We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing resort, service hit and miss and poor restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montalay Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had fairly high expectations from the Montalay Resort before we arrived. Unfortunately despite requesting a quiet room they stuck us in the slightly odd an uncharismatic apartment block opposite the laundry/maid congregation area so we were woken by chattering at 7 a.m. After complaining about this they moved us to one of the bungalows which was much better and far quieter (great service here).

We ate only once at the restaurant which proved to be very average and overpriced so ventured out to the restaurant and bar at the southern end of the beach. We loved the little bar there and the owner was fantastic, Poseidon restaurant was reasonable but service sporadic and bizarre to say the least. Service at the Montalay was generally sporadic with reception not really understanding the concept of phoning to make a restaurant reservation for us elsewhere.

This part of the island is so remote you need to hire a motorbike to get anywhere which we unfortunately did at Lederhosenland Bikes. If you are going to hire a bike swerve this company as they unfortunately ripped me off with 'a repair bill for damage' which was a virtually unnoticeable scratch on the front mud guard (plus same for two other people at the time of returning my bike).

I also used the dive school next door (Calypso) who were absolutely brilliant and professional and avoided the Montalay dive school. There are some great restaurant on the island, namely Eagle View near Shark Bay which was fantastic and Barracuda and The Gallery in Sairee. Overall I probably would not stay here again as slightly too remote and Koh Tao has been unfortunately the sea has been overfished (you see more sharks on ice for the tourists than in the water) and land over developed for us.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the apartments and definetly not near the laundry rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 683 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

the food is tasty but overpriced, the staff at reception are grumpy mostly but the waiting service staff are friendly. i took the night ferry from surat thani and was sea sick ( too much whiskey) so on arrival in koh tao, a short hotel pickup and was happy to jump in the sort of infinity pool. climb the rock and jump, its fun. this hotel is away from the busy areas and no atms. the rooms in the new complex are stunning especially for us backpackers

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buttersben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here on our last leg of our Thailand journey for 5 days to recover from all the crazy travelling and full moon parties. The location,Tanote bay, is quiet and a lot more 'untouched' than the more popular western side of the island. The resort is very hilly and if you have a tree top bungalow, be prepared to climb stairs till your quads are burning, the rooms however are quiet and comfortable. The complementary buffet breakfast was very satisfying with a large variety. The staff were professional and organised. There is a little shop that provides basic toiletries and treats. Overall, this is a great place to relax and catch some sun at the great pool/ beach area. If you pay this island a visit, make sure you take a day trip to Nang Yuan island and do some snorkelling.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Friendly staff. Nice interior and surroundings. New-built bungalows with clean rooms. We shared bathroom with another bungalow. Pool is available. It's located right on the beach. It's perfect for snorkelling and scubadiving. I would go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great clean rooms (looks to be very new) on a great beach - the snorkeling is amazing right by the rocks at the beach. The restaurant is not amazing though, lacks atmosphere and is over priced, rather go to the restaurant at the far right of the beach. The hotel is secluded (which is great if you don't like crowds) but I would recommend stocking up on snacks, cigs etc as the only shop in the area is closed out of season by the looks of things. You can hire masks and snorkels from the diving centres for 50Baht per day. A great part of the island.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TuaniD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is located on a very nice strech of isolated beach with snorkeling right off shore. It is at least 20 minutes drive from any town, so bring everything you need. We visited in Dec., sea was very wavy, while on the other side of the island it was very calm and flat. I would look for hotels on the other side next time. The hotel is located uphill from the beach, the bungalows are even further from the beach in the jungle, which is too bad. The hotel rooms are new and nice. I have to say that there are many bungalows right on the beach at the place next door but I haven't seen them personally.

In my opinion this hotel is not so great for young kids. We traveled with a 1.5 year old and there are too many stairs and porches that were not safe and even dangerous. We did not have this experience in other hotels in Thailand.

Room Tip: Get a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharonHELLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in one of the superior rooms. The room was very nice and new. It looks just as it does in the photos on the website. Everything was fine, except there was sand in our bed after it had been cleaned and it would have been nice to have the sheets changed once during our stay of 6 nights. The decorative pillows had an awful sour mildew smell that was all over our bed pillows, and after asking for these to be left off of our bed they kept placing them on our pillows during cleaning. Not the end of the world obviously. Having said that, we were very happy with the resort.

The Good
-The beach is great. It's a beautiful, quiet location with great snorkeling and a very relaxed vibe. If you are looking to party it might not be for you, but if you are looking for a gorgeous beach for relaxing, swimming, snorkeling and diving its perfect.
-The staff. Very friendly.
-The diving instructor John: Very nice, competent instructor that put us at ease on our first dive
-The taxi service into town: Made it convienient to get around the island
-The dog we named "sausage" who lived at the resort
-Clean, big, deep swimming pool
-Everything about the rooms (very clean new bathrooms, flat screens with all the movie channels, large balcony, fridge) except for the bed which I will explain below...

The not so good
-The food at the restaurant was hit and miss. Some things were very good, some was not so good and it wasn't cheap by local standards. There are a couple of other options on the beach though.
-The room cleaning: There was sand in our bed after it had been cleaned and it would have been nice to have the sheets changed once during our stay of 6 nights. The decorative pillows had an awful sour mildew smell that was all over our bed pillows, and after asking for these to be left off of our bed they kept placing them on our pillows during cleaning anyway. Not the end of the world. Having said that, we were very happy with everything else about the room.

Overall, we enjoyed our experience at the Montalay Beach Resort. We would return because the location is amazing, the rooms (mostly) clean and modern and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
1.8 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,532 reviews
1.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
534 reviews
2.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
966 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#23 of 50 in Koh Tao
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montalay Beach Resort

Address: 53 Moo 3, Tanote Bay, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $32 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montalay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montalay Beach Resort is a small to medium size hotel, locate in the eastern part of Koh Tao (Turtle Island) called "Ao Tanote". It is a beautiful secluded bay and is a great place for snorkeling and diving. Ideal for families with children or couples to chill and relax. All rooms, cottages and suites are close to the beach and nestled amongst the trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing