We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$70
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$56
$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ameenjeerah Koh Tao(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$138
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$80
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
$241
$200
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$142
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$38
$33
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $37/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (741)
Filter reviews
741 results
Traveler rating
238
288
117
52
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
288
117
52
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstanote bayeco cottagesshared bathroomtaxi serviceno air conditioningthe hotel offerslovely poolbreakfast was includedscuba divingrent a scooterbeach barbeach frontfanbahtislandpierbungalow
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 741 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have been traveling through Thailand for 3 weeks and found Montalay by chance. We looked for one of the more remote beaches with multiple lodging options, in case some were booked or not up to snuff, Montalay also had a advertisement on our free map. Upon arrival the staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating, the facilities are very clean and well planned, the beach beautiful, and the price point below our expectations. We ended up spending our best 4 days in Thailand here. The snorkleing at Tanote bay is superb, it encouraged us to book a 5 stop snorkle tour which only illustrated that the best had already been had only steps from our room. The food is better than most and servers the best we have had here. The place is very family friendly and relaxing, so probably not prime for those seeking a party, but for those looking to relax, or let the kids run around all day it is perfect. Don't miss the unadvertised spa offerings. If we return to Ko Tao we would never stay anywhere else. Cheers!

Room Tip: The bungalows are very disney Robinson Crusoe, in a good way, while the main block of rooms would have you guessing you were in a upscale contemporary western hotel, until you see the view!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in July of this year, left previous booked hotel as extremely unhappy, so jumped in a taxi, and said just take us somewhere nice, this is where they took us, only had Garden room available, which was fine, a bit on the small side, and not much room for clothes (no wardrobe or drawers,) but a nice room never the less, sat TV, good quality bedding, tea and coffee facilities.
The gardens where lovely, and very well maintained, would have liked a bit more room on the veranda in order to enjoy the evenings ( ended up sitting inside as only a small bench, no table or chairs) still thought it was good value for money. The food was quiet good, breakfast adequate.
Bar and restaurant closed by 9pm, so off to the room to sit inside.
Loved the beach, snorkeling here was just great, tried out nearly every beach on the Island
and thought this was one of the best for variety of fish, ease of access etc.
On the whole would recommend and would probably stay at the Montalay again, if we go back to Ko Tao.
Also tried the spa had full oil massage, Bliss ! and very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendym21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Remained in resort for 4 days, as part of a paid trip.

Resort was above expectations and excellent value for money. Located directly the beach with a swimming pool.

Rooms are very nice with excellent airco (blankets a must on full power).

Staff is nice and helpful.

Food is good.

Wifi around resort is very good.

The resort is 10 minutes away by taxi from the main village. Taxi runs several times a day (not very often). A return trip is 100 bath per person. Pickup and return (first and last) are included in resort price. We did not mind the distance, ride is quite spectacular and steep. Would not recommend this for a novice moped driver.

Diving school attached to the resort is ok, most equipment is in good shape and instructors appear knowledgable.
The resort is very close to some of the better diving spots. Beach diving is also possible.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank UnknownAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here in december 2012. The resort has a lot of choice (in rooms). We stayed at the garden house. Very relaxed with a small balcony, airco, own fridge with cool drinks every day (at the house), nice bathroom. Spacious enough. Food was good, although not very cheap (compere to local prices). The choice in dishes was ok. Little swimmingpool nere the restaurant. Fine! The beach was the only dissapointment part. Dirty beach with a lot of garbage from the sea. The jumping rock in the sea was although nice. And the evening cocktail bar also!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THaans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The best snorkeling I've done close to a beach! It was like a vast aquarium just 1 meter from the shore! The resort was a bit boring but really comfortable, expensive food but good value for your money for the rooms (breakfast included). A great plus for the pool and the children play room!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dohgren78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews