice for the children. Also the playroom is nice if you are travelling with a toddler. We only experienced very nice people working here. Very helpfull with everything and very nice to our children - cannot understand the other reviews here on TA.
Would defenitely recommend this place to families and others who are looking for a nice beach away from the crowds.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarifa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Montalay is a wonderful hotel in everyway. The staff are so lovely & funny, brilliant service. The food is delicious including the amazing breakfast buffet. My room was comfortable with everything you need. The towels etc are changed everyday. I stayed for 18days & wish I'd stayed longer as I moved to a hotel for the same price on Koh Phangan which was shockingly bad, I then really realised what I was missing! When the snorkeling is good it really is the best. I will definitely go back one day. Oh and I had a really good oil massage too!u

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karentarifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in December 2013 and were a little bit nervous after reading previous reviews regarding the service. Thank goodness this was not the case, all the staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful, both while we were there and prior to staying via email. The hotel offers a free pick up service from the port and the return trip is a 100B per person.

The rooms were spotless and comfortable. There was complimentary shampoo, shower gel and daily bottles of water supplied. There is also a fridge in the room.

There was a good choice of food on the breakfast buffet. The resort is in a remote location, so you are restricted to the resort for most of your meals. This was not a problem for us as the food here was some of the best that we had in Thailand, especially the green curry snapper and the pad-thai. We thought the food was good value for money too.

This resort is all about chilling out and water sports, the restaurant closes at 9pm but there is a small beach bar.

Tanote Bay is stunning and the snorkelling here is amazing, you see a wide variety of tropical fish. Snorkelling equipment can be hired from the diving shop next to the resort very cheaply. The beach is not powder sand but slightly shingled. The only downside was that there was a little bit of rubbish on the beach, the couple of resorts on the bay could easily clean this on a daily basis.

Take plenty of insect repellent as there are loads around this resort.

I would come back to this resort and Tanote Bay, it was one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buki-Rivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

A few notes :
Negative -
There is no phone to contact reception in the rooms ..strange
The Wi if was terrible , kept dropping out ( every min )
Most of the male staff were very nice but the woman staff were very grumpy and gave a bad vibe.
Restaurant was bit more expensive then the other ones on the beach.
In general it's a money sucking place with very little atmosphere .
Positive -
Rooms were as advertised
Location is good ( to the left is better thou )

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yuval A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
1.5 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
2.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montalay Beach Resort

Property: Montalay Beach Resort
Address: 53 Moo 3, Tanote Bay, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montalay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montalay Beach Resort is a small to medium size hotel, locate in the eastern part of Koh Tao (Turtle Island) called "Ao Tanote". It is a beautiful secluded bay and is a great place for snorkeling and diving. Ideal for families with children or couples to chill and relax. All rooms, cottages and suites are close to the beach and nestled amongst the trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Montalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing