We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$56
$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$345
$290
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$156
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$48
$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$35
$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$132
$66
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $74/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
$153
$122
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$110
$99
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveler rating
238
289
117
52
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
289
117
52
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstanote bayeco cottagesshared bathroomtaxi serviceno air conditioningthe hotel offerslovely poolbreakfast was includedscuba divingbeach barbeach frontfanbahtislandpierbungalowtaxis
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 742 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

After 5 days that we spend on Sairee beach we went to the quiet side of Tanote bay in Montalay resort.

We stayed for 4 nights and i woudnt mind if we did only two,unfortunally.

Rooms (spacious,big bed,nice shower,...) and grounds are well maintained and the bay it self is supposed to be the best on Koh Tao (snorkling,clif jumping,etc) but i couldnt imagine spending here more time that we did as there is nothing you can do in the evenings (also you have limited choice of food which is to expensive for the quality you get (stay away from hamburger if you are hoping to get decent meat in it like i did,so sad).......go to the next place on the beach to the right /Diamond).

Also the staff is sometimes limited in communication/English and they do tend to forget what exactly did you order or even not bring it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beliblisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The beach was beautiful and the sunset was gorgeous. The environment is great especially if you would like to commune with mother nature, but it may be overbearing sometimes, and by that I mean the trees. I really wish they trim it a bit and exert some effort in keeping it nice and tidy. Anyway, the food was great especially the Asian cuisine, which I think they should stick to more. The Western breakfast that we had was nothing fancy, and if they had an Asian breakfast, I would have probably chosen that instead. It was more true to what they really know. The pool was clean and we really enjoyed nature. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. We had a great time deep sea diving with all the fish.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Nice, clean and modern hotel rooms. Very good value for your money but you have to be sure that you want just relaxing on the beach and do nothing else because you can find only couple of restaurants and very small market which only sells cookies and chips. We haven't have prepared that there is no ATM or good market near so we needed to take a taxi to get more money from the nearest bay. The restaurant of Montalay beach is little over priced and we didn't eat there since once. There are one cheaper restaurant near to Montalay which serves good thai food with a chill athmosphere. You can also find one reggae bar somewhere upp hills but we didn't go there because it looks empty at that time. Good and propably the best thing in our visiting was Tanote bay itself. It's offers wonderful snorkeling opportunities and under sea world with many colourful fishes! And if you don't want spend all of your time by snorkeling you can relax on the hotel's pool area which is nice too. The pool was much better place for water games or normal swimming than Tanote bay. Over all we spend very enjoyable week in Montalay beach resort but if you want party or some activites it would be better to make only a day trip here. And if you don't want spend too much money make sure that you buy lot of food in your bag before your holiday.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tiia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

stayed here 3 nights and the morning i woke to leave was the best. its a 600 baht round trip to get to the centre of town. on tuesday we went to have some cocktails and we where told that the bar is closed mondays so if you dont like beer tough. the buffet breakfast looked like hospital slop. i had a pasta one night and that was actually good would go as far to say the highlight of this place , average beach and rooms. poor service. if you hire a scooter the roads to montalay make it very hard for a novice rider. good if you want to relax and do nothing poor if you want a little fun

Room Tip: if you want to do something in koh toa spend a little more becasue this place will kill you in taxi costs if your on a budget
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomkelly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Montalay offers a mix of very new rooms with high ceilings and older bungalows in the bush. We stayed in a new room which was very nice BUT it is very difficult to sleep due to an a/c problem! The staff fienged interest and concern about the problem but it was never fixed and doubt it will be. Every few seconds there is a 'wheeze and bang' sound if you are on level 2 on the right hand side (facing up the driveway). So, avoid these rooms! The food is good, the bay is absolutely beautiful. Don't forget supplies as the shop does not sell much. Wifi is good, if you are into that ;).

Room Tip: Not level 2.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovebarbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews